XF Engine Options 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

Post subject: XF Engine Options
Posted: Mon Jun 27, 2005 5:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 40 images

Ride: EF GLi/Ghia bitsa

VIC, Australia

Hey, I was just wondering what the best option for my engine is? I've got an XF Falcon with EFI, and a T5 5 speed, If possible, I'd like to keep with a fuel injected engine, but will go carby if nessacary. Keep in mind that I'm a poor TAFE student & I cant afford that much, I'd just like my car to have some more go. The options I have come up with are as follows:

Option #1: EF/EL Engine with EB Manifold

Advantages:

A huge upgrade in technology, power, efficiency and refinement, Wiring seems pretty easy too with the XF EEC-IV being very similar to the EB Setup, and from what I can tell, only 4 wires need to be added to make it run with the EB Computer.

Disadvantages:

It needs to be engineered, and it'll probably cost over $2000 to get it all working properley. It also may not be as easy as it looks to fit it.

As far as I can tell, to fit the EF/EL engine, I'd need the following parts:

*XG Radiator
*XG Engine mounts
*XG Heater hoses
*EB-ED Fuel pump
*EB Series 1 ECU
*XG Power steering pump & lines
*T5 Bellhousing to suit
*XG Accelerator cable
*EB Manifold, injectors & throttle body
*XG Airbox

I think that's about it.

Roughly how much will all this stuff cost me, and is it worth it?

Option #2: EF/EL Engine with Broadband Manifold and full XH Dash.

Advantages: Would be a very smooth, torquey engine, and go really well in the XF. Could also run smartlock if desired.

Disadvantages: Not many, other than the huge amount of time & the cost involved, and also having to get it engineered.

I'll need all the same parts as the last option, with the addition of a full XH Dash, BBM, Wiring loom, and EL XR6 ECU.

I'd say that cost will probably be prohibitive here. How much would I be looking at for that stuff?

Option #3: Rebuild my spare 250 Crossflow.