Fordmods Logo

Stall converters ? 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 21 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Stall converters ?
Posted: Wed Feb 28, 2007 11:46 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 31

Joined: 9th Nov 2006

Location: Liverpool
NSW, Australia

Hi how's it going, i have a few questions to ask.

I am in the position of more money and am getting a 3.45 ratio installed.
Now would going to a higher stally give me a better launch, and will it affect fuel economy by much.

Car is a EB2 S-XR8 Automatic

Thanks for your help Brad
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 28, 2007 11:58 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 1132

Joined: 11th Jun 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: ef fairmont,

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

good couple steps there with the diff you will find it will rev little higher as in it might be 1500 rpm at 110 the stally will help launch for sure gett round the 2500 mark nice streetable but still decent launch

 

_________________

95 ef montfor sale pm for info, 88 hilux mud truck

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 28, 2007 3:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 661

Joined: 2nd Dec 2004

Ride: AU XR8

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

Whats your current diff ratio?

I would expect a higher stall converter (2500-3000rpm) to give a much better improvement to launch, i.e. from standing start, than shorter diff gears.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 28, 2007 5:35 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Of course if you go over 2500rpm it will go into limp mode.

Pete.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1320

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

XR9UTE wrote:
Of course if you go over 2500rpm it will go into limp mode.

Pete.


Im 1/2 through developing a device that will overcome that and do a couple other tricky things :)

Last edited by 66 coupe on Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:40 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 48

Joined: 11th Aug 2005

Ride: 1994 XG

Location: dubbo
NSW, Australia

what exactly does a stally do and how does it work. i hear alot about tese things and never really undertsand what they do, where they go, how they work and why you woul;d have one
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 28, 2007 7:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1320

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 28, 2007 9:22 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 46

Posts: 282

Joined: 4th Jun 2005

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: ef xr8

Location: Northern
NSW, Australia

XR9UTE wrote:
Of course if you go over 2500rpm it will go into limp mode.

Pete.


I'm running a 2800 rpm stally with no probs with limp mode.

 

_________________

----------------------------------------------------
FOR SALE;EF 5.0 auto ecu with tweecer $600
----------------------------------------------------

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 9:05 am 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

chooka wrote:
XR9UTE wrote:
Of course if you go over 2500rpm it will go into limp mode.

Pete.


I'm running a 2800 rpm stally with no probs with limp mode.


Does it actually stall at 2800rpm?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 9:52 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 46

Posts: 282

Joined: 4th Jun 2005

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: ef xr8

Location: Northern
NSW, Australia

Yep,hold it in first gear hold throttle flat and rev's go straight up to 2800.Stall was built by Autoflite engineering who make the dominator stalls to engine and cam specs.If we had any troubles with limp mode Lachlan at Chiptorque was going to sort it out.

 

_________________

----------------------------------------------------
FOR SALE;EF 5.0 auto ecu with tweecer $600
----------------------------------------------------

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 12:07 am 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

That's really amazing because with such a mismatch of input to output shaft speed it should go into limp mode. Ive seen cases where a converter worked well then as soon as more mods to the engine were made which increased torque the stall speed moved up ever so slightly and it was enough to trip limp mode. In some cases the flash stall speed(which is higher than the brake stall speed) actually caused limp mode.
What's your diff ratio and what speedo gear are you running?

Pete.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 11:15 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 64

Posts: 225

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Ride: EDV8 Fairmont

Location: perth
WA, Australia

Yep Pete,
as soon as bolted on the Edelbrock RPM heads - torque & power went up but now have limp home issues because of flash speed with morestall convertor went launching from stop. OK if moving slightly.
Sent you email re AODE.

Richie.

 

_________________

1993 ED F/mont 5.0L, Auto, Edelbrock RPM's, CompCam XE276HR, Crane Gold Race 1.7's, Edelbrock Performer, 75mm T/B, MAP, 42lb , GenIII coils, PH4000's , Twin 2.5", Thermos & underspeeds, 3.7 LSD, 2800 stall and MoTec M800, 372fwhp @ 5400rpm & 387 ft-lb @ 4400 rpm.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 12:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 661

Joined: 2nd Dec 2004

Ride: AU XR8

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

Pete, can the twEECer be used to re-calibrate our EEC strategys to account for higher stall speed?

(im looking at playing with E-Series V8's for a little while....this may sway my decision a little)

Cheers.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 12:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1320

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

The E-series V8's use a seperate transmision control module, therefore the tweecer wont be able to change anything transmission related.

As i said above, im working on a device to solve the limp home mode problem with stall converters, will probably be testing a final version in richies car around middle of this month.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 3:48 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

66 coupe hit the nail. There are some trans parameters that can be changed but these relate more to trans type and it's communication with the trans controller.
I have been talking to Baumann engineering about a TCS for the BTR gearbox which, being a seven solenoid box makes it a little more unusual than most but it is doable.
Having said all that the inherent weakness of this gearbox means that a swap to a AODE/4R70W is a much stronger option and is relatively easy for the V8 guys anyway.

Pete.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 7:23 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names