Absolute newbie guides? 

Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

Post subject: Absolute newbie guides?
Posted: Wed Jun 07, 2006 4:34 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

Ride: EBI Gl :(

QLD, Australia

Hey all!

Being an absolute newbie with very little cash, an EB I that the previous owners never looked after and a can-do attitude I've found there's a lot of stuff I'd like to know but can't find. Embarrassing stuff that most newbs like me are too ashamed to ask for :)

So I've found this awesome forum (btw - nice work!) and figured I'd put up a 'wish list'. There are a lot of basic maintenance jobs I'd like to do myself - nothing to do with my mechanic telling me about the next big holiday he's planning, of course - and I figure they're all fairly standard jobs that most people should be able to do themselves, if only the info were available.

For my part, I'm happy to follow instructions, provide heaps of photos, and help edit the results so that they're newbie friendly.

The list of things I'm thinking I'd like to have a crack includes but is not limited to -
- adjusting timing (got a vague idea, but really need to know specifics)
- changing trans fluid
- checking ujoint and diff and the lubrication for each
- maybe brakes

There are other things too, like an oil change that I can already do (if its any indication of how new I am, I'm still kinda proud of myself for being able to do that!) that might warrant guides... maybe I'll do up an oil change howto and contribute that next time its due :)

TIA!

Posted: Wed Jun 07, 2006 6:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Ride: 03 BA XR6

VIC, Australia

hah...dont feel too bad, my modification expertise at this point includes...

* changing starter motors
* changing coils
* installing stereo head units
* oil change
* changing flat tyres

2003 BA Ford Falcon XR6 | BF Typhoon Intake + K&N Filter | Lukey 2.5" catback zorst | More mods coming soon....

Posted: Thu Jun 08, 2006 12:51 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

QLD, Australia