Fordmods Logo

diff rebuild help and subframe questions?? 

Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

Post subject: diff rebuild help and subframe questions??
Posted: Wed May 22, 2013 11:02 am 
Fordmods Newbie

Ride: '95 fairmont

QLD, Australia

Hi Guys,
My wife drives a Ba Fairmont that now has a winging diff. after going to a shop the bloke said the pinion bearing is stuffed. $995 drive in drive out or $895 if i bring in the diff. seems like a good price however i cant afford it at the moment. so i've decided to give it a crack myself but this is the first ford we have ever owned so i have a few questions if any one can lend a bit of advice.
#1 i'm told the sub-frame has to be dropped. how is this done and can it be done without a hoist?
#2 how difficult are diffs to rebuild? mine has an open center and i have sourced a bearing kit for $200 from bursons.
#3 can anybody think of any major problems that could occur doing this myself.

I've been playing around with cars for around 10 years and am confident in not stuffing it up but ive never done a diff before. Any help would be gratefully appreciated!

Post subject: Re: diff rebuild help and subframe questions??
Posted: Wed May 22, 2013 12:41 pm 
Parts Gopher

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Ford Falcon BF mkII ES

VIC, Australia

It's a pain in the a*** to drop the subframe and move it from underneath the car. That being said, it can be done, haha. Done it myself.
You have to get the a*** end up really high on jack stands, then after you disconnect the tailshaft, abs sensors and handbrake cables, you unbolt the front of the trailing/blade arms. You get a trolley jack to support the middle of the frame (I used a metal frame I had lying around on top of the jack for a better support), then unbolt the shocks from the car and the frame, then start unbolting the frame from the car. 18mm deep socket is useful.
After it's dropped, completely remove the trailing/blade arms (they get in the way), then crab walk it out sideways.