Fordmods Logo

5.0 NC chewing through gas like a fat kid to a cupcake 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: 5.0 NC chewing through gas like a fat kid to a cupcake
Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2008 6:24 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 114

Joined: 1st Jul 2007

Ride: NC5.0 & 04 Ex!

Location: Reservoir
VIC, Australia

Brief story to bring you all up to speed so that you can help me...

I bought a NC Lane 5.0 on LPG just over a year ago. Very clean. 350k on the clock but the first and only owner (who was over 70) assured me, because he lived out in Mallacoota and always travelled to Melbourne to see his daughter, that these were highway kms. The only mods it had were some lowered springs and pedders shocks and probably a cat-back exhaust (probably done by the mechanic to suck some money out of the ol man).

Now, when I first got it, i slapped in some colder iridium spark plugs, 9.0mm ICE leads, k&n panel filter, fixed the TSP voltage and a general clean up. She made 102.8rwkw.
A year to date, I have added some 40,000 kms and I thought it might be time for a dyno again. Keep in mind, I service the Lane every 5,000kms. The new dyno sheet showed 86rwkw. I thought it might be out of tune, so we checked the timing and were only able to bring it back up to 97.2rwkw. That's it.

I know she's not a Quarter Mile Queen, but to lose that much power, even after meticulous servicing? Maybe my dyno guy is dodgy?

The thing is, now at 97.2, she's up from 15L/100kms to 20-22L/100kms, and on petrol, she's pinging like a school bell.


Can anyone offer any advice on how to resolve this issue?

 

_________________

NO TV AND NO BEER MAKE HOMER GO SOMETHING SOMETHING...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2008 8:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 66

Posts: 2548

Joined: 18th Mar 2006

Ride: EF-XR8chaser

Location: wollongong
NSW, Australia

with those ks id say gearbox slip,my box died at 275 k and guzzled the last 5k,new box fixed that,the motor--id say its time for a valve grind.im in the same boat,need to pull the heads and reco them,or my plan was to change to gt40p heads and intake,with roller rockers,change crank bearings and a few checks.

 

_________________

R.I.P HANS HARTMAN

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 2:48 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 114

Joined: 1st Jul 2007

Ride: NC5.0 & 04 Ex!

Location: Reservoir
VIC, Australia

thanks hans.

now that you mention it, in the last few months, I have noticed it goes into 'Limp Home' mode when I take off from the lights. I just get up to speed, put it in N, switch it off, then on, and she's right as rain.

she's my daily and with the holidays coming, i promised the fam i'd take them up to sydney. we'll see what happens.

 

_________________

NO TV AND NO BEER MAKE HOMER GO SOMETHING SOMETHING...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 2:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 108

Posts: 927

Joined: 27th Sep 2007

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Now youve said that, make sure your trans fluid is ok and then go to a trans repair shop and get them to pull the codes from the gearbox, make sure it is in limp home when they check it so the fault shows up.
Could be a solenoid maybe.
Whoops i didnt read the post properly.

 

_________________

165 Killer Wasps all packaged in a green kmart car, almost an explorer in a way...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 7:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 66

Posts: 2548

Joined: 18th Mar 2006

Ride: EF-XR8chaser

Location: wollongong
NSW, Australia

id be doing that,check error codes and clear them,so the next ones will be on target.most auto places and some auto electricans can do it.get it looked at before the trip.

 

_________________

R.I.P HANS HARTMAN

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 01, 2008 2:30 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 114

Joined: 1st Jul 2007

Ride: NC5.0 & 04 Ex!

Location: Reservoir
VIC, Australia

i'll get that checked out this week... thanks hans.

i was driving home this evening and i thought i'd switch it over from LPG to petrol and under load anywhere near 2000rpm and over she'd PING like crazy. i think it's time i find a new tuner.

 

_________________

NO TV AND NO BEER MAKE HOMER GO SOMETHING SOMETHING...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 01, 2008 10:19 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 391

Joined: 26th Mar 2007

Ride: eb

Location: frankston
VIC, Australia

i think its your oxy sensors cause thats wath mine did and with the auto dont put it in nutraul just switch it off in gear while your driving, for a split second, worked that out my self hahaha
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 10:34 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 326

Joined: 18th Feb 2007

Ride: ED GHIA V8

Location: ford town
NSW, Australia

green car wrote:
make sure it is in limp home when they check it so the fault shows up.
.



How do u do that?

 

_________________

Black ED Ghia
V8 with lpg
Full leather
waitng on sunroof..

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 1:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 108

Posts: 927

Joined: 27th Sep 2007

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

lethal EA wrote:
green car wrote:
make sure it is in limp home when they check it so the fault shows up.
.



How do u do that?

Make sure the computer hasnt been reset and the car is in limp home mode, or else the code wont show up when the transmission place plugs the scanner in to check the fault codes.
I did all this with my ef and it ended up being a dodgy solenoid.

 

_________________

165 Killer Wasps all packaged in a green kmart car, almost an explorer in a way...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 05, 2008 8:38 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 114

Joined: 1st Jul 2007

Ride: NC5.0 & 04 Ex!

Location: Reservoir
VIC, Australia

lethal EA wrote:
green car wrote:
make sure it is in limp home when they check it so the fault shows up.
.



How do u do that?


what he's saying is that if that problem ever does come up again, DON'T turn off the car, drive straight to a place where they can check the codes out.

for me, this would be quite difficult as it might only happen once or twice a week. the difficult part is that i work nights and that's when it usually happens.

falcon gl... thanks but how would i check if the oxy sensors I have are faulty?

 

_________________

NO TV AND NO BEER MAKE HOMER GO SOMETHING SOMETHING...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 05, 2008 10:15 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 391

Joined: 26th Mar 2007

Ride: eb

Location: frankston
VIC, Australia

ok it happens at night you say, so you must have your headlights on, so you have the same problem i had until i finally swapped my alternator to an au type.
i always wanted to let everybody on fordmods know that, i ended up swapping transmissions because when i took my s**t box in to a mechanic they said no codes showed up so i couldn't figure it out luckily i wanted the au v8 setup so i get a new power steering pump and alternator and that suddenly fixed the problem, ok so now everyone knows hahaha

the low voltage due to headlights and all the other acc's cant provide the auto with enough power therefor limpmode
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 05, 2008 10:22 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 391

Joined: 26th Mar 2007

Ride: eb

Location: frankston
VIC, Australia

as for pining don't know how to check the oxy sensors but it doesn't hurt to change them if you haven't before
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 06, 2008 12:28 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 64

Posts: 3552

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Power: 482 rwkw

Location: Penrith
NSW, Australia

Spark/ ignition timing requires retarding on petrol...

 

_________________

As in ZOOM 126 edition
331 Dart block,3.25/ 4340 steel crank, Oliver rods,TFS ported track heat heads, TFS track heat inlet Twin SC61 turbo's
Project 1UZ-EF has started.. S475 Turbo 4.0 V8 Mustang Celica.....

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 5:11 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 114

Joined: 1st Jul 2007

Ride: NC5.0 & 04 Ex!

Location: Reservoir
VIC, Australia

i went for a lil drive tonight guys...
clocked 101.3kms
now, on the factory trip moter, i averaged 37km/h and 14.3L/100km

how accurate are these ford trip computers? because i was opening it up a bit.

 

_________________

NO TV AND NO BEER MAKE HOMER GO SOMETHING SOMETHING...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re:
Posted: Sat Jan 23, 2010 2:53 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 633

Joined: 21st Nov 2008

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

falcon gl wrote:
ok it happens at night you say, so you must have your headlights on, so you have the same problem i had until i finally swapped my alternator to an au type.
i always wanted to let everybody on fordmods know that, i ended up swapping transmissions because when i took my s**t box in to a mechanic they said no codes showed up so i couldn't figure it out luckily i wanted the au v8 setup so i get a new power steering pump and alternator and that suddenly fixed the problem, ok so now everyone knows hahaha

the low voltage due to headlights and all the other acc's cant provide the auto with enough power therefor limpmode


old thread i know.

just wondering how you went about wiring up the AU V8 alternator to the E series?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 8:07 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names