Fordmods Logo

New MAF installed and now it won't start?? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: New MAF installed and now it won't start??
Posted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 6:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 436

Joined: 20th Jun 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Gli

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Gday guys, just put a new MAF on my LTD (80mm) and i got it started and it was idling pretty well but once ya give it a rev she just stalls and now it won't start just turns over. Seems as though it is getting too much fuel? I just wanted the car to run well enough to drive it to the tuner to get a capa eliminator chip and have it tuned. Any ideas what is causin this? Won't run with standard ECU? wire in new plug for MAF wrong?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 8:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 661

Joined: 2nd Dec 2004

Ride: AU XR8

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

What sort of MAF is it?

i.e. a factory/OEM MAF, or an aftermarket "calibrated" MAF?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 8:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 436

Joined: 20th Jun 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Gli

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

its an 80mm Cobra MAF, got no idea what it's off
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 8:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 2688

Joined: 21st Oct 2007

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane + G220

Power: 143 rwkw

Location: Lake Macquarie
NSW, Australia

Mate, have you tried ruling out the new MAF by putting the old MAF back on? Simple rule of elimination. If the car runs with the old MAF then there is something wrong with the new one. Sounds simple but I'm often surprised how much people chase there tails on problems without ruling out the last thing you changed. Sorry don't know if the wiring is different.

 

_________________

Image
E-Series Fairlane/LTD? forums/post746329.html#746329
Mick's Garage forums/viewtopic.php?t=65504

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 8:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 436

Joined: 20th Jun 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Gli

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

the old MAF was causing it to run lean, so even if it did work there is no point cause its buggered anyways.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 11:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 661

Joined: 2nd Dec 2004

Ride: AU XR8

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

Your computer will need to be tuned to work with that MAF.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 11:22 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 18

Posts: 101

Joined: 17th Apr 2007

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Pretty simple really and its been covered a million times.

Your ecu is not "mapped" to this Mafs "signals".

Just reinstall your old one to get to the tuner and then fit the 80mm and have him do the full remap tune :D

Let us know how the eliminator tune goes etc as I'm also thinking of going this way.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 10:19 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 593

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Yes Ozrunner is right, your computer thinks the MAf is as small as the factory one you have in it, so the computer adjusts itself for that amount of air(what is it 55mm?) to come through but its actully letting through 80mm but the computer doesnt know that it still thinks its got that 55mm hole there.

Years ago i didnt know about all this MAf stuff i was a carby man and was still learning about the newer engines and i tryed putting a 80mm MAF on my EB and a pod aswell just to see if it would make a difference, didnt think to much of what i was doing at the time and i just kept hammering the car going home thinking i gotta give it time to tune itself to the maf but when i got home there was a massive puddle of oil under my car, lol, not to mention the damage i propley did to the engine, then few months later i put a 150 shot of NOS through it and still didnt blow, that was a tough engine, lol

 

_________________

4 cylinders are like chinese food, few minutes after you have them you just want more!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 11:37 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 64

Posts: 3552

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Power: 482 rwkw

Location: Penrith
NSW, Australia

What sort of MAF is it ?? Companies like Pro_m callibrate the actual MAF so the EEC doesn't need changing...BUT you have to have correct injectors..
The best way is through ECU if you can...
But in the old days this wasn't available...

 

_________________

As in ZOOM 126 edition
331 Dart block,3.25/ 4340 steel crank, Oliver rods,TFS ported track heat heads, TFS track heat inlet Twin SC61 turbo's
Project 1UZ-EF has started.. S475 Turbo 4.0 V8 Mustang Celica.....

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 6:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 436

Joined: 20th Jun 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Gli

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Yer I'm a bit new to the whole EFI V8 thing to i grew up around carbys so yer. I think i will just drive it to the tuner on the old MAF then swap it over there. Cheers for the help guys much appreciated.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:26 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names