Fordmods Logo

How can you check au v8 base timing 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 21 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: How can you check au v8 base timing
Posted: Sun Mar 06, 2011 5:32 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 56

Posts: 108

Joined: 4th Mar 2011

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: au1 V8 1 tonne poverty pac ute

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I recently installed a new v8 motor in my au1, fitted the synchronizer and set the base timing at an educated guess, the motor runs well but is there a way to check the base timing or is it best to use a synchronizer tool

 

_________________

Don't force it, use a Bigger hammer

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How can you check au v8 base timing
Posted: Sun Mar 06, 2011 6:49 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

The Crank encoder determines the ignition timing and it's fixed(not adjustable).
The CID sensor you refer to determines start of fuel injection for the sequential firing of the injectors not the ignition which, being wasted spark, doesn't care which cylinder is firing.
It's best to use a sync tool for setup.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How can you check au v8 base timing
Posted: Sun Mar 06, 2011 6:59 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 56

Posts: 108

Joined: 4th Mar 2011

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: au1 V8 1 tonne poverty pac ute

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Thanks again, any idea where I might get a sync tool from as I have contacted ford and was told they are obsolete.
XR9UTE wrote:
The Crank encoder determines the ignition timing and it's fixed(not adjustable).
The CID sensor you refer to determines start of fuel injection for the sequential firing of the injectors not the ignition which, being wasted spark, doesn't care which cylinder is firing.
It's best to use a sync tool for setup.

 

_________________

Don't force it, use a Bigger hammer

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How can you check au v8 base timing
Posted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 5:59 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 150

Joined: 6th Nov 2009

Ride: AU2 XR8

Location: waroona
WA, Australia

Can I ask a question on this.

Ford installed a new Powerbond HB, but the car has stared to vibrate a bit, and running s**t. I got Ford to check timing and it was out a bit according to the timing light. How would they adjust it?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How can you check au v8 base timing
Posted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 7:27 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

TKFD wrote:
Can I ask a question on this.

Ford installed a new Powerbond HB, but the car has stared to vibrate a bit, and running s**t. I got Ford to check timing and it was out a bit according to the timing light. How would they adjust it?


They wouldn't.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How can you check au v8 base timing
Posted: Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:12 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 56

Posts: 108

Joined: 4th Mar 2011

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: au1 V8 1 tonne poverty pac ute

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Hey fellas, found a camshaft sensor synch tool on ebay in the states, about $40 plus post
XR9UTE wrote:
TKFD wrote:
Can I ask a question on this.

Ford installed a new Powerbond HB, but the car has stared to vibrate a bit, and running s**t. I got Ford to check timing and it was out a bit according to the timing light. How would they adjust it?


They wouldn't.

 

_________________

Don't force it, use a Bigger hammer

Last edited by gotta luv a v8 on Thu Mar 10, 2011 1:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How can you check au v8 base timing
Posted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:04 am 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Got a photie of this tool?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How can you check au v8 base timing
Posted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 1:23 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 56

Posts: 108

Joined: 4th Mar 2011

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: au1 V8 1 tonne poverty pac ute

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

XR9UTE wrote:
Got a photie of this tool?



If you go to the American ebay site and search for" Ford Cam Sensor Sync Tool OTC6470 " in ebay motors you should be able to view it , I can't copy the pic off ebay and it will prob take a week or so before I receive it.

 

_________________

Don't force it, use a Bigger hammer

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How can you check au v8 base timing
Posted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 5:16 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 150

Joined: 6th Nov 2009

Ride: AU2 XR8

Location: waroona
WA, Australia

gotta luv a v8 wrote:
Hey fellas, found a camshaft sensor synch tool on ebay in the states, about $40 plus post
XR9UTE wrote:
TKFD wrote:
Can I ask a question on this.

Ford installed a new Powerbond HB, but the car has stared to vibrate a bit, and running s**t. I got Ford to check timing and it was out a bit according to the timing light. How would they adjust it?


They wouldn't.


so your saying that it can't be done. Is it done by the ECU?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How can you check au v8 base timing
Posted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 5:34 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

TKFD wrote:
Can I ask a question on this.

Ford installed a new Powerbond HB, but the car has stared to vibrate a bit, and running s**t. I got Ford to check timing and it was out a bit according to the timing light. How would they adjust it?


They wouldn't.[/quote][/quote]

so your saying that it can't be done. Is it done by the ECU?[/quote]

there's a few ways to do it.
1. Press the encoder wheel off the balancer and press it back on where it was supposd to be...not easy.
2. Make an adjustable CKP sensor mount.
3. Reprogram the EEC.
I don't think any Ford dealer would do any of the above.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How can you check au v8 base timing
Posted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 9:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 661

Joined: 14th Jan 2007

Ride: T1 TE50 P01

Location: Perth NoR
WA, Australia

Unless Ford installed the balancer incorrectly, ie didn't line up the keyway when they installed it... I have seen this done before, resulting in a stuffed balancer and crank snout!

 

_________________

TE50 T1 P01
200kw 5.0L, T5, Koni shocks, King S/Lows, Whiteline swaybars, DBA 4000 rotors, Acron CAI, 80mm Accufab TB, Difillipo headers & cats, twin 2.5" & Aerochambers, 3.91 LSD.

To Come:
Long rod 306, TFS 11R 205cc heads, SHP camshaft, 1.72 R/R, ported TFS Box R, 400hp NX SHO kit...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How can you check au v8 base timing
Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 1:37 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 150

Joined: 6th Nov 2009

Ride: AU2 XR8

Location: waroona
WA, Australia

BOTTLEDUP wrote:
Unless Ford installed the balancer incorrectly, ie didn't line up the keyway when they installed it... I have seen this done before, resulting in a stuffed balancer and crank snout!


Yea, this is what I am thinking - conversant with timing a bit out and the vibration.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How can you check au v8 base timing
Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 1:39 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 150

Joined: 6th Nov 2009

Ride: AU2 XR8

Location: waroona
WA, Australia

XR9UTE wrote:
TKFD wrote:
Can I ask a question on this.

Ford installed a new Powerbond HB, but the car has stared to vibrate a bit, and running s**t. I got Ford to check timing and it was out a bit according to the timing light. How would they adjust it?


They wouldn't.
[/quote]

so your saying that it can't be done. Is it done by the ECU?[/quote]

there's a few ways to do it.
1. Press the encoder wheel off the balancer and press it back on where it was supposd to be...not easy.
2. Make an adjustable CKP sensor mount.
3. Reprogram the EEC.
I don't think any Ford dealer would do any of the above.[/quote]


so why would the timing light give the indication that the timing was out (as quoted by the ford tech). Is it just the ECU adjusting timing at Idle, and would advance as rpm's increase (sorry for ignorance)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How can you check au v8 base timing
Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 2:15 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Most likely because the recond balancer has not had the encoder wheel pressed on in the correct location. Yes the timing is certainly controlled by the EEC and varies enourmously. Even at idle it is constantly varying so it's probably even a guess on Fords' part that the timing is out.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: How can you check au v8 base timing
Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2011 2:21 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 150

Joined: 6th Nov 2009

Ride: AU2 XR8

Location: waroona
WA, Australia

thanks XR9UTE,

Its not a recon HB, but a new Powerbond that ford installed. Would have the ford tech had re-press this encoder wheel in the new HB, or was it as a complete assy from Powerbond (I never saw it as it was delivered directly to ford dealership)
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 2:10 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names