Fordmods Logo

Converting your EA-ED Cluster to EF/EL 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Converting your EA-ED Cluster to EF/EL
Posted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 5:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 24

Posts: 422

Joined: 10th Jul 2009

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Black EB 5 Speed EL Front End

Location: Bundaberg
QLD, Australia

If you've ever tried to fit an EF/EL Cluster into your old EA, EB, ED dash but worried about wiring. No need to worry as I've made up a chart that tells you which wires connect to each other and wire colours when converting your EA, EB, ED Low and Mid Series Cluster to a EF, EL Low and Mid Series Cluster. To get the dash cluster to work properly you will be required to run a EL ECU otherwise not all the features on the dash will work properly(Temperature Gauge, Tacho). I also believe that you need an EF/EL Oil Pressure sender not an EA-ED Oil Pressure Sender

This chart does not include the wiring for Smartlock Light, Power/Economy Mode, ABS, Cruise Control, Air Bag and Trip Computer.
Attachment:
EA-ED (Low-Mid Series) to EF-EL Cluster (Low-Mid Series).xls


Hope this helps all you people with EA, EB and ED's that want to put an EF/EL cluster into your car.

The Finished Product
Attachment:
Pic_0815_018.jpg


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Converting your EA-ED Cluster to EF/EL
Posted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 9:11 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 168

Joined: 29th Apr 2008

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: 1990 ea 5 speed

Location: adelaide northrn suburbs
SA, Australia

hey bud i done a ef dash conversion into me ea and yea the temp gauge wont work without the ef el ecu as the ef el temp input works off of a pulse where as apparentley the ea runs straight off the sensor or sumthing but my tacho gauge worked fine so far i dunno what i did differently lol

 

_________________

89 ea falcon " panda" ef 5spd i6 engine with wade 1673 cam shaved ported head, full stainless 2 n half inch zaust 20 inch rims n 330mm brake upgrade soon to hae m90 blower running 12 pound pulley :D

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Converting your EA-ED Cluster to EF/EL
Posted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 9:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 24

Posts: 422

Joined: 10th Jul 2009

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Black EB 5 Speed EL Front End

Location: Bundaberg
QLD, Australia

i dunno what is wrong with my tacho. when i first done it i connected it to the old tacho wire for the old cluster, then i connected it to the ecu and i dont think it changed much

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Converting your EA-ED Cluster to EF/EL
Posted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 9:40 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 168

Joined: 29th Apr 2008

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: 1990 ea 5 speed

Location: adelaide northrn suburbs
SA, Australia

does it completely not work or does it work but jump around a bit

 

_________________

89 ea falcon " panda" ef 5spd i6 engine with wade 1673 cam shaved ported head, full stainless 2 n half inch zaust 20 inch rims n 330mm brake upgrade soon to hae m90 blower running 12 pound pulley :D

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Converting your EA-ED Cluster to EF/EL
Posted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 9:43 pm 
SA Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1870

Joined: 14th Apr 2006

Ride: 1993 EBll xr6, 2003 ba xt

Power: 150 rwkw

Location: Whyalla
SA, Australia

so this will work with out useing a ef ef engine?
just the ecu?


cheers

 

_________________

Owning 1 of 84,847 ebII.
2x clarion subs 1200w, 1x clarion amp 400w, pioneer headunit, 16x8 roh reflex.
Clear side, front indicators, White dials, trip computer, boot spoiler, K & N air filter.
35% tint, paint code (z) stark white, 3" crome nudge bar, Xh snorkle

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Converting your EA-ED Cluster to EF/EL
Posted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 9:52 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 168

Joined: 29th Apr 2008

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: 1990 ea 5 speed

Location: adelaide northrn suburbs
SA, Australia

yea it works fine bud ya just have to run an aftermarket temp gauge or sumin because theres basically no way to run the el gauge off the ea wiring i got b4 and after pics in my build thread,
i wonder if its possible to hardwire into the actual cluster i wonder if it could be done hay

 

_________________

89 ea falcon " panda" ef 5spd i6 engine with wade 1673 cam shaved ported head, full stainless 2 n half inch zaust 20 inch rims n 330mm brake upgrade soon to hae m90 blower running 12 pound pulley :D

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Converting your EA-ED Cluster to EF/EL
Posted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 9:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 24

Posts: 422

Joined: 10th Jul 2009

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Black EB 5 Speed EL Front End

Location: Bundaberg
QLD, Australia

jonathon wrote:
so this will work with out useing a ef ef engine?
just the ecu?


cheers

yes. you will need the EL ecu or as said, the temp gauge and other stuff wont work properly. i believe that you need an EF/EL oil pressure sender as they are different.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Converting your EA-ED Cluster to EF/EL
Posted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 10:08 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 168

Joined: 29th Apr 2008

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: 1990 ea 5 speed

Location: adelaide northrn suburbs
SA, Australia

it depends if you have a oil pressure gauge u will need to buy a oil pressure sender unit(think thats wat its called) but if u have no gauge just a light when oil pressures low then its a oil pressure switch im not sure if the oil pressure switches are the same throughtout the e series

 

_________________

89 ea falcon " panda" ef 5spd i6 engine with wade 1673 cam shaved ported head, full stainless 2 n half inch zaust 20 inch rims n 330mm brake upgrade soon to hae m90 blower running 12 pound pulley :D

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Converting your EA-ED Cluster to EF/EL
Posted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 10:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 24

Posts: 422

Joined: 10th Jul 2009

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Black EB 5 Speed EL Front End

Location: Bundaberg
QLD, Australia

ea street sleeper wrote:
does it completely not work or does it work but jump around a bit

it works and doesn't jump around, but when the motor is on limiter the tacho reads 4250rpm. even with another cluster in it was the same

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Converting your EA-ED Cluster to EF/EL
Posted: Wed Aug 25, 2010 12:25 pm 
SA Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1870

Joined: 14th Apr 2006

Ride: 1993 EBll xr6, 2003 ba xt

Power: 150 rwkw

Location: Whyalla
SA, Australia

well i currently have the 6 guage cluster in my eb

 

_________________

Owning 1 of 84,847 ebII.
2x clarion subs 1200w, 1x clarion amp 400w, pioneer headunit, 16x8 roh reflex.
Clear side, front indicators, White dials, trip computer, boot spoiler, K & N air filter.
35% tint, paint code (z) stark white, 3" crome nudge bar, Xh snorkle

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Converting your EA-ED Cluster to EF/EL
Posted: Sat Aug 04, 2012 4:27 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 1

Joined: 29th Jul 2012

Ride: XE ute

Location: Yarrawonga
VIC, Australia

I've just done this in my EA. But the car won't start with the EL ecu installed. Why is this?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Converting your EA-ED Cluster to EF/EL
Posted: Sat Aug 04, 2012 4:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 4285

Joined: 8th Dec 2004

Gallery: 25 images

Ride: EB2 Ghia,Mighty Boy,Eb1 Xr8 5spd

Location: ** In the Shed! **
VIC, Australia

Gh0stK1ll3r wrote:
I've just done this in my EA. But the car won't start with the EL ecu installed. Why is this?


EL ECU is probably expecting a smartlock signal to allow the car to start. You will need a bypass or to disable smartlock in the ecu via a j3 chip.

Cheers

ToranaGuy

 

_________________

I am the ToranaGuy!|74 Lh Torana Turbo|78 Hz PanelVan|86 Mighty Boy Ute|93 EB2 Ghia,GT Mockup,5spd,LPGI,Full Leather|2 x EB Xr8 5spd's|FS [VIC]: Wrecking - Eb XR8 - Parts available |Build Thread|Ebay Items - Ford Parts|

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Converting your EA-ED Cluster to EF/EL
Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 6:43 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 125

Joined: 27th Apr 2011

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: ea falcon

Location: tanilba bay
NSW, Australia

when you do this doe's the odometer still work?

 

_________________

EA falcon(S-Pac) AU engine and injector's, EL BBM conversion,K&N pod,EL ECU,T5 5speed,EL Streering rack, EL Brake system, Extractor's 2 1/2in high flow cat, through 2 1/2in mandrel bent pipe with Lukey Performance muffler

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Converting your EA-ED Cluster to EF/EL
Posted: Sat Nov 03, 2012 8:45 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 44

Posts: 1

Joined: 28th Nov 2009

Ride: FORD WAGON / EF GLi

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Thanks heaps. Just need to trace 4 mystery wires, spliced into my Ed loom, and all sweet!
Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 9:16 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names