Fordmods Logo

What does your NF/L Fairlane/LTD V8 upshift at? 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 26 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: What does your NF/L Fairlane/LTD V8 upshift at?
Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 10:21 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 284

Joined: 3rd Mar 2012

Ride: NL Fairlane Ghia V8

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

I've been noticing lately that my NL has been upshifting at full throttle with power mode on at around 4600 rpm. My previous ED Ghia shifted at bang on 5000 rpm and my EL XR8 at 5500.

This obviously seems too low, so I was wondering if other Fairlanes were the same. Thought it may be a Fairlane thing?

The tyres on the car are now 225/50/16's when the factory fitment was 215/60/16. I know the speedo reads too high by 7-8 kph at 100, so I thought this may also make the tacho inaccurate too?

If I hold it in first it revs out cleanly past 6000.

Any ideas?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: What does your NF/L Fairlane/LTD V8 upshift at?
Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 10:46 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Shift speed will be effected by your taller tyres.
Taller tyres won't effect your tacho.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: What does your NF/L Fairlane/LTD V8 upshift at?
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 9:40 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 284

Joined: 3rd Mar 2012

Ride: NL Fairlane Ghia V8

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

XR9UTE wrote:
Shift speed will be effected by your taller tyres.
Taller tyres won't effect your tacho.

The tyres are lower profile now, not taller.

How will that effect shift speed, faster or slower?

I've got a shift kit anyway but curious to know.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: What does your NF/L Fairlane/LTD V8 upshift at?
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 10:25 am 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Sorry, yes if your speedo reads higher than it actually is(because of your low profile tyres) it will shift earlier.
If you want to change the shift speed you could use one of those pulse adjuster kits you can get from Jaycar. That way you can split off the speed signal where it goes to the TCU and adjust it to where you want it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: What does your NF/L Fairlane/LTD V8 upshift at?
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 12:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Would that not be tach related rather than wheel speed??

Interesting. I have an EL Fairmont - and I have an XR8 TCM sitting in the shed.

Mine will spin out to 5k on Petrol

Nigel
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: What does your NF/L Fairlane/LTD V8 upshift at?
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 1:08 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

No Nige, It's a function of Driveshaft speed vs TPS.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: What does your NF/L Fairlane/LTD V8 upshift at?
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 1:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

That seems counter-intuitive to me!. but that also makes sense - I would have thought the more reliable/important information was input shaft speed and output shaft speed, with TPS. Actually thats both isnt it.

Good to know
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: What does your NF/L Fairlane/LTD V8 upshift at?
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 1:35 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Well, the combination of input shaft speed(engine rpm) vs output shaft speed(VSS) is used for trans diagnostics, like converter lockup speed. Because of that VSS is most important for shift points. The trans could be slipping it's head off and if it looked at RPM for shift points only it would fry itself in no time because it wouldn't know it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: What does your NF/L Fairlane/LTD V8 upshift at?
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 2:48 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 284

Joined: 3rd Mar 2012

Ride: NL Fairlane Ghia V8

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

XR9UTE wrote:
Sorry, yes if your speedo reads higher than it actually is(because of your low profile tyres) it will shift earlier.
If you want to change the shift speed you could use one of those pulse adjuster kits you can get from Jaycar. That way you can split off the speed signal where it goes to the TCU and adjust it to where you want it.

Thanks for that. Makes sense why it shifts so early then. I'm putting some 18's on soon which will be a little taller so should bring the defecit back a little bit so i'll see what its like after that.

Will 3.7 gears effect it as well, cause i'll be doing that soon.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: What does your NF/L Fairlane/LTD V8 upshift at?
Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2012 9:21 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 39

Joined: 10th Jun 2011

hi, i dont have a nf fairlane but i do have the v8 from one in my cortina :lol: it shifts up about 4600 WOT 17" wheels not sure of tyre profile, but the speedo is 7km/h out so what would i do to get it back upto the original shft speed and a proper reading on the speedo?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: What does your NF/L Fairlane/LTD V8 upshift at?
Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2012 9:29 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Change the speed sensor gear or use one of the pulse adjusters I mentioned.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: What does your NF/L Fairlane/LTD V8 upshift at?
Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 9:43 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 39

Joined: 10th Jun 2011

what would i be looking at to change the speed senser gear? what would i change it to? and also did the nf fairlane have a power/eco button? if it did im looking to hook it back up, cruisin' at 3400rpm seems a bit high for 110..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: What does your NF/L Fairlane/LTD V8 upshift at?
Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2012 9:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1319

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

NLGHIA5.0 wrote:
I've been noticing lately that my NL has been upshifting at full throttle with power mode on at around 4600 rpm. My previous ED Ghia shifted at bang on 5000 rpm and my EL XR8 at 5500.

This obviously seems too low, so I was wondering if other Fairlanes were the same. Thought it may be a Fairlane thing?

The tyres on the car are now 225/50/16's when the factory fitment was 215/60/16. I know the speedo reads too high by 7-8 kph at 100, so I thought this may also make the tacho inaccurate too?

If I hold it in first it revs out cleanly past 6000.

Any ideas?



before trying any of the above, get someone to sit in the car and put their foot flat on the accelerator (with engine NOT running) and ensue the throttlebody is opening all the way. It may not be, which will cause it to shift early as the TCM never see's full load.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: What does your NF/L Fairlane/LTD V8 upshift at?
Posted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 9:25 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 284

Joined: 3rd Mar 2012

Ride: NL Fairlane Ghia V8

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

66 coupe wrote:
NLGHIA5.0 wrote:
I've been noticing lately that my NL has been upshifting at full throttle with power mode on at around 4600 rpm. My previous ED Ghia shifted at bang on 5000 rpm and my EL XR8 at 5500.

This obviously seems too low, so I was wondering if other Fairlanes were the same. Thought it may be a Fairlane thing?

The tyres on the car are now 225/50/16's when the factory fitment was 215/60/16. I know the speedo reads too high by 7-8 kph at 100, so I thought this may also make the tacho inaccurate too?

If I hold it in first it revs out cleanly past 6000.

Any ideas?



before trying any of the above, get someone to sit in the car and put their foot flat on the accelerator (with engine NOT running) and ensue the throttlebody is opening all the way. It may not be, which will cause it to shift early as the TCM never see's full load.

I've already done that, the thought did cross my mind but it opened all the way. I definately think its the smaller tyres.

If i put lower diff gears in would this alter the speedo and shift points like the smaller tyres have, or bring it closer to where it should be?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: What does your NF/L Fairlane/LTD V8 upshift at?
Posted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 4:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1319

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

As long as you have not changed the speedo cog, tyre size has nothing to do with shift points.
the shift points are a function of tailshaft speed vs throttle position.
even if you took the wheels off, it will still shift at the same speed on the speedo thats programmed into the TCM.

As pete suggested, the shift points can be scaled with a speedo corrector if required.
Have you tried resetting the TCM and performed a throttle calibration?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 8:03 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names