Fordmods Logo

3v MAP Sensor Fault 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: 3v MAP Sensor Fault
Posted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 11:18 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 276

Joined: 14th Apr 2009

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: Fairmont Ghia BA 5.4L V8, AU 6

Power: 205 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Hey Guys,

I got a 3V and sometimes when i gear down and stop at the lights the motor revs between 1000-1500 it eventually goes back to normal but its annoying as all hell. Also it stalls sometimes when i start it, ive been told its the MAP sensor at fault. How do i know for sure without having to pay the $130 bucks for a new one?

Cheers,

 

_________________

Chaos, Panic and Disorder. My work here is finally done.
BA Fairmont Ghia 5.4L. Mods -Full Exhaust, Chipped, Custom Intake, CAI @205.4RWKW.
Stezza - Alpine Type R Splits & 6x9's, Alpine 400w RMS 4ch, 380w RMS Pioneer Mono, 2x12" Pioneer Subs and an AVH-P5950DVD Player.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: 3v MAP Sensor Fault
Posted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 11:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 4285

Joined: 8th Dec 2004

Gallery: 25 images

Ride: EB2 Ghia,Mighty Boy,Eb1 Xr8 5spd

Location: ** In the Shed! **
VIC, Australia

Need to get a code scanner on the car & check for fault codes.

Cheers

ToranaGuy

 

_________________

I am the ToranaGuy!|74 Lh Torana Turbo|78 Hz PanelVan|86 Mighty Boy Ute|93 EB2 Ghia,GT Mockup,5spd,LPGI,Full Leather|2 x EB Xr8 5spd's|FS [VIC]: Wrecking - Eb XR8 - Parts available |Build Thread|Ebay Items - Ford Parts|

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: 3v MAP Sensor Fault
Posted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 11:32 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 276

Joined: 14th Apr 2009

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: Fairmont Ghia BA 5.4L V8, AU 6

Power: 205 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

The LPG computer says that its faulty, should i take it to ford aswell?

 

_________________

Chaos, Panic and Disorder. My work here is finally done.
BA Fairmont Ghia 5.4L. Mods -Full Exhaust, Chipped, Custom Intake, CAI @205.4RWKW.
Stezza - Alpine Type R Splits & 6x9's, Alpine 400w RMS 4ch, 380w RMS Pioneer Mono, 2x12" Pioneer Subs and an AVH-P5950DVD Player.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: 3v MAP Sensor Fault
Posted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 11:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 4285

Joined: 8th Dec 2004

Gallery: 25 images

Ride: EB2 Ghia,Mighty Boy,Eb1 Xr8 5spd

Location: ** In the Shed! **
VIC, Australia

Could it be a wiring fault?

Cheers

ToranaGuy

 

_________________

I am the ToranaGuy!|74 Lh Torana Turbo|78 Hz PanelVan|86 Mighty Boy Ute|93 EB2 Ghia,GT Mockup,5spd,LPGI,Full Leather|2 x EB Xr8 5spd's|FS [VIC]: Wrecking - Eb XR8 - Parts available |Build Thread|Ebay Items - Ford Parts|

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: 3v MAP Sensor Fault
Posted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 10:23 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 276

Joined: 14th Apr 2009

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: Fairmont Ghia BA 5.4L V8, AU 6

Power: 205 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Yeah it could be, i'll have a good look at it tonight, might grab a new sensor today as well. Hopefully the piece of crap can run for a week without breaking something else.

 

_________________

Chaos, Panic and Disorder. My work here is finally done.
BA Fairmont Ghia 5.4L. Mods -Full Exhaust, Chipped, Custom Intake, CAI @205.4RWKW.
Stezza - Alpine Type R Splits & 6x9's, Alpine 400w RMS 4ch, 380w RMS Pioneer Mono, 2x12" Pioneer Subs and an AVH-P5950DVD Player.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: 3v MAP Sensor Fault
Posted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 3:16 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Fairmont_03_5.4 wrote:
The LPG computer says that its faulty, should i take it to ford aswell?


Yes but what does the PCM say?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: 3v MAP Sensor Fault
Posted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 5:32 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 276

Joined: 14th Apr 2009

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: Fairmont Ghia BA 5.4L V8, AU 6

Power: 205 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

PCM? Have no idea, i dont have the tools to plug into the car and find out what the fault code is. No lights come up on the dash, just runs like a dog, surges and stalls all the time. Sometimes it stalls 1 second after its been started. And even if the computer throws up a fault code saying the MAP sensor is at fault it could be the vacuum lines, faulty wiring, leaking inlet manifold gasket. But ive checked all that so hopefully a new MAP will solve the issue.

In the workshop manual it says " if the T-MAP sensor is damaged or faulty, but still operating within the operating range, no fault code will be logged in memory and value substitution will not take place. Under these conditions the PCM will increase the injector timing in an attempt to compensate; causing difficult starting, rough running and poor fuel economy"

I have all those symptoms, so a replacement seems like the go. Mind you the poor fuel economy comes with owning a V8 :).

 

_________________

Chaos, Panic and Disorder. My work here is finally done.
BA Fairmont Ghia 5.4L. Mods -Full Exhaust, Chipped, Custom Intake, CAI @205.4RWKW.
Stezza - Alpine Type R Splits & 6x9's, Alpine 400w RMS 4ch, 380w RMS Pioneer Mono, 2x12" Pioneer Subs and an AVH-P5950DVD Player.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: 3v MAP Sensor Fault
Posted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 11:30 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 276

Joined: 14th Apr 2009

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: Fairmont Ghia BA 5.4L V8, AU 6

Power: 205 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Hey all,

Just incase your wondering the MAP Sensor was the problem. Changed it then and took it for a spin, got alot more balls in the top end now :). Time to book it in for another power run on the dyno.

 

_________________

Chaos, Panic and Disorder. My work here is finally done.
BA Fairmont Ghia 5.4L. Mods -Full Exhaust, Chipped, Custom Intake, CAI @205.4RWKW.
Stezza - Alpine Type R Splits & 6x9's, Alpine 400w RMS 4ch, 380w RMS Pioneer Mono, 2x12" Pioneer Subs and an AVH-P5950DVD Player.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 12:07 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names