Fordmods Logo

yet another issue!! EL XR8 fault codes 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: yet another issue!! EL XR8 fault codes
Posted: Fri Apr 26, 2013 10:29 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 130

Joined: 6th Jan 2008

Ride: 2 XF's, XE, EA Ghia

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

hi all been having trouble getting my EL xr8 to turn over ever since i did a manual conversion. now i do have a manual tune on a J3 chip an have checked every fuse/relay that i know of that could stop it from wanting to turn over. but havent found anything, so i chucked a test light on the starter motor trigger wire an it isnt getting power. so i ran power straight to the starter an it still didnt want to turn??? after a whole bunch of prodding with a test light an changin fuse an relays i still came up with nothing. did a self diag an it came up with code 522 (NDS - A/C On For KOEO test, the transmission must be in either Park, or Neutral, the A/C must also be turned off). can anyone tell me how to resolve this code? as far as i know the NDS is to do with an Auto trans?? which has got me confused because my ECU should think that its a manual ECU. any help on the situation would be great, cheers!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: yet another issue!! EL XR8 fault codes
Posted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 2:54 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 51

Posts: 433

Joined: 18th Jul 2009

Ride: NL FAIRLANE BA TURBO POWERED

Location: ballarat
VIC, Australia

Have you bridged the neutral safety switch wires?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: yet another issue!! EL XR8 fault codes
Posted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 8:47 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 130

Joined: 6th Jan 2008

Ride: 2 XF's, XE, EA Ghia

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

No I haven't, where an what colors are the wires?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: yet another issue!! EL XR8 fault codes
Posted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 9:16 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 130

Joined: 6th Jan 2008

Ride: 2 XF's, XE, EA Ghia

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Also have a manual gearbox harness not Auto
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: yet another issue!! EL XR8 fault codes
Posted: Tue Apr 30, 2013 11:38 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

What bits have been switched to tell the EEC it's a manual?
Your manual trans harness should effectively bridge the Neutral Drive switch which is also the Neutral safety switch but you should buzz it out to be sure. Get a genuine Ford workshop manual.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: yet another issue!! EL XR8 fault codes
Posted: Mon May 06, 2013 10:16 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 130

Joined: 6th Jan 2008

Ride: 2 XF's, XE, EA Ghia

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

It had a j3 chip with a manual tune
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: yet another issue!! EL XR8 fault codes
Posted: Mon May 06, 2013 10:24 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Yes I realise that. That's not what i asked.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: yet another issue!! EL XR8 fault codes
Posted: Tue May 07, 2013 12:51 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 130

Joined: 6th Jan 2008

Ride: 2 XF's, XE, EA Ghia

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

I dint understand what u mean then mate, can u please explain it abit better?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: yet another issue!! EL XR8 fault codes
Posted: Tue May 07, 2013 1:09 pm 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Ok, has the J3 adapter just had a complete manual binary programmed into it or have certain software switches been switched in the original binary to tell it it's a manual?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: yet another issue!! EL XR8 fault codes
Posted: Tue May 07, 2013 7:47 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 130

Joined: 6th Jan 2008

Ride: 2 XF's, XE, EA Ghia

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Would not have a clue, TI performance did the J3. I told him it was for a EL XR8 (not 185kw) that I had just done a manual conversion an wanted a chip to suit. Paid $135 an received the chip bout a week later. Can sed him a msg an ask if ya want?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: yet another issue!! EL XR8 fault codes
Posted: Wed May 08, 2013 11:08 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1140

Joined: 27th Feb 2005

Ride: Supercharged EF Fairmont

Location: T.I. Performance HQ
VIC, Australia

Just saw this thread.

The chip has a manual binary on it. The starting problem is unrelated to the code as I have told Gavin numerous times on Facebook.

Cheers,
Jason
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: yet another issue!! EL XR8 fault codes
Posted: Wed May 08, 2013 11:36 am 
EFI Guru
Offline

Age: 52

Posts: 4289

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: 351 Vogue,XH 5.0,'17 5.0 Stang

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Yep realise that Jason.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: yet another issue!! EL XR8 fault codes
Posted: Wed May 08, 2013 1:00 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 130

Joined: 6th Jan 2008

Ride: 2 XF's, XE, EA Ghia

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

An like I've Said to Jason. I wasn't doubting his chip I have been just been enquiring as I've had a few ppl tell me different things. I just want to get my car running an thought I would cover all basis of what has been changed. One basis was the chip, hence why I was enquiring. Can someone tell me how to resolve code 522? Since it doesn't have anything to do with the chip. An as to what can cause the trigger wire to get no power? Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: yet another issue!! EL XR8 fault codes
Posted: Wed May 08, 2013 1:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1140

Joined: 27th Feb 2005

Ride: Supercharged EF Fairmont

Location: T.I. Performance HQ
VIC, Australia

You say you ran a wire to the starter directly and it did not start. Did the starter turn over at all?

No power on the starter wire can be anything; neutral start switch wiring issue; BEM issue; ignition switch issue; starter relay issue; ... You haven't really said what you've done to troubleshoot the problem apart from changing a few random fuses and relays.

The car will start and run on an auto ecu and loom as long as you put the gear position sensor in park or neutral. Maybe you need to do this and back track/fault find from there.

Cheers,
Jason
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 7:24 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names