Fordmods Logo

NC v8 running really rich 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: NC v8 running really rich
Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 4:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 546

Joined: 5th Jun 2010

Ride: BA XT, NCII V8

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Hey guys

Have a NC V8

Changed all looms over to NF for a EF dash. including TCM/ECU engine bay loom floor loom dash loom behind dash loom etc.

Every since doing it the car seems to run really rich and wont idle correctly. i have put in new O2 sensors cleaned out TB and ISC. checked for vac leaks. all plugs are going to something have even put the air bag system in just to be sure.

when i got the ECU the guy had cut the loom so i had to solder it all back on would this be a issue. its all shrink wraped then taped up so did not think it would be.

car is fine after about 2k rpm but anything lower it shudders has no power and blows blue smoke.

spent months trying to work it out just cant get it
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NC v8 running really rich
Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 4:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2091

Joined: 3rd Apr 2008

Ride: EF Fairmont, XG Ute

So running on petrol now? Tried another MAF? Or even try disconnecting it and seeing what happens.

I assume you have done the first things first and cleaned the maf and checked the timing?

If you have rejoined those wires correctly it will cause no problems.

Got the IAT wires all correct?

Airbags should have no effect, I'd be leaving it disconnected. Its not setup for an NC body shape, better safe than sorry.

Seems like you have had a lot of problems with this car, go through and check all the basics?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NC v8 running really rich
Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 4:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 546

Joined: 5th Jun 2010

Ride: BA XT, NCII V8

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

yeah i never bothered putting it back on gas.

intake air temp is on the injector loom so unless you moved it somewere else on your loom it should be ok. ( if you did please tell me were )

If i unplug the maf it runs for 2secs then stalls.

have done the timing.

i had none of these issue's with the old dash/loom/ecu etc.

so it has to be a loom or ecu fault.

will be getting another ecu during the week to see if it does anything. and worst case ill get a whole nother loom with no cuts in it waste of $100 but i just want it drivable already
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NC v8 running really rich
Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 9:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2091

Joined: 3rd Apr 2008

Ride: EF Fairmont, XG Ute

IAT was in the intake pipe. Needs to be in front of lower manifold for yours. Plug was different, should be easy to tell.

The car the loom and ecu came from was running perfectly, shouldn't be the problem.

You got all the EGR gear connected? Would have been all different on an NC. Can cause big problems I think.

All I got. Good luck, sounds like a PITA!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NC v8 running really rich
Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 10:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 546

Joined: 5th Jun 2010

Ride: BA XT, NCII V8

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

egr was the same plugs all went on and i never took the vac gear off it so that should be ok.

i checked the egr anyway reved the tits of it and it opened when it should of.

i can see there is a spare plug on the right hand side of the car. so that might be were u added the IAT. will make up a cable to plug it into the original IAT in the lower manifold and see how we go.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NC v8 running really rich
Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 10:16 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Done a self test?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NC v8 running really rich
Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 10:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 546

Joined: 5th Jun 2010

Ride: BA XT, NCII V8

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

what you mean by self test
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NC v8 running really rich
Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 10:25 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

An EEC self test.
Could tell you quite a few things before you go plugging in another EEC and possibly killing it due to dodgy wiring from the previously harness butcherer.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NC v8 running really rich
Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2012 11:00 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 546

Joined: 5th Jun 2010

Ride: BA XT, NCII V8

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

ran a cable from the IAT on the lower manifold to the spare plug that should be the IAT from the loom change.

gave more power, but still no difference in ruff idle and blue smoke, and huge fuel trail up my street were i drove off.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NC v8 running really rich
Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2012 1:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2091

Joined: 3rd Apr 2008

Ride: EF Fairmont, XG Ute

Cleaned the MAF? Clean it and check the hot wires. Pull it off the housing to do so. Really sounds like it.

IAT wires should be easy to see. Would have been wrapped up differently, unwrap it and look for solder. I didn't do the wiring on it so its hard to remember. Sounds like you have found it if it made more power though.

Maybe check over all the wiring again too. Something isn't right somewhere.

I'll see what pics I can find.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NC v8 running really rich
Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2012 2:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 546

Joined: 5th Jun 2010

Ride: BA XT, NCII V8

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

ill give the maf a clean, cant see why it would fail as it ran fine before the ecu and loom change
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NC v8 running really rich
Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2012 2:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 546

Joined: 5th Jun 2010

Ride: BA XT, NCII V8

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

gave it a clean. no difference but i noticed that when i even partially cover the intake snorkel it stalls, its not even trying to suck air
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NC v8 running really rich
Posted: Sun Nov 25, 2012 3:59 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 39

Joined: 10th Jun 2011

if you were to unplug the maf while it is running, is supose to run for 2 seconds and stall? when i unpligged mine it still ran but just rough..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NC v8 running really rich
Posted: Mon Nov 26, 2012 4:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 546

Joined: 5th Jun 2010

Ride: BA XT, NCII V8

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

yeah it does runs for a sec or two then dies. when the weather cools down im going to sit in the passanger seat with a mutlitmeater and read all the pin outs on the ecu to make sure its getting all the signals and go from there
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: NC v8 running really rich
Posted: Mon Nov 26, 2012 10:41 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Done a self test yet?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 7:01 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names