Fordmods Logo

Clevo into TE Cortina.... anyone done it? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Clevo into TE Cortina.... anyone done it?
Posted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 8:11 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 7

Joined: 3rd Feb 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Coon & Goat

Location: Wanganui
New Zealand

Howdy all, im embarking on a mission... 351C into aussie mk4 cortina. Already fitted the 9" and made the tubs as wide as the rear unibody rails will allow me. 275/60/15's fit just tight :lol:

What im wanting to know or talk about is the headers... anyone done this b4 or know of a web site that i can look at pics on.

Basically im thinking ill turn the headers upward and then 'ramshorn' them down on the outside of the chassis rails....

Any help is greatly appreciated.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 8:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 1953

Joined: 1st Feb 2006

Gallery: 25 images

Ride: BA on gas. EL on gas. XF on gas.

Location: Greenacres/Adelaide
SA, Australia

Windsor is a better fit as it is not as wide. There might still be kits available for them too.

 

_________________

Member Number 8804
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 8:46 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 7

Joined: 3rd Feb 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Coon & Goat

Location: Wanganui
New Zealand

Yeah i know..... but i have a 420Hp clev and ive always been a cleveland boy :D
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 9:00 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I think you're on the right track there pierced1...outside the rails is the shot. Ive seen 302w,351w and 351c. I think the taller deck engines are actually easier to make headers for because the height of the ports is such that you have some room to curl them around before dropping them down the hole. My mates' 5.0 Cortina has disgusting headers because the ports are too close to the rails. Bonnet clearance is the problem with the bigger engines though.

Pete.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 9:07 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 7

Joined: 3rd Feb 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Coon & Goat

Location: Wanganui
New Zealand

yeah it does look like it'll work... the only part that will be super tight is the #4 pipe as the steering rod is about 2" away from the head... so it will have to be a super tight curve and turn on that one.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: cortina
Posted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 10:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2410

Joined: 4th Sep 2006

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

It's super tight for pipes in a cortina and especially where the steering colume comes through the engine bay and where the chassis rail is, when i was building my cortina i was going to do the that over the top of the engine kind of setup and then maybe go through the tower but a windsor would definatly be easier to fit up, but ive canned the TE project and moved on

Some teaser pic's for ya;

http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n153 ... G_0220.jpg
http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n153 ... G_0221.jpg
http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n153 ... G_0222.jpg
http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n153 ... G_0225.jpg
http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n153 ... G_0228.jpg
http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n153 ... G_0227.jpg
http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n153 ... G_0230.jpg
http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n153 ... G_0229.jpg
http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n153 ... re2002.jpg

Had big plans for this car to be the quickest 6 turbo cortina which was low 9z back then :D [/quote]

 

_________________

Wanted Either Capri/Cortina/XY/XW/XR/XT with tough V8 stroker engine, auto, 9inch, upgraded brakes etc[/SIZE][/size][/color]

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 10:37 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 7

Joined: 3rd Feb 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Coon & Goat

Location: Wanganui
New Zealand

awesome!!

What size are the rear tyres? It sucks how limited on width you can go due to the chassis rails. i managed to get 15x10" under there... but ive got fk all clearance!!! :?

 

 

Attachments:
MVC-788F.JPG
MVC-788F.JPG [ 74.63 KiB | Viewed 108 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: te
Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 8:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2410

Joined: 4th Sep 2006

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

I didnt have a big tyre under when i owned it but from what i was told it would fit a 9.5 wide tyre. The tyre in the pic is a 235/60/15 im prety sure and still had abit more width in it but alot more for height.

 

_________________

Wanted Either Capri/Cortina/XY/XW/XR/XT with tough V8 stroker engine, auto, 9inch, upgraded brakes etc[/SIZE][/size][/color]

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 22, 2007 12:08 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

why bother!! thats the sort of thing people were doing 10+ years ago.....such a boring ugly car...save yourself a whole lot of money and time and just drop it into an XD...

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 12:07 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 7

Joined: 3rd Feb 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Coon & Goat

Location: Wanganui
New Zealand

Nah not a boring car.... plus ive already had an XD and XF with clevelands. But this one will be more toy than daily driver! :P :P :P
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 11:38 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names