Fordmods Logo

Fordmods Advertising

adjusting base idle and setting t.p.s. voltage 

 

Page 5 of 8 [ 111 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next

 
 Post subject: Re: adjusting base idle and setting t.p.s. voltage
Posted: Thu Jul 16, 2009 5:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 1683

Joined: 24th Nov 2005

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: DCII LTD V8

Location: Dunedin
New Zealand

XR9UTE wrote:
Yes.


Yes i can get rid of it? Yes it will matter?

What about the engine timing.......

 

_________________

1993 LTD V8 Oregon 5 speed "click me"

Trick Flow Heads/Cam/Intake, Crane Ignition, T5Z Trans.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: adjusting base idle and setting t.p.s. voltage
Posted: Thu Jul 16, 2009 11:35 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 3953

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: 351 Rangie, '69 390 XR7 Cougar

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I answered yes to your first question.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: adjusting base idle and setting t.p.s. voltage
Posted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 7:37 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 1683

Joined: 24th Nov 2005

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: DCII LTD V8

Location: Dunedin
New Zealand

Ok cool thanks.

 

_________________

1993 LTD V8 Oregon 5 speed "click me"

Trick Flow Heads/Cam/Intake, Crane Ignition, T5Z Trans.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: adjusting base idle and setting t.p.s. voltage
Posted: Tue Jul 28, 2009 1:16 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 45

Posts: 54

Joined: 27th May 2009

Ride: Ford TE50 Charged

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hi all just want to clarify the tps settings.
Top one at .97 or .98volts
Second one for auto what would be the best setting? Eg same as top or less?

Regards
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: adjusting base idle and setting t.p.s. voltage
Posted: Tue Jul 28, 2009 9:03 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 163

Joined: 6th May 2007

Ride: AU S2 XR8

Location: perth
WA, Australia

hey just wondering if anyone has set an AU t.p.s because the wires are different colours to the photo thats in the first page? i tried a few different combos but the best i could get was 1.2V which i'm hoping is the reason it revs when i start it and occasionally gets stupid with the idle?

grey/red stripe, grey/white stripe, brown/ white stripe

 

_________________

mmmmmmmmmmm 220 manual goodness!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: adjusting base idle and setting t.p.s. voltage
Posted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 7:26 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 163

Joined: 6th May 2007

Ride: AU S2 XR8

Location: perth
WA, Australia

for future reference on the AU's the two wires you need to read from are the grey one's.

 

_________________

mmmmmmmmmmm 220 manual goodness!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: adjusting base idle and setting t.p.s. voltage
Posted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 3:06 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 26

Posts: 193

Joined: 15th Feb 2009

Ride: DF LTD

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

this is good info that i was completely unaware of...
glad i saw this, pays to read ahead!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: adjusting base idle and setting t.p.s. voltage
Posted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 2:20 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 44

Posts: 419

Joined: 16th Jan 2005

Ride: EF Ghia 5.0

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

I'm currently having trouble diagnosing my EF which won't start. How do I set base timing on the motor if it's not running. The dizzy has been replaced, I did makr the position of the rotor, but just want to make sure it's not a gear tooth out of position. :oops:

Get cylinder no.1 to TDC and the rotor to plug no.1 (approx 11 o'clock on the dizzy cap?) would be roughly correct, right?

EDIT: Just found this article, very helpful!

http://sbftech.com/index.php/topic,7114.0.html

Thanks, Mike

 

_________________

EF Ghia 5.0 - XR8 in a tuxedo....classy, low and loud

Bordeaux Purple, Tickford kit, slammed, 18" BA XR8's, EL Ghia chrome, full leather, Pioneer audio, C&C, ABS, LSD, Crane cam, GT40P heads, high flow cats, Genie extractors, lots of woodgrain, chrome and interior lights!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: adjusting base idle and setting t.p.s. voltage
Posted: Sun Sep 06, 2009 7:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 105

Posts: 927

Joined: 27th Sep 2007

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

wrexed03 wrote:
Hi all just want to clarify the tps settings.
Top one at .97 or .98volts
Second one for auto what would be the best setting? Eg same as top or less?

Regards


I too would like to know this :)

 

_________________

165 Killer Wasps all packaged in a green kmart car, almost an explorer in a way...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: adjusting base idle and setting t.p.s. voltage
Posted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 2:53 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 81

Joined: 18th Apr 2008

Ride: ef xr8 xcop

Location: Mildura
VIC, Australia

how does all this work when you have an EF xr8 that was an auto and is now a manual but still running the auto ECU.... and to top it off its on gas as well......

It idles and runs perfect on gas and it also runs gr8 on petrol too but when I stop at the lights on petrol it fluctuates up and down like a really lumpy cam...... it never stalls and I can leave it lumping over for as long as i like.....it kinda sounds good lumping over but I dont think it would be doing much good for the car....

 

_________________

EF XR8 option 20 police interceptor :)

REPCO cars are our life too..........

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: adjusting base idle and setting t.p.s. voltage
Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 10:16 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 3953

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: 351 Rangie, '69 390 XR7 Cougar

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

That's easy..... you only need the EEC tps if it's now manual.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: adjusting base idle and setting t.p.s. voltage
Posted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 3:19 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 157

Joined: 16th Oct 2009

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 98 EL xr8

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

what will happen if i adjust my idle but not the TPS ????

 

_________________

NO longer own a car... but my work ute is a falcon..

current rides
Harley Fatboy 05
Custom shadow 07
Sportster 02

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: adjusting base idle and setting t.p.s. voltage
Posted: Fri Jan 01, 2010 9:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 1079

Joined: 19th May 2005

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: ELXR8 SERIES 2

Location: naracoorte
SA, Australia

^^^^ umm, waits for brain to work, verry hung over at moment.

ecu will be reading part throttle.
this is why you need the tps voltage below 1v so the ecu nows its at iddle.
prety sure thats how it goes mate

 

_________________

EL XR8 SERIES 2, 5SPD, HOT CHILLI RED, 200 ODD RWKW OF V8 FUN AND GAMES

EF XR6, 5SPD, HERITAGE GREEN, AU XR6 VCT ENGINE

VL COMMODORE, 5SPD, WHITE

BA XT, AUTO, OFFSHORE BLUE

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: adjusting base idle and setting t.p.s. voltage
Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 11:27 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 355

Joined: 22nd Nov 2007

Ride: 302 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Bexley, Sydney
NSW, Australia

I did mine several months ago and I accidently set it to 0.998v instead of 0.98v. Decided to have another crack at it today and when I checked it, it read 1.12v. With all the elbow grease I could put into it the lowest I could get it was 1.07v but by the time I tightened it it has settled on 1.09v.

The car seems to run fine. There is maybe a real tiny 50rpm fluctuation on idle and a little tiny miss if i tap the accel for a split second while idling - basically could the TPS be causing these issues and if not what are the side effects of leaving it as is? Is it running rich and costing me fuel e.t.c.?

 

_________________

Formerly AU Fairmont Ghia V8 & EBII Fairmont I6.

Now......
Sept 2008 LV Focus XR5 Turbo
- w/ Recaro Leather

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: adjusting base idle and setting t.p.s. voltage
Posted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 11:30 am 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 3953

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: 351 Rangie, '69 390 XR7 Cougar

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Have you elongated the holes in the TPS?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 5 of 8  [ 111 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Apr 23, 2014 8:23 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names