Fordmods Logo

EF XR8 not starting 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 23 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
 Post subject: Re: EF XR8 not starting
Posted: Sat Mar 26, 2011 4:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 66

Posts: 2548

Joined: 18th Mar 2006

Ride: EF-XR8chaser

Location: wollongong
NSW, Australia

did you fix it?

 

_________________

R.I.P HANS HARTMAN

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF XR8 not starting
Posted: Sat Mar 26, 2011 5:10 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 298

Joined: 23rd Nov 2007

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: 03 BA

Location: st marys
NSW, Australia

yeh ford did, i just was all out ideas an this new ones got me stumped, was faulty BEM they wanted to charge me $900 for new one lmao, so after couple nice words from me, they put secondhand on in an all up $395. so yeh sweet as now .
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF XR8 not starting
Posted: Sat Mar 26, 2011 5:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 66

Posts: 2548

Joined: 18th Mar 2006

Ride: EF-XR8chaser

Location: wollongong
NSW, Australia

badkiwi wrote:
yeh ford did, i just was all out ideas an this new ones got me stumped, was faulty BEM they wanted to charge me $900 for new one lmao, so after couple nice words from me, they put secondhand on in an all up $395. so yeh sweet as now .

modern technogy is a money pit,the 60-80s points,carbys where cheap and simple to do repairs.

 

_________________

R.I.P HANS HARTMAN

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF XR8 not starting
Posted: Sat Mar 26, 2011 6:23 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 298

Joined: 23rd Nov 2007

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: 03 BA

Location: st marys
NSW, Australia

true mate ,so true an easy, XE six out an new one in an runnin 2hrs lol.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF XR8 not starting
Posted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 6:17 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 28

Joined: 27th Mar 2011

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Does it have Smartlock? My Fairlane did this 50% of the time I tried to start it.

I used to whack the dash under left knee (as WILDEB said too). Worked sometimes.

Then I started flicking the lights on and off whilst turning the key. That seemed to work more often.

In the end I went to an auto-elec to get air-con re-gassed and asked them to bypass it.

Re-gas and bypass = $205.00

Started everytime since.

Yay.

Last edited by BennyLenny on Sat Apr 02, 2011 1:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF XR8 not starting
Posted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 7:53 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 28

Joined: 28th Nov 2004

Ride: AU XR8 Series 3

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

To all those saying smash the starter with a hammer.. Be careful in doing this, as its pretty easy to destroy the field magnets inside the body.. espicially in the tiny later model bosch units.. If you're going to hit it, do it on the rear cap, as thats where the brushes are and/or maybe a few light taps on the solenoid.

Smart lock immobiliser is simple to bypass when the module plays up. Had to do it many many times on taxis back when I was on the tools.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF XR8 not starting
Posted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 11:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 66

Posts: 2548

Joined: 18th Mar 2006

Ride: EF-XR8chaser

Location: wollongong
NSW, Australia

BennyLenny wrote:
Does it have Smartlock? My Fairlane did this 50% of the time I tried to start it.

I used to whack the dash under left knee (as WILDEB said too). Work sometimes.

Then I started flicking the lights on and off whilst turning the key. That seemed to work more often.

In the end I went to an auto-elec to get air-con re-gassed and asked them to bypass it.

Re-gas and bypass = $205.00

Started everytime since.

Yay.

yes comes with smart lock

 

_________________

R.I.P HANS HARTMAN

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF XR8 not starting
Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 2:12 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 28

Joined: 27th Mar 2011

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

So I discovered when I by-passed the smartlock; my cruise control (which worked about 25% of the time) is now fully functional.

Ford electronic gremlins or what? :twisted:

I no complain.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 7:26 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names