Fordmods Logo

Making my own Exhaust... Tips? 

Page 1 of 4 [ 47 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Post subject: Making my own Exhaust... Tips?
Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 1:29 pm 
Stock as a Rock

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: BF XR8 Ute

SA, Australia

Hey everyone,

I plan to make my own exhaust, I want to do a quad system and i am a bit unsure on what will make it sound the best... I will be going from the cat back to any tips on what steel etc to use would be handy. My old man is a boiler make by trade and my mate is also, so between them the welding / bending shouldn't be an issue.

My guess is a 2.5" system would be the go?

Also, what are peoples thoughts of what tips i should put on, I am thinking twins either side...

Cheers

Alan

Post subject: Re: Making my own Exhaust... Tips?
Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 2:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Ride: BF XR6,

NSW, Australia

i like the look of single dump pipe exhaust tips

BF XR6
xr8 snorkel,typhoon lower snorkel,territory intake pipe,20% underdrive kit,pacemaker extractors,high flow cat,xforce exhaust,t56 conversion hd turbo clutch/ flywheel,m86 3.45 lsd,custom tune187.1rwkw as an auto

Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 2:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EL XR6

NSW, Australia

3" would free it up a bit

El XR6 Turbo
Dark Agents,Sunroof, bilstein shocks, 6000k HIDS, 329 mm slotted rotors, twin pot calipers , Climate Control, GarrettT04 turbo,log manifold, crow turbo cam, microtech lt10c, 42lb injectors , 044, surge tank , T56 , rebuilt bottom end , alloy plenum .

Aiming for 300 rwkw

Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 2:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways

NSW, Australia

buy the mandrel bends, and if youve got the money make it out of stainless

BF XR6
xr8 snorkel,typhoon lower snorkel,territory intake pipe,20% underdrive kit,pacemaker extractors,high flow cat,xforce exhaust,t56 conversion hd turbo clutch/ flywheel,m86 3.45 lsd,custom tune187.1rwkw as an auto

Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 3:38 pm 
Stock as a Rock

SA, Australia