Fordmods Logo

adjusting base idle and setting t.p.s. voltage 

 

Page 6 of 8 [ 111 posts ] Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next

 
 Post subject: Re: adjusting base idle and setting t.p.s. voltage
Posted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 11:47 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 355

Joined: 22nd Nov 2007

Ride: 302 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Bexley, Sydney
NSW, Australia

No. What exactly does elongate mean? Enlarge the holes so I can turn it anti-clockwise further?

How would I do this and what tools would I use?

 

_________________

Formerly AU Fairmont Ghia V8 & EBII Fairmont I6.

Now......
Sept 2008 LV Focus XR5 Turbo
- w/ Recaro Leather

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: adjusting base idle and setting t.p.s. voltage
Posted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 11:53 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 355

Joined: 22nd Nov 2007

Ride: 302 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Bexley, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Double Post.

 

_________________

Formerly AU Fairmont Ghia V8 & EBII Fairmont I6.

Now......
Sept 2008 LV Focus XR5 Turbo
- w/ Recaro Leather

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: adjusting base idle and setting t.p.s. voltage
Posted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 9:20 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 26

Posts: 1687

Joined: 24th Nov 2005

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: DCII LTD V8

Location: Dunedin
New Zealand

sd1800 wrote:
No. What exactly does elongate mean? Enlarge the holes so I can turn it anti-clockwise further?

How would I do this and what tools would I use?


Dremel them out mate, on the underside of the sensors you will see mold marks, i just dremelled mine out to match the marks, worked a treat. Make sure you use some big washers on the new screws too as the sensor mountings will break VERY very easily (my rookie mistake). I will take a photo for you.

This doesn't show it extremely well, i only needed one sensor obviously as i'm manual, this is the auto sensor i also filed out, it's a bit rough, the one i used is much tidier as obviously this one wasn't needed, but you get the idea!

 

 

Attachments:
DSC01680.JPG
DSC01680.JPG [ 149.07 KiB | Viewed 80 times ]
DSC01679.JPG
DSC01679.JPG [ 257.76 KiB | Viewed 91 times ]

 

_________________

1993 LTD V8 Oregon 5 speed "click me"

Trick Flow Heads/Cam/Intake, Crane Ignition, T5Z Trans.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: adjusting base idle and setting t.p.s. voltage
Posted: Tue Feb 23, 2010 10:53 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 49

Posts: 4019

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: 351 Rangie, '69 390 XR7 Cougar

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I wouldn't take that much meat out...I just use a drill bit the size of the bolt and elongate the holes slightly. You shouldn't need to lengthen the holes that much.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: adjusting base idle and setting t.p.s. voltage
Posted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 3:15 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 355

Joined: 22nd Nov 2007

Ride: 302 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Bexley, Sydney
NSW, Australia

OK thanks for your help. I'll give it a go when i have a spare hour or two.

 

_________________

Formerly AU Fairmont Ghia V8 & EBII Fairmont I6.

Now......
Sept 2008 LV Focus XR5 Turbo
- w/ Recaro Leather

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: adjusting base idle and setting t.p.s. voltage
Posted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 5:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 740

Joined: 29th May 2007

Ride: EF XR8 347

Power: 232 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I gots a question re: Base Idle and ISC problems.

On my 347 I reset the base idle as per the procedure flogged around here. Idles fine at about 950 where I want it to sit with the ISC disconnected. Plug the ISC back in and it will have trouble holding it's idle when the TB snaps shut (IE, foot off pedal from high revs). So I figure the ISC might be buggered. I took it off an noticed that I can physically shift the plunger with my finger up and down inside the housing. Is this normal? It seems to me that the plunger shouldn't be able to move in the housing just by shoving my finger in and giving it a tap. Any large vacuum from the engine through the TB could move the plunger and screw with the idle control.

What do you all think?

 

_________________

347 XR8 Build Thread

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: adjusting base idle and setting t.p.s. voltage
Posted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 7:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2121

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Gallery: 15 images

Ride: 1999 XHII XR8, 2002 AU Fairmont

Power: 236 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Engine idle when coming off the throttle is controlled by the "dash-pot" in the ECU.

 

_________________

STREETBUILT RACING
1999 XHII Falcon XR8 Ute 5.0L, TKO600 5spd, KB 2.1L Blower, 6.5psi, 12.2@113mph!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: adjusting base idle and setting t.p.s. voltage
Posted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 10:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 2678

Joined: 21st Oct 2007

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane + G220

Power: 143 rwkw

Location: Lake Macquarie
NSW, Australia

Just thought I would add a little tip that frees your hands up, so to speak! Instead of pins, I used safety pins, that way you can place your multimeter probes through the loops and leave your hands free to adjust the tps and adjust the screws.
Image
The wagon has been a real b**ch lately, stalling everytime you stop at traffic lights, over speed humps, reversing out of carparks etc, etc. So today I cleaned the MAF, AIT and increased the idle, then went about adjusting the TPS.
It wasn't out much, was fluctuating between .96 and .97. I found the same as someone else earlier commented on, when you tighten the screws the voltage dropped about .02. Easy fix, I just set it between .99 and 1.0 and once I tightened the screws, it sat smack bang on 0.98.
Tomorrow I plan to tackle the base idle. It still has a bit of hunting going on after the car is started and it is left to idle for a couple of minutes, but I'll get to the bottom of it.

 

_________________

Image
E-Series Fairlane/LTD? forums/post746329.html#746329
Mick's Garage forums/viewtopic.php?t=65504

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: adjusting base idle and setting t.p.s. voltage
Posted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 3:01 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 1

Joined: 12th Nov 2010

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

NCIILANE wrote:
Just thought I would add a little tip that frees your hands up, so to speak! Instead of pins, I used safety pins, that way you can place your multimeter probes through the loops and leave your hands free to adjust the tps and adjust the screws.



Jaycar sell alligator clips that fit on the end of your multi metre probes.
Cat number is WT-5220 and cost $3.95

Best investment ever !

Nathan
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: adjusting base idle and setting t.p.s. voltage
Posted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 7:20 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 45

Posts: 145

Joined: 6th Nov 2009

Ride: AU2 XR8

Location: waroona
WA, Australia

I just insert the meter's probes into the wires connector pin at the back of the connector. The probes are quite thin though allowing me to do it. saves having to break wire insulation.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: adjusting base idle and setting t.p.s. voltage
Posted: Sun Oct 02, 2011 5:50 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 88

Joined: 8th Sep 2011

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: NL Fairlane

Location: North Shore, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Guys, the info back on page 1 has proved successful and helped me fix a stutter/hesitation off idle/acceleration problem that any mechanic I've taken my Lane to could NOT work out!

So, off to Jaycar to purchase a multimeter for $9.95... Then, I inserted the pins as described and got a reading of 0.60
I'm like wow! So I backed off the screws and turned the tps clockwise as far as it would go... That managed to get a reading of 0.80... crazy!!! tightened them up and went for a drive and blimey!!
It was so much better but with just a slight flat spot/stutter...

Got back, lifted the bonnet and drilled both sides of the tps slightly and managed to go from 0.80 to 0.90... it's not quite 0.98/99 but it's 150% better, smoother to accelerate and no flat spot/stutter at all...

Absolutely craziness!!! :lol: I'm so happy... For a TPS adjustment so small which before was causing the engine to backfire and hesitate, is no longer... just gotta replace the useless round black thing (i have no idea what its called) which runs off the air intake hose..

Getting the voltage to only 0.90 is not so bad either.. maybe the actual sensor does need replacing but until then.......................... :D
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: adjusting base idle and setting t.p.s. voltage
Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 9:30 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 42

Posts: 158

Joined: 30th Jan 2012

Ride: DL LTD

Location: Kallangur
QLD, Australia

Guys exactly how does the stepper motor work?....i have just put on a 65mm TB. and the idle sits at 1000rpm. When i disconect and follow the procedure to set base idle its fine until I plug the stepper motor back in and the revs go straight back to 1000rpm....im thinking its either not suited to the tb or its just rooted.

 

_________________

Lets just pretend I give a s**t and leave it at that.....

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: adjusting base idle and setting t.p.s. voltage
Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 9:50 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 49

Posts: 4019

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: 351 Rangie, '69 390 XR7 Cougar

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

It's not a stepper motor, it's a solenoid that the EEC PWM's (Pulse Width Modulates). In doing so it varies the position of the valve attached to it.
Was it idling high before you changed the T-body?
What's your TPS volts at idle?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: adjusting base idle and setting t.p.s. voltage
Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 9:57 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 42

Posts: 158

Joined: 30th Jan 2012

Ride: DL LTD

Location: Kallangur
QLD, Australia

the idle was sitting at a smooth 750. admittedly I havent set the tps yet but i didnt think that had a bearing on the idle speed?

 

_________________

Lets just pretend I give a s**t and leave it at that.....

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: adjusting base idle and setting t.p.s. voltage
Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 9:59 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 49

Posts: 4019

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: 351 Rangie, '69 390 XR7 Cougar

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Yep, TPS is critical for the correct idle.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 6 of 8  [ 111 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum
cron

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 22, 2014 8:52 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names