Fordmods Logo

pro comp heads 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: pro comp heads
Posted: Thu Sep 28, 2006 2:41 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 84

Joined: 17th Jul 2006

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

who has used procomp heads
they are a copie of edelbrock victor jr's and seem to flow well and only cost $1650 a set complete
are there any issues with these heads?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 28, 2006 3:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 661

Joined: 2nd Dec 2004

Ride: AU XR8

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

I have heard they need a reasonable amount of machine work before you can bolt them on. i.e. they dont work real well with std manifold locations and so on. All that machine work costs $$$, so at the end of the day, they are not as cheap as the seem...

I've never seen a set in real life, but there is a massive thread on these heads in the Windsor forums on corral.net, http://www.corral.net/forums/showthread ... ht=procomp

If you are on tight budget, I think a set of iron ProTopline/RHS heads would be the way to go.

Last edited by xr8ute on Thu Sep 28, 2006 3:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 28, 2006 3:45 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 84

Joined: 17th Jul 2006

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

MY BROTHER JUST TOOK DELIVERY OF A SET
I'LL TAKE SOME PICS
HE SAYS THEY ARE MACHINED VERY WELL AND ALMOST LOOK LIKE POLISHED PORTS
COST HIM UNDER $1600 COMPLETE WHERE AS NEW GT40P'S ARE $1250
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 01, 2006 12:28 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 9453

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Fordrunner 5.0 Turbo

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

xr8ute wrote:
I have heard they need a reasonable amount of machine work before you can bolt them on. i.e. they dont work real well with std manifold locations and so on. All that machine work costs $$$, so at the end of the day, they are not as cheap as the seem...

I've never seen a set in real life, but there is a massive thread on these heads in the Windsor forums on corral.net, http://www.corral.net/forums/showthread ... ht=procomp

If you are on tight budget, I think a set of iron ProTopline/RHS heads would be the way to go.


Whilst on the subject of pro topline heads rather then pro comp's. I've read a few articles written by people that reckon the pro topline head is the best bang for buck windsor head, period.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 01, 2006 1:49 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 8590

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: AU Fairlane 5.0, KE Laser, 01 Kw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Your brother spends money on heads, yet skimps on a roller cam?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 01, 2006 8:52 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 490

Joined: 10th Feb 2006

Ride: NF Fairlane

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

i've just bought a set of top line heads and will have here in few days so will post some pics up when i get em

top line heads benefit GREATLY from a little bowl work, an extra 35-40hp can be found here alone
These heads flow in vicinity of 420-430 straight out the box and easily flow over 500 with some work

 

_________________

If you don't do it whilst your livin, you aint got no bloody chance when your dead!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 01, 2006 9:45 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 311

Joined: 10th May 2005

Ride: ebxr8

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

heres my set if the pic worked

 

 

Attachments:
heads 010.jpg
heads 010.jpg [ 713.89 KiB | Viewed 48 times ]

 

_________________

347, crane cam, Pro topline 180 heads, Edelbrock victor efi intake, 80mm C&L maf, 75mm tb, 30lb injectors and 1/4 horse

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 01, 2006 9:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1037

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: V8 T5 Fairmont & BA XR6T

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

nice heads mate, have you got a pic of the chambers and looking down the intake ports?

 

_________________

Dima, Mitch & Jay's RPD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:23 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 311

Joined: 10th May 2005

Ride: ebxr8

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

sure do mate

 

 

Attachments:
heads 003.jpg
heads 003.jpg [ 425.67 KiB | Viewed 36 times ]
heads.jpg
heads.jpg [ 649.49 KiB | Viewed 34 times ]

 

_________________

347, crane cam, Pro topline 180 heads, Edelbrock victor efi intake, 80mm C&L maf, 75mm tb, 30lb injectors and 1/4 horse

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 03, 2006 9:33 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 84

Joined: 17th Jul 2006

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

yeah alloy head and a hyd non roller cam!! i don't get it either
but i had a look at the heads and they have polished ports there are no machine marks anywhere to be seen they acutally look very good and the flow sheet he got with them states they flow 500hp on the inlet side at .700 lift but his cam only has .498
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 03, 2006 4:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4946

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Trik'd up EFII XR6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

wow there some really nice look heads mate how good do new ones look...looks smick :P

 

_________________

For Sale: 25 Farad Rockford Fosgate Competition Series Carbon Cap, more to come - pm me if interested

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 03, 2006 5:41 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 311

Joined: 10th May 2005

Ride: ebxr8

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

yer there the pro topline. not pro comp

 

_________________

347, crane cam, Pro topline 180 heads, Edelbrock victor efi intake, 80mm C&L maf, 75mm tb, 30lb injectors and 1/4 horse

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 9:37 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 84

Joined: 17th Jul 2006

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

how much did the pro toplines iron heads cost and where do u get them
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 5:52 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 311

Joined: 10th May 2005

Ride: ebxr8

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

1100 a bare set.
http://www.performancewholesale.com.au/

Greg

 

_________________

347, crane cam, Pro topline 180 heads, Edelbrock victor efi intake, 80mm C&L maf, 75mm tb, 30lb injectors and 1/4 horse

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 1:17 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 66

Posts: 2548

Joined: 18th Mar 2006

Ride: EF-XR8chaser

Location: wollongong
NSW, Australia

greg302 wrote:
sure do mate
i am curious about your ccs in head chamber,can you check one? and post size,thanks

 

_________________

R.I.P HANS HARTMAN

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 9:36 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names