Fordmods Logo

Setting TPS Voltage 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Setting TPS Voltage
Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 8:47 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 320

Joined: 23rd Nov 2004

Ride: XHII XR8 Ute - Supercharged

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Hi. Been reading up on here about how to set TPS voltage. I understand that u make holes bigger on TPS mounting so u can 'swivle' the TPS around to adjust voltage.

Which coloured wire do you tap into to take voltage reading? (Should both TPS's be set to .9v). Where is this reading to be taken from - should it be done with car idling + butterfly fully shut on throttle body??
Its all a bit confusing. I hadn't worried about this until now, but im getting sick of my car randomly 'hunting' for the right revs. (The vacuum leak i got won't help so ill fix that first) :roll:

The reason i'm asking this is i orginally had a 70mm TB on there, and was way too laaaagy. So i switched to a 65mm. Im hoping if i put my 70mm on back on and adjust the voltage correctly it may fix the lagness.

Any thoughts on this? Cheers in advance....

- Also anyone put bigger stallys in their auto? like 2200-2500 range? I read about goin into limp home mode when puttin in bigger converters - will a aftermarket ecu (EMS) overcome this (I am aware that there's a seperate computer for tranny)

 

_________________

Old - XF with XH XR8 Driveline... http://www.fordmods.com/ford-v8-f2/my-xr8-power-xf-falcon-t20529.html
Current - XHII XR8 ute - Kenne Bell Supercharged - Build in progress

SUPERCHARGED XHII XR8 UTE - BUILD THREAD >http://www.fordmods.com/post1195532.html#p1195532

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 8:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 64

Posts: 3552

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Power: 482 rwkw

Location: Penrith
NSW, Australia

One wire should be earth, the other should be 5v {which is the voltage used on most ecu sensors}
The other is the voltage return from tps....
This is checked with KOEO.. Key on engine off...
Set at .9 with correct rpm at idle...

 

_________________

As in ZOOM 126 edition
331 Dart block,3.25/ 4340 steel crank, Oliver rods,TFS ported track heat heads, TFS track heat inlet Twin SC61 turbo's
Project 1UZ-EF has started.. S475 Turbo 4.0 V8 Mustang Celica.....

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 8:26 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 320

Joined: 23rd Nov 2004

Ride: XHII XR8 Ute - Supercharged

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

EBXR8380 wrote:
Set at .9 with correct rpm at idle...


Just to confirm - by this u mean 'Throttle in normal position' i.e. butterfly closed/where it normally sits at if you had car running??

Sorry might sound stupid, but i wanna set this thing right

 

_________________

Old - XF with XH XR8 Driveline... http://www.fordmods.com/ford-v8-f2/my-xr8-power-xf-falcon-t20529.html
Current - XHII XR8 ute - Kenne Bell Supercharged - Build in progress

SUPERCHARGED XHII XR8 UTE - BUILD THREAD >http://www.fordmods.com/post1195532.html#p1195532

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 9:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 85

Posts: 1088

Joined: 30th Jan 2005

Gallery: 16 images

Ride: F350

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Yes, he means with the butterfly closed .9 volt.
You can get your multi meter probes up the back of the plug too..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 9:31 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 391

Joined: 26th Mar 2007

Ride: eb

Location: frankston
VIC, Australia

sorry but what does this do does it make it run better or what
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2007 12:07 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 64

Posts: 3552

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Power: 482 rwkw

Location: Penrith
NSW, Australia

347stroker wrote:
Yes, he means with the butterfly closed .9 volt.
You can get your multi meter probes up the back of the plug too..

Na ..disconnect ISC then adjust idle to specs..Then refit ISC plug adjust TPS to under .9 volt...
By just turning idle screw it upsets TPS voltage...
ISC is idle speed control...

 

_________________

As in ZOOM 126 edition
331 Dart block,3.25/ 4340 steel crank, Oliver rods,TFS ported track heat heads, TFS track heat inlet Twin SC61 turbo's
Project 1UZ-EF has started.. S475 Turbo 4.0 V8 Mustang Celica.....

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2007 12:10 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 64

Posts: 3552

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Power: 482 rwkw

Location: Penrith
NSW, Australia

falcon gl wrote:
sorry but what does this do does it make it run better or what

If its idling o/k and no surging wouldn't worry about it...

 

_________________

As in ZOOM 126 edition
331 Dart block,3.25/ 4340 steel crank, Oliver rods,TFS ported track heat heads, TFS track heat inlet Twin SC61 turbo's
Project 1UZ-EF has started.. S475 Turbo 4.0 V8 Mustang Celica.....

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 6:53 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 320

Joined: 23rd Nov 2004

Ride: XHII XR8 Ute - Supercharged

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Should BOTH tps modules be at .9v? Cos one of mine is at .95v, the other at 1.25v. Are both to be set at .9v? If not, which TPS goes to what plug (they both look the same)

That would cause me idke probs would it? My car seems to idle ok, but sometimes it shifts strangley (Auto). Would this cause this?

 

_________________

Old - XF with XH XR8 Driveline... http://www.fordmods.com/ford-v8-f2/my-xr8-power-xf-falcon-t20529.html
Current - XHII XR8 ute - Kenne Bell Supercharged - Build in progress

SUPERCHARGED XHII XR8 UTE - BUILD THREAD >http://www.fordmods.com/post1195532.html#p1195532

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 01, 2007 7:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 527

Joined: 14th Mar 2005

Gallery: 14 images

Ride: ebxr8

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

i rang adelaide torque converters last year and they recon the standard stall on an e series v8 is between 2200-2400 does anyone know if this is true.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 02, 2007 10:43 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 320

Joined: 23rd Nov 2004

Ride: XHII XR8 Ute - Supercharged

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

ixlrate wrote:
i rang adelaide torque converters last year and they recon the standard stall on an e series v8 is between 2200-2400 does anyone know if this is true.



.....mmmmm alrighty then.......

so anyway, does anyone have solution for me?
Cheers

 

_________________

Old - XF with XH XR8 Driveline... http://www.fordmods.com/ford-v8-f2/my-xr8-power-xf-falcon-t20529.html
Current - XHII XR8 ute - Kenne Bell Supercharged - Build in progress

SUPERCHARGED XHII XR8 UTE - BUILD THREAD >http://www.fordmods.com/post1195532.html#p1195532

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 12:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 64

Posts: 3552

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Power: 482 rwkw

Location: Penrith
NSW, Australia

START another thread !!!!
Preferable in gearbox, suspension section.....

 

_________________

As in ZOOM 126 edition
331 Dart block,3.25/ 4340 steel crank, Oliver rods,TFS ported track heat heads, TFS track heat inlet Twin SC61 turbo's
Project 1UZ-EF has started.. S475 Turbo 4.0 V8 Mustang Celica.....

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 04, 2007 12:00 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 320

Joined: 23rd Nov 2004

Ride: XHII XR8 Ute - Supercharged

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

EBXR8380,


U seem to be clued on TPS voltage - my original question if you know - do i set BOTH TPS voltages to .9v (cos one of mine reads .95v the other 1.25v)

Is the 2nd TPS for the Auto trans?

Cheers

 

_________________

Old - XF with XH XR8 Driveline... http://www.fordmods.com/ford-v8-f2/my-xr8-power-xf-falcon-t20529.html
Current - XHII XR8 ute - Kenne Bell Supercharged - Build in progress

SUPERCHARGED XHII XR8 UTE - BUILD THREAD >http://www.fordmods.com/post1195532.html#p1195532

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 04, 2007 11:26 am 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Yes, one goes to the trans controller, other goes to ECU

I always set both of mine on the EB to 0.9V. On my AU there is only 1 TPS which serves both the Auto and the ECU and that is also set to 0.9V

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 04, 2007 8:10 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 320

Joined: 23rd Nov 2004

Ride: XHII XR8 Ute - Supercharged

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

ok. cheers mate

 

_________________

Old - XF with XH XR8 Driveline... http://www.fordmods.com/ford-v8-f2/my-xr8-power-xf-falcon-t20529.html
Current - XHII XR8 ute - Kenne Bell Supercharged - Build in progress

SUPERCHARGED XHII XR8 UTE - BUILD THREAD >http://www.fordmods.com/post1195532.html#p1195532

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 9:18 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names