Fordmods Logo

J3 chip for NF 5ltr? 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 26 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: J3 chip for NF 5ltr?
Posted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 11:32 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 89

Joined: 30th Sep 2010

Ride: 5.0L NF Fairlane Ghia

Location: G/square
VIC, Australia

Hey guys just heard alot about these 'J3' chips, wondering if its possible to get one of these to tune my 5ltr for a big cam and injectors? any help would be great, cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: J3 chip for NF 5ltr?
Posted: Fri Oct 15, 2010 12:10 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 73

Joined: 21st Aug 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: BA turbo, XH V8, EF V8

Location: Sunshine Coast
QLD, Australia

Hey mate just jump on ebay. All you need to do is tell them your setup and they'll do up a chip for you. Pretty cheap to about $250.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: J3 chip for NF 5ltr?
Posted: Fri Oct 15, 2010 9:19 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 942

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Ride: AU1 XR8

I ordered my stuff from moates and it came under $200aud.

Buying now would be great as the usd is up the s**t atm.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: J3 chip for NF 5ltr?
Posted: Fri Oct 15, 2010 10:02 am 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

the moates stuff is awsome!!!! :wink:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: J3 chip for NF 5ltr?
Posted: Fri Oct 15, 2010 10:34 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 1044

Joined: 4th Aug 2010

Ride: NA Fairlane, DC LTD

Location: Alice Springs
NT, Australia

xr6pod wrote:
Hey mate just jump on ebay. All you need to do is tell them your setup and they'll do up a chip for you. Pretty cheap to about $250.


hey don't mean to hijack the thread,

just wondering about these, I was looking on eBay and an curious about the "pre tuned" chips.
I thought they had to be tuned in the car to get best results, obviously not, do they just put a "general" tune that would suit the mods you tell them and then the computer "re learns" the better tune to refine it?

Would there be any risk of buying the pre tuned chip and it dosnt work?

 

_________________

[color=#004080]Cheers, Jacob.

NA Fairlane Build thread:
the-garage-f53/my-fairlane-build-lowlane-t94891.html.
Also in the garage....
AU LTD, DC LTD, and Lowlane.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: J3 chip for NF 5ltr?
Posted: Fri Oct 15, 2010 12:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 942

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Ride: AU1 XR8

Yeah its like a generic flash tune for ba's

Id always go custom tune anyway..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: J3 chip for NF 5ltr?
Posted: Fri Oct 15, 2010 5:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 1044

Joined: 4th Aug 2010

Ride: NA Fairlane, DC LTD

Location: Alice Springs
NT, Australia

Yeah, custom is always the best as it makes it more specific.

Was just wondering about the pretuned side. Thanks for that.

 

_________________

[color=#004080]Cheers, Jacob.

NA Fairlane Build thread:
the-garage-f53/my-fairlane-build-lowlane-t94891.html.
Also in the garage....
AU LTD, DC LTD, and Lowlane.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: J3 chip for NF 5ltr?
Posted: Fri Oct 15, 2010 6:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6432

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Generic tunes will never get the most out of your particular setup. You'll get something but you'll never know how close or how far your tune is from making the most out of your engine.

 

_________________

5.6L of carbon footprint.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: J3 chip for NF 5ltr?
Posted: Fri Oct 15, 2010 9:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1140

Joined: 27th Feb 2005

Ride: Supercharged EF Fairmont

Location: T.I. Performance HQ
VIC, Australia

If you're after a locally made option, check out my site at www.tiperformance.com.au . Drop me a PM if you have any questions!

Surprised noone mentioned us as the moates gear would be useless for a Falcon without Jaysen and my definitions!

Cheers,
Jason

Last edited by galapogos01 on Sat Oct 16, 2010 10:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: J3 chip for NF 5ltr?
Posted: Fri Oct 15, 2010 10:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 1044

Joined: 4th Aug 2010

Ride: NA Fairlane, DC LTD

Location: Alice Springs
NT, Australia

galapogos01 wrote:
If you're after a locally made option, check out my site at tiperformance . Drop me a PM if you have any questions!

Surprised noone mentioned us as the moates gear would be useless for a Falcon without Jaysen and my definitions!

Cheers,
Jason



I have had a squizz the website before actually, didn't realize you were on here too (although not surprised seeing as your main car is a E series :p)

What dose it usually average to if someone brings in a car looking for a chip and tune? (if I can ask that here)

Im thinking of getting one after I get a cam, but will do a BBM conversion to add with the intake pod and extractors/exhaust.

 

_________________

[color=#004080]Cheers, Jacob.

NA Fairlane Build thread:
the-garage-f53/my-fairlane-build-lowlane-t94891.html.
Also in the garage....
AU LTD, DC LTD, and Lowlane.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: J3 chip for NF 5ltr?
Posted: Fri Oct 15, 2010 11:43 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 89

Joined: 30th Sep 2010

Ride: 5.0L NF Fairlane Ghia

Location: G/square
VIC, Australia

galapogos01 wrote:
If you're after a locally made option, check out my site at tiperformance . Drop me a PM if you have any questions!

Surprised noone mentioned us as the moates gear would be useless for a Falcon without Jaysen and my definitions!

Cheers,
Jason



thanks mate ill have a squiz
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: J3 chip for NF 5ltr?
Posted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 10:08 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1140

Joined: 27th Feb 2005

Ride: Supercharged EF Fairmont

Location: T.I. Performance HQ
VIC, Australia

I don't have dyno facilities myself, however I can offer pre-programmed chips which I customize to your specs and or dyno sheets, or DIY kits to allow you to tune the stock ECU yourself. Prices are on the Buy page.

If you want a dyno tune there is a list of Dealers on the site who can offer this but you'll have to ring them for pricing.

Cheers,
Jason
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: J3 chip for NF 5ltr?
Posted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 5:00 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 89

Joined: 30th Sep 2010

Ride: 5.0L NF Fairlane Ghia

Location: G/square
VIC, Australia

how would i even begin to do my own tune? is there like a defult tune that i can just tweak or??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: J3 chip for NF 5ltr?
Posted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 5:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 942

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Ride: AU1 XR8

Yup it should have the stock maps/tables.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: J3 chip for NF 5ltr?
Posted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 6:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1140

Joined: 27th Feb 2005

Ride: Supercharged EF Fairmont

Location: T.I. Performance HQ
VIC, Australia

Have a read of the guides on our website under Technical Info / Documents. If they make sense and you want to have a crack, then DIY is for you. If its all too complicated then leave it to us or one of the Dealers :) The choice is yours!

Jason
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:36 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names