Fordmods Logo

Newer I6 into XF? How hard? 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 24 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Newer I6 into XF? How hard?
Posted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 3:03 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 5

Joined: 25th Feb 2005

Location: On a hill
VIC, Australia

Ok guys im thinking about pulling the 250 out of the XF and putting in a newer I6 from an EB-EL, im prity sure i know what is needed to do this but what i don't know is if this can be done and how hard is it to do and what sort of $ would i be looking at spending?

Ive been told by a few people that id see the reliability and power gains if i put the cash into the 250 but i think i'd like to just move to a newer motor as i plan on keeping this car for ever, plus i know the ED's go pritty hard and in a frame thats ~2-300kgs lighter it should go dam well with minor mods.

Any help or ideas people?

Thanks.

Adrian.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 9:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 3519

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA XR8, XD Fairmont Ghia

Location: Ferntree Gully
VIC, Australia

and the fact the 4ltr is OHC make a big difference,

just buy all the gear from a XG ute (ie engine mounts , sway bar ect)
this will make your conversion a lot easier
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 26, 2005 10:25 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 42

Joined: 16th Nov 2004

Location: Central West
NSW, Australia

Have a look at the XG ute. This is basically an improved XF with a 4.0L engine.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 26, 2005 9:13 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 347

Joined: 28th Nov 2004

Ride: XF Wagon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I agree with the 2 above.

I have looked at both options and have decided to build a turbo 250. I was gona swap to an eb 4litre and do minor mods (cam, exhaust, slight port polish, cold air etc) but i would have to buy the new mounts, new motor and gearbox.

I know a fair bit about the crossflows and jack didly about the 4 litres but from what i have seen and heard the $ figures are pretty much the same.

Do research and find what will best suit you in the long run.

Cheers

 

_________________

If its too loud your too old!!!!!!!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 27, 2005 7:24 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 5

Joined: 25th Feb 2005

Location: On a hill
VIC, Australia

thanks for the help so far,

With the XG mounts and sway bar is it then pretty much straight bolt in?

I plan on doing this in about a month, so atm im just getting an idea of what ill need to do this conversion.

Also whats the deal with the smartlock system, will this make things any harder or is that simple to get around? I want to use the stock ECU for the moment and go aftermarket later on when i go for more power.


Cheers...
Adrian.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 27, 2005 7:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 3519

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA XR8, XD Fairmont Ghia

Location: Ferntree Gully
VIC, Australia

sway bar and engine mount brakets will bolt straight in.
use a XG radiator and shroud also this will make life easier,
not all XG,s had smart lock so get the ecu out of that or a early EB
i would put a aftermarket ECU in straight away. might cost a little more but well worth it in the end,
If you want to have a look at a XG we have one at the moment.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 6:37 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 3

Joined: 21st Jan 2005

Ride: XF Fairmont Ghia

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

I'm undergoing the same project.

Picked up the engine, auto trans, ecu, wiring harness and the xg engine mounts. Going to start on the 11th. I'll try to take some photos.

For now just the above will be changed, but down the track the diff will become a 3.45:1. A worked cam without needing an aftermarket ecu, 2.5" extractors and exhaust.

The XF Fairmont Ghia will hopefully be ready for some Easter cruising.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 7:47 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 5

Joined: 25th Feb 2005

Location: On a hill
VIC, Australia

Thanks XR8 dismantler ill prob. come down in the next couple of days to have a look.


Garycdj: yeah mad, keep me posted on how you go and any issues that arrise in the process.


Also would doing this make the car technicaly illegal? Would i need an engineers cert.?


Cheers...
Adrian
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 8:24 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 95

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: 95 XG S Ute

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

If you want to see a XG engine in an actual XG, I'm happy for you to check out my ute. Might help to see how it all fits in, etc. in the same engine bay as your XF

 

_________________

Homer! What have you done to the car? I don't think it had broken axles before.

Before! Before! You're living in the past, Marge. Quit living in the past.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 11:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 3519

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA XR8, XD Fairmont Ghia

Location: Ferntree Gully
VIC, Australia

garycdj wrote:
I'm undergoing the same project.

Picked up the engine, auto trans, ecu, wiring harness and the xg engine mounts.


dont forget the swaybar , you will need it to clear the sump
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 3:33 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 3

Joined: 21st Jan 2005

Ride: XF Fairmont Ghia

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

Do I need the xg sway bar? I’ve heard that it should fit without changing it as long as I use xg engine mounts. The only time I have heard that the sway bar needed changing was when someone used ea engine mounts that they modified. Which would tell me that the engine is not sitting in the correct position, therefore hitting the sway bar. If I need to, then I’ll just have to get one.

With the car being legal. I think you only need an engineers certificate if you put a V8 in. As it is physically the same engine bay as the XG, and the brakes are the same, I can’t see why you would need one.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 9:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

project_xf wrote:
Thanks XR8 dismantler ill prob. come down in the next couple of days to have a look.


Garycdj: yeah mad, keep me posted on how you go and any issues that arrise in the process.


Also would doing this make the car technicaly illegal? Would i need an engineers cert.?


Cheers...
Adrian

yea, you'll need an engineers cert as the 4.0l wasnt an optional engine for the XF's

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 9:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 3519

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA XR8, XD Fairmont Ghia

Location: Ferntree Gully
VIC, Australia

best to speak to a engineer in your state,
in victoria i dont think it would be a problem to put it in. as it is bolt in and no bigger in capacity than the original motor. and later model than original
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2005 6:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 492

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: EF Fairmont Wagon, ph34r!

Location: Northam
WA, Australia

On a related note, ijust out of curiosity, is it possible to replace the stock 3 speed auto with the electronic four speed from an EA using the latter's T-bar and console surround (In addition to fitting the OHC engine)? At first glance it'd look like it would fit but appearances can be deceptive...

 

_________________

Team Argon Silver

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2005 9:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 3519

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA XR8, XD Fairmont Ghia

Location: Ferntree Gully
VIC, Australia

LSD wrote:
On a related note, ijust out of curiosity, is it possible to replace the stock 3 speed auto with the electronic four speed from an EA using the latter's T-bar and console surround (In addition to fitting the OHC engine)? At first glance it'd look like it would fit but appearances can be deceptive...


I think the tunnel would be to small.
you would need to get the tape measure out i think.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 7:19 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names