Fordmods Logo

351 Cleveland into EL Fairmont 

 

Page 1 of 3 [ 32 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: 351 Cleveland into EL Fairmont
Posted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 3:58 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 398

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: EL Fairmont

Location: SYDNEY
NSW, Australia

Hey all,

Just wondering on what would be involved in fitting a 351 cleveland into an el fairmont.

The fairmont is a 6 at the moment.

I know people have done it, what I want to know is what you have to do engine mount wise and with the exsisting wiring harness and computer.

Cause the clevo would be straight lpg.

Any help would be great

 

_________________

Fuk it, You only live once!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 4:37 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 398

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: EL Fairmont

Location: SYDNEY
NSW, Australia

Also what kind of box could I bolt up 2 it?

I know either a c4 or top loader.

But I was thinking a box with an overdrive would be better.

And a manual would be better, So really what kind of 5 speed manual box could I bolt up behind the clevo?

Will a t5 out of a injected 5l bolt up? And how would u go with clutch?

And if thats not possible, is there a 4 speed auto box I can bolt up behind the clevo? Thanls heaps

 

_________________

Fuk it, You only live once!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 4:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 409

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Fairmont

Location: Look at that RICE!!
SA, Australia

Not to be rude or obnoxious. If you have to ask, you can't do it.

 

_________________

Soo many idiots. So few bullets

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 4:55 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 22

Joined: 28th Nov 2004

Ride: XR6 Turbo

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Walkinshaw wrote:
Not to be rude or obnoxious. If you have to ask, you can't do it.


Yeah Walkinshaw is on the mark with that one....

Secondly. Why on earth would you want to do that to an EL Fairmont?! Really... You could just run a 302 Windsor in it, or stroke it if your heart so desires, but I have to say, putting a 351 Clevo in an EL is a very stupid and pointless idea.

But just in simple, don't expect it to be cheap. You'd need different engine mounts, forget about EEC-V being able to do ANYTHING with the motor, so all the wiring would have to be custom for starters...

Do more research into it. You would be better off buying a nice X-Series Falcon with a 351 already in it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 5:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

you COULD do it if you've got alot of time and money.
as for the t5, it won't bolt up to a toploader or c4/6 bell housing.
a t56 is your best bet, but they ain't cheap.
i sussed it out a few months back, and mal wood is one of the only people to do the custom setup.

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 7:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3772

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 33 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

way way better off getting a 302 windsor and strokin it to 347 if you want that kind of cubic inches and it will prob out perform a 351 clevland and there are s**t loads of mods available for it
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 9:15 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I'm sure we've talked about this many times before....try using the search button.
Basically in terms of engine and trans.... a smallblock is a smallblock is a smallblock.
Bell housing pattern is the same, engine mount pattern is the same so it just falls in there.
Oh and X-series pacemaker headers fit with mods to one pipe from memory.

As for the 302w outperforming a 351C or W, yes it's possible but will cost way more money and won't last as long. BTW T5's and engines which make lots of torque(ie 351C or W) don't mix....use a toploader, Tremec 3550,TKO or T56 or Richmond 5spd or 6spd.

Pete.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 9:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

XR9UTE wrote:
Bell housing pattern is the same, engine mount pattern is the same so it just falls in there

Are the bellhousings the same??

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 9:37 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

smoke_rubber wrote:
XR9UTE wrote:
Bell housing pattern is the same, engine mount pattern is the same so it just falls in there

Are the bellhousings the same??


Which ones?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 9:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

you said the bell housing mounts up the same, did you mean the block or the gearbox end?

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 9:59 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

smoke_rubber wrote:
you said the bell housing mounts up the same, did you mean the block or the gearbox end?


We're talking about engines here, the gearbox end is irrelevent.....All smallblocks have the same 6 bolt bellhousing pattern since mid '65.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 9:16 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 398

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: EL Fairmont

Location: SYDNEY
NSW, Australia

Thanks heaps xr9ute,
Thats the kind of info i was after, And just for everyone else, just because im asking doesnt mean I cant do it. Ive done a few engine conversions and engine rebuilds in the past, a 351 of which runs 11s in my mates xd, im a fully qualified mechanic.

Anyway with the extractors ive heard the same with only 1 pipe having to be modified, But which extractors are they? the 4-1 or try-y? And are they the pacemaker ones?

And with the wiring for the computer I know it has to go, but to my knolage if I remove it all, how do I go about getting all the gauges to work as doesnt everything run through the computer in the e series?

And getting more power out of a stroked windsor.....I doubt it, Clevo's can make massive power with massive torque for very little money, there heads flow really good standard And the engines are solid as a rock! And saying there is more aftermarket bits for the windsor? Im pretty sure u can buy just as much for the cleveland. And ive already got a 351 clevo and various other parts in my garage.

 

_________________

Fuk it, You only live once!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 11:38 am 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

The guy I talked to with the EF 351C had Genie 4into1 but he said pacemakers have the same pipe arrangement and he would rather have used them(I agree genie are s**t). I reckon Tri-Y's would fit with minimal mods too. Plus I know XR-Y type Tri-Y 351W headers fit straight into E-series falcons for 351W conversions.
The EL uses serial data from the EEC to operate the instruments so you will have to retain it unless you get different instruments. You could still run the engine with it too of course(like the one below).

[url="http://photobucket.com"]Image[/url]

Pete.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 6:09 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 398

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: EL Fairmont

Location: SYDNEY
NSW, Australia

Thanks heaps, do you know how he got it registered on fuel?

Cause I was under the impression only way 2 get a clevo registered and enginerred was on gas due to the engine being older than the car.

So, I can leave the ecu plugged in, just not connect the wires that arnt needed? Or trick them.

Also I see that car is a manual, Do you know what box is in it?

 

_________________

Fuk it, You only live once!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 7:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

the engine has to pass emissions for that era of car it's going into afaik.

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 3  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 8:17 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names