Fordmods Logo

missing sensor? 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 24 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: missing sensor?
Posted: Wed May 30, 2012 6:59 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 58

Joined: 14th Jul 2011

Ride: Ef fairmont 96

Location: mandurah
WA, Australia

hey im unsure if im missing a sensor or not i have an ef fairmont ghia v8 i think theres ment to be a coolant sensor of some sort here? heres a few pics. any help will be great

Image

Image
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: missing sensor?
Posted: Wed May 30, 2012 7:05 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 58

Joined: 14th Jul 2011

Ride: Ef fairmont 96

Location: mandurah
WA, Australia

ive read somewere that the ef's have 2 coolant temp sensors 1 for the gauge and the other for the ecu. but im not sure better to ask someone who might know. thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: missing sensor?
Posted: Thu May 31, 2012 9:46 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 284

Joined: 3rd Mar 2012

Ride: NL Fairlane Ghia V8

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

Pretty sure mines the same. Think its supposed to be like that, nothings missing.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: missing sensor?
Posted: Thu May 31, 2012 7:21 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 58

Joined: 14th Jul 2011

Ride: Ef fairmont 96

Location: mandurah
WA, Australia

seems strange my car has a miss after 3000 rpm ive repaced the o2 sensors, coil, dizzy cap/rotor,TFI module, leads and plugs and the harmonic balancer. i thought if i was missing the temp sensor that tells the car its warm i thought maybe it would cause the miss. doesnt seem to be giving any error codes either
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: missing sensor?
Posted: Thu May 31, 2012 8:42 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 58

Joined: 14th Jul 2011

Ride: Ef fairmont 96

Location: mandurah
WA, Australia

i just adjsuted mt tps module to 0.98v and it seems the missing has dissapeared for now. before the module was reading 1.15v so hopefully my problem is fixed
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: missing sensor?
Posted: Fri Jun 01, 2012 4:18 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

EF-up uses serial data from the EEC to the cluster for engine temp hence, it only needs the one ECT sensor for both EEC and gauge. The other sensor located in the heater pipe is for climate controlled vehicles.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: missing sensor?
Posted: Sat Jun 02, 2012 12:01 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 58

Joined: 14th Jul 2011

Ride: Ef fairmont 96

Location: mandurah
WA, Australia

ah right there is a sensor on the heater pipe with 2 wires. but were would the other 1 be hidden?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: missing sensor?
Posted: Mon Jun 04, 2012 12:26 am 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Hi Damian,
Has your Fairmont got climate control or manual A/C?
My mates DF LTD has a sensor where your pic shows you haven't which is used for the climate control but earlier EB-D cars used a sensor for each device so, one for the EEC,one for the gauge and one for the Climate control.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: missing sensor?
Posted: Mon Jun 04, 2012 2:45 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 58

Joined: 14th Jul 2011

Ride: Ef fairmont 96

Location: mandurah
WA, Australia

hey thanks for the reply i have climate control yes. my car still has a miss at around 3200 rpm right thru to about 4500 rpm i havent swapped fuel pumps over or fuel filters. ill do the fuel filter next week somtime
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: missing sensor?
Posted: Mon Jun 04, 2012 4:47 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 58

Joined: 14th Jul 2011

Ride: Ef fairmont 96

Location: mandurah
WA, Australia

oh another thing my thermos have a problem if i put the aircon on the thermos come on high and then after a while go back to low. this is with the fan speed on 6 or over. and the thermos dont come back on even if the temp gauge gets up to 3/4. normally it sits around 1/4 on the gauge
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: missing sensor?
Posted: Mon Jun 04, 2012 1:37 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I think yours should have a sensor in that spot then Damian. Maybe some other EF/NF/DF-up owners with climate control could chime in here and let us know what they have?
As for your missing probelms I think you should start by doing a self test.
I'm not going to go through how to do this but I think the tech doco section lists how to do it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: missing sensor?
Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 1:25 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 58

Joined: 14th Jul 2011

Ride: Ef fairmont 96

Location: mandurah
WA, Australia

hey ive ran the Key on engine off test wich came back with no codes but if i do it with the engine running it comes back with the code 538 operator did not goose. im unsure on when to open the throttle :/
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: missing sensor?
Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 1:32 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 58

Joined: 14th Jul 2011

Ride: Ef fairmont 96

Location: mandurah
WA, Australia

just read the doco wich told me when to goose so i will give that a go tomorrow ill let you know what codes it gives me :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: missing sensor?
Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 10:33 am 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Ok as it turns out they do not have an extra sensor. My mates' DF had been fitted with an EB engine in the past and the original gauge sender was still there that's all. So, it's one ECT sensor only for EF-up.
If your self test did not come up with anything when you did it it's not likely to come up with anything.
Your problem could still be ECT or ACT because they could be slightly out but not out of range. Could also be a faulty MAF which, once again could be out enough to cause problems but not enough to set a code. Also if you have a K&N filter it could have been over oiled and coated the hotwire with oil.
Check your HEGO ground is intact...the orange wired eyelet should be under the last intake bolt near cyl 8.
Could also be a mechanical problem of course.
EF's do have a complaint about A/C fan strategy. It would be wise to take a signal from your A/C fan switch to force the thermofans on full blast whenever the A/C is on.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: missing sensor?
Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 11:45 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 58

Joined: 14th Jul 2011

Ride: Ef fairmont 96

Location: mandurah
WA, Australia

i gave the act sensor a clean a few days ago wich didnt do anything the coolant sensor i havent touched so its possible but the temp gauge works alrite. when the cars cold it doesnt miss at all but when its warm it misses and the miss sounds exactly the same every time. possibly i have a bad injector?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 7:30 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names