Fordmods Logo

AU Fairlane head upgrade 

Page 1 of 3 [ 38 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post subject: AU Fairlane head upgrade
Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 5:48 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

WA, Australia

Hey all forum noob here !

Im investigating an upgrade to my AU Fairlane at present. The mods im looking at undertaking are a port and polish of the original gt40p heads, matched to the standard explorer intake, a 2030 crane cam and 44308-1 valvespring kit and 1.6:1 Yella Terra Rollers. At the same time I will be fitting up a set of pacemakers.

Does anyone know if I will have to do any further head modifications to fit this ie to fit the springs?
Also does anyone know if can push the ratio of the rollers a little higher to improve the performance eg a 1.7 or perhaps 1.72 ? or are the 1.6's a good match for the cam profile?
And, is there an intake manifold I could purchase that would suit this set up, improve performance output, and not cane the final budget too much?

EDIT : oh yer and sorry it will be getting a re-map/tune as well. Anyone know if this set up will be good for around 250rwkw's or do i need to do more?

Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 6:15 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

WA, Australia

anyone bump

Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 7:02 pm 
Tyre Shredder

New Zealand

sounds pretty good mate , from what other guys have said on here the crane springs are not to flash , go comp or crow doubles and have heads machined while youve got them off ....my set up is similar comp cam 1.7 rockers gt40ps ported and plained it made 176rwkw without the edit ... i think you might be pushin it to get past 200.....explorer manifold is good give the bottom mainly a good port especially ports 1&5 as they are considerably longer and tighter bends than the others....approx $1000 for edelbrock etc your call....oh watch out when porting the gt40ps thers a h thermactor hump in the ex port it has a waterjacket inside it so dont grind it right out just smooth it :D

Posted: Mon Apr 02, 2007 12:03 am