Fordmods Logo

possible to put a v8 in an ea fairmont?? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: possible to put a v8 in an ea fairmont??
Posted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 1:15 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 51

Joined: 23rd Feb 2009

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: ea fairmont ghia

Location: ballarat
VIC, Australia

found a v8 from an el fairlane for sale but i got an ea. i wanna put an 8 into it.
what difficulties would i have? in terms off engine mounts, space, exhaust, intake, and running it with a t5 manual. which is behind my eb2 4ltr at the moment
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: possible to put a v8 in an ea fairmont??
Posted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 1:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 4307

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: EF Falcon XT-T

Location: Mornington Peninsula
VIC, Australia

plenty of threads on this already, its basically the same logic as doing a V8 conversion on an EB/ED.

you need to install a V8 kframe, you'll need the wiring from a V8 car, along with ECU etc.
your T5 won't bolt straight up, with modifications it can work but they're not cheap. (swapping input shaft) and trying to find a V8 bellhousing.

 

_________________

FALCN6 - EF GLi Turbo, 20" Rims, Air Bag Suspension, Straight LPG, 225rwkw
DTHWGN - EA GL Wagon, LTD Interior, Satin Black, 5.0, Turbo
RACER - EF Futura , 5.0, 5 Speed
PROJECT - 83 Thunderbird, Lowered, 18" Billet Wheels
DAILY - BA Fairmont Ghia 5.4 3V

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: possible to put a v8 in an ea fairmont??
Posted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 10:30 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 51

Joined: 23rd Feb 2009

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: ea fairmont ghia

Location: ballarat
VIC, Australia

Okay cool I'll have a look for the threads.
However, snyper eb... Has a v8 out of a nl fairlane for sale. I'd like it but would that k frame fit into my ea?
And I don't use a factory computer to run my 6 so I'm guessing I won't need an ecu from the v8 and maybe not the wiring..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: possible to put a v8 in an ea fairmont??
Posted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 10:49 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 341

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Ride: EB XR8

Location: brisbane south
QLD, Australia

They never fitted V8's to ea's so you'll have to get it engineered and modplated. Unless you have some sentimental value ditch the EA by an ED, better suspension better car in general and you'll pickup a V8 auto fairmont for 2g needing a clean up no worries

 

_________________

New project 5.4l 331ci S380R, 8.2 4.125 Man o war, Billet LAE crank, Jon Kaase Heads, Pauter Rods, JE pistons

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: possible to put a v8 in an ea fairmont??
Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:25 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 4307

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: EF Falcon XT-T

Location: Mornington Peninsula
VIC, Australia

agreed with xr8boy, unless theres something really special about the EA, i wouldn't bother.

 

_________________

FALCN6 - EF GLi Turbo, 20" Rims, Air Bag Suspension, Straight LPG, 225rwkw
DTHWGN - EA GL Wagon, LTD Interior, Satin Black, 5.0, Turbo
RACER - EF Futura , 5.0, 5 Speed
PROJECT - 83 Thunderbird, Lowered, 18" Billet Wheels
DAILY - BA Fairmont Ghia 5.4 3V

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: possible to put a v8 in an ea fairmont??
Posted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 12:47 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 51

Joined: 23rd Feb 2009

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: ea fairmont ghia

Location: ballarat
VIC, Australia

Yes I understand that it's way easier to do so to eb and ed's but I spent way to much money on this car. And I don't know if I could sell it. And what is different with the v8 k frame?
I have a wreckers telling me I shouldn't particularly need to. Mounting positions are supposed to be the same.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: possible to put a v8 in an ea fairmont??
Posted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 12:52 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

redhatkid wrote:
Yes I understand that it's way easier to do so to eb and ed's but I spent way to much money on this car. And I don't know if I could sell it. And what is different with the v8 k frame?
I have a wreckers telling me I shouldn't particularly need to. Mounting positions are supposed to be the same.


I assume there will be some sump clearance issues with the I6 K-frame.

It's not only easier to do up an EB/ED...but it will be much cheaper compared to getting the EA engineered with a V8 and all the accessories that go with it.

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: possible to put a v8 in an ea fairmont??
Posted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 2:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 863

Joined: 26th Nov 2007

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: XH Ute / AU3 V8 Wagon

Location: Bris-Vegas
QLD, Australia

Yeah, what he said.

Theres an EL V8 'mont sedan for sale near work, with a nice set of 18's, tidy looking car, for $2990 with rwc and 6 months rego. Not work getting your hands dirty, or going thru the engineering head fvck for that kind of price..... 8-)

 

_________________

Yes, I own a Ute. No, I won't help you move!

EL Wagon Build Thread http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/sooty72-s-ef-futura-wagon-long-term-project-t90025.html
XH Ute Thread http://www.fordmods.com/post1138970.html#p1138970

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: possible to put a v8 in an ea fairmont??
Posted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 3:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 4307

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: EF Falcon XT-T

Location: Mornington Peninsula
VIC, Australia

just don't engineer it..

 

_________________

FALCN6 - EF GLi Turbo, 20" Rims, Air Bag Suspension, Straight LPG, 225rwkw
DTHWGN - EA GL Wagon, LTD Interior, Satin Black, 5.0, Turbo
RACER - EF Futura , 5.0, 5 Speed
PROJECT - 83 Thunderbird, Lowered, 18" Billet Wheels
DAILY - BA Fairmont Ghia 5.4 3V

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: possible to put a v8 in an ea fairmont??
Posted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 3:38 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 51

Joined: 23rd Feb 2009

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: ea fairmont ghia

Location: ballarat
VIC, Australia

mmm okay well will someone please tell me if the k frame from a nc fairlane do the trick. that's what im looking at getting the v8 from.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: possible to put a v8 in an ea fairmont??
Posted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 10:11 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 341

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Ride: EB XR8

Location: brisbane south
QLD, Australia

EF EL i6 and V8 use the same K frame, however the suspension arms and all associated parts differ between the 2

EA ED i6 and V8 are totally different

My advice is to use a k frame out of an EF EL, much better engine mounts, suspension geometry (especially the EL) etc etc

The only thing different between an i6 and V8 EF EL is the plate that bolts between the block and the top of the engine mount

You'll pay 200 ish for an EF EL K frame complete with all front suspension componentry with the V8 plates,

 

_________________

New project 5.4l 331ci S380R, 8.2 4.125 Man o war, Billet LAE crank, Jon Kaase Heads, Pauter Rods, JE pistons

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 7:11 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names