Fordmods Logo

Oil pressure 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 23 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Oil pressure
Posted: Sun Dec 24, 2006 12:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 8590

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: AU Fairlane 5.0, KE Laser, 01 Kw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Any of you guys had trouble with low oil pressure at idle on the 5.0?
Mine is getting down into the red, especially with the AC on or on a warm day.
It's not ticking or making any noise at all.... I'm running Magnatec which i think is 15/40 (Can't remember).
I'll throw my oil pressure tester on it during the week and get a more accurate reading.
It's done 237 k's and if the tester does show it to have low oil pressure i'll throw some 20/50 in it and see how that goes.
Was just curious if anyone else has had this problem, and if it turned out to just be the sender or guage.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1142

Joined: 17th Sep 2005

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

I'd be testing it today :shock: :shock: :shock: fcuk that,it's your heart...

vik...sounds like the sender though

 

_________________

[b]BANNED[\b]

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:36 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 54

Joined: 1st Dec 2005

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Had the same problem in an EL Ghia. I had the mechanic hook up a mechanical gauge to check the oil pressure. I then replaced the sender unit just to be sure. Trying using the 20/50W.

It could be that when using a lighter weight oil that when the engine temp warms up on a hot day it starts to break down the oil and oil pressure drops causing the gauge to light up.

But check the sender unit, its most likely the cause.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6913

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BF XR6, BF XT Wagon

Power: 197 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Never had a problem on my EL Fairmont Ghia V8 or my EL XR8, both sit steady over half.
I use Penrite HPR15 Its 15w60 but on the Penrite site it says made for cars that require 15w40.

 

_________________

EL XR8
Timmeh banned himself from being a moderator.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 24, 2006 4:26 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 72

Joined: 9th Sep 2006

Ride: 2010 g6e turbo

Location: Craigmore
SA, Australia

i've got just over 240,000 on the clock no pressure issues it's always around the half mark

 

_________________

2010 G6E TURBO

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 24, 2006 7:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

sorry to go a little to the side.

but at idle, whats the minimum oil pressure youd want?

eg the EF's have 0-7 on their guage, im assuming that Bar?

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 24, 2006 9:24 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 280

Joined: 22nd Jan 2006

Ride: XB

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

I get about 20psi at 800rpm idle in my clevo with magnatec.... up to 70psi with revs. Is this too low for a clevo?

 

_________________

76XBGS, 383c, custom crow cam, 4V p&p heads, Isky SS Valve+springs, extractors, 2.5"twins, MSD Ignition, Edelbrock intake, Forged bottom end, Barry Grant 750DP, thermo, discs, toploader, Holley fuel pump, SUPERCHARGED!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 24, 2006 9:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 64

Posts: 3552

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Power: 482 rwkw

Location: Penrith
NSW, Australia

Mac Winter 76XB351GS wrote:
I get about 20psi at 800rpm idle in my clevo with magnatec.... up to 70psi with revs. Is this too low for a clevo?

What it should be...

 

_________________

As in ZOOM 126 edition
331 Dart block,3.25/ 4340 steel crank, Oliver rods,TFS ported track heat heads, TFS track heat inlet Twin SC61 turbo's
Project 1UZ-EF has started.. S475 Turbo 4.0 V8 Mustang Celica.....

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 24, 2006 10:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 8590

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: AU Fairlane 5.0, KE Laser, 01 Kw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Yeah i was just more curious about the senders failing.
I've got an oil pressure tester so i'll try it this week.
It's not that bad Vik, when she starts to tick, then i'll worry lol.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 24, 2006 11:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 2351

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: Blown XR8

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

The only problems i've had with the sender is if the mechanic just brushes it, or it corrodes up a bit more, it just registers no pressure, which is a bit of a scare.
My oil pressure drops when the car gets fairly hot, it can move up to one of the bars on the gauge. But generally only half or less of one bar.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 25, 2006 8:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 66

Posts: 2548

Joined: 18th Mar 2006

Ride: EF-XR8chaser

Location: wollongong
NSW, Australia

Walker wrote:
Yeah i was just more curious about the senders failing.
I've got an oil pressure tester so i'll try it this week.
It's not that bad Vik, when she starts to tick, then i'll worry lol.
something is different with that oil,any car over 130,000ks,the oil pump surges,had a few mates use it in 6s,lose the gauge tor 1-2 secs,then primes up to max,.for 4secs,.then drops to 0,changed oil. ok.normal again

 

_________________

R.I.P HANS HARTMAN

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 25, 2006 9:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 420

Joined: 30th May 2006

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: XR6

Location: Gosford
NSW, Australia

had low pressure chucked in 20-50w fixed it up was worse on hot days,although it was a 4.0l not a 5.0l,howd you go with the 20/50?that will be the telling factor?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 25, 2006 9:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 3763

Joined: 25th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EFII 5.8 NOS TerroristGhia

Power: 274 rwkw

Location: Sydney Australia
NSW, Australia

I had a sender issue about 12 months ago, replaced it and it has been all good since. Senders aint cheap, was 80 from memory. Need a big a** deep socket to get it off, 24mm from memory
Brett

 

_________________

The Terrorist ED Retired due to RUST.
The TerrosistGhia, EF Ghia 351 EFI 5 Speed.
Millennium Falcon, Sleeper EL DOHC 6 Speed Manual EFI LPG
Member#1131
I didn't Vote for Multiculturalism, DID YOU!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 25, 2006 10:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 8590

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: AU Fairlane 5.0, KE Laser, 01 Kw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I thought i'd get all different responses, eg; oil change fixed it, sender fixed it.

I've got all the sender sockets in the tool box so no probs there, hopefully tomorrow i'll chuck the pressure tester on it, hard to tell atm too as the weather is freezing here.

Thanks for the replies guys, i knew exactly what i was going to do from the start, but was interesting to hear the cause of your problem.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 9:57 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 388

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Location: Melb
VIC, Australia

walker, how did you go ?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 7:23 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names