Fordmods Logo

radiator temp and other stuff 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: radiator temp and other stuff
Posted: Tue Oct 30, 2007 11:41 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 50

Posts: 3227

Joined: 12th Feb 2007

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 113 rwkw

Location: your mums
NSW, Australia

Before i asked this question i had a search and didn’t find what i was looking for.

What i want to know is few things.

What temp should the water be in my radiator at normal op temp, reason i ask is my temp gauge don’t work the way it should only goes to the first notch after the blue bit on the bottom.

I am thinking of adding a 2nd temp meter to the car and would like to set the twin ef thermos up at the right temp, also would i need to run a 2nd temp sender unit for this new temp meter i will be using.

I would like to also install a vac meter and what would be the best place to tap into for this.

Has anyone made up a A pillar pods for a EB to house extra meters and is there any photos of any that’s been done, and how legal is it to have them on the A pillar.

Also i would like to add a Oil temp gauge were would the best place to tap into for that.

 

_________________

BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 30, 2007 11:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 5889

Joined: 2nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: '14 Grand Cherokee

Location: Port Lincoln
SA, Australia

mine only ever goes to the 1st or second notch after the blue box, as does the ED.

 

_________________

11/93 ED OPT20 GLi | Full Boat Spec

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 30, 2007 11:57 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

10 bucks says its not the gauge playing up.
When was the thermostat last replaced?
Rad temp will fluctuate obviously, which end of the rad do you want the temperature of LOL

Drill and tap into thermostat housing for new temp sensor for gauge.
For oil temp, T-piece at pressure sender, or filter sandwhich plate
For vacuum, pick a vac line, cut, add T-piece.

Dunno about NSW, but A pillar gauges here are teh illegalz, restrict vision and s**t.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 31, 2007 12:24 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 50

Posts: 3227

Joined: 12th Feb 2007

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 113 rwkw

Location: your mums
NSW, Australia

Steady ED wrote:
10 bucks says its not the gauge playing up.
When was the thermostat last replaced?
Rad temp will fluctuate obviously, which end of the rad do you want the temperature of LOL

Drill and tap into thermostat housing for new temp sensor for gauge.
For oil temp, T-piece at pressure sender, or filter sandwhich plate
For vacuum, pick a vac line, cut, add T-piece.

Dunno about NSW, but A pillar gauges here are teh illegalz, restrict vision and s**t.


dont know too bloody scared to unbolt the housing as i been told they cost allot of money to replace if you break it.

i have also been told the sender unit could be stuffed and it cost over $50 from ford for a new sender unit.

 

_________________

BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 11:45 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names