Fordmods Logo

VCT Conversion 

 

Page 3 of 4 [ 56 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

 
Posted: Thu May 01, 2008 6:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

frankieh wrote:
Will an AU VCT head fit on an EL motor? I know I'd need the heard from gasket up and tappet cover down, but it would fit fine right?

rgds

Frank
If an AU head fits on an EL then Yes I would think seeings as people use an AU head gasket in E series all the time. But you need the AU rocker gear ect....

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: i am currently upgrading to AU vct motor
Posted: Fri May 16, 2008 1:48 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 165

Joined: 2nd Feb 2007

Ride: Ford AU series 2 Wagon

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

i am currently upgrading to AU vct motor
from the au intek motor non vct.
i have it going into a AU model falcon
am i going to run into any snags or problems fitting it myself
this smart lock or smartshield you were talking about is that going to cause me problems or am i fine using a Au vct loom to plug straight into vct ecu
my au is a series 2 .
motor un sure what year it is from as of yet still working on this...
any help ful info that may help me...???
thanks

 

_________________

wagoff

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: i am currently upgrading to AU vct motor
Posted: Fri May 16, 2008 7:42 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

cilkorules wrote:
i am currently upgrading to AU vct motor
from the au intek motor non vct.
i have it going into a AU model falcon
am i going to run into any snags or problems fitting it myself
this smart lock or smartshield you were talking about is that going to cause me problems or am i fine using a Au vct loom to plug straight into vct ecu
my au is a series 2 .
motor un sure what year it is from as of yet still working on this...
any help ful info that may help me...???
thanks
If you are smartshield and the donar ecu is smartshield then just a trip to ford on a tow truck at the end to get it programmed, if both are smartlock then you are lucky, any other combination will not work. Anyway just need to do what I did and use the BBM output to trigger the VCT.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 11:52 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 273

Joined: 5th Apr 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: In ya dot NSW,
QLD, Australia

So in completly simple terms - if you go to a wrecker and find an AU with a VCT head you can rip the head off and put it straight on your e-series and away you go?

 

_________________

USER BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 11:21 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 11103

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Ride: AU III XR8 Pursuit 250 ute

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

can't wait to get my donk back from Joe and see how it goes with the VCT.

 

_________________

Heaps of performance EF/L parts for sale, including supercharged VCT motor!

2002 Ford AU Series III Falcon XR8 Pursuit 250 ute - 5.6L of V8 Windsor!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 10:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 1061

Joined: 7th Sep 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BF3 Egas wag SY AWD Terry Ghia

Location: Brookfield
VIC, Australia

I am really interested in the Au ECU into EF senario.

10% fuel consumption improvement is a winner.

I have a dual fuel AU1 ECU and I am thinking of trying it If it is a straight swap.

 

_________________

BF3 Egas XT Wagon
SY Territory Ghia AWD 6spA :))

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 10:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

Rick's EF Fairmont Wagon wrote:
I am really interested in the Au ECU into EF senario.

10% fuel consumption improvement is a winner.

I have a dual fuel AU1 ECU and I am thinking of trying it If it is a straight swap.
I have the same ECU that I am intending to install..... one day. Its not a direct swap but it is do-able with some pin swapping.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 10:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

twr7cx wrote:
can't wait to get my donk back from Joe and see how it goes with the VCT.
Taking a while is it not?

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 11:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

Rick's EF Fairmont Wagon wrote:
I am really interested in the Au ECU into EF senario.

10% fuel consumption improvement is a winner.

I have a dual fuel AU1 ECU and I am thinking of trying it If it is a straight swap.


eh, how do u figure that???

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2008 7:35 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 1061

Joined: 7th Sep 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BF3 Egas wag SY AWD Terry Ghia

Location: Brookfield
VIC, Australia

The AU has true sequential injection not bank fire. this results in a 10% fuel saving.

AFAIK the EF is wired up to suit and the AU having the same coil pack should be very close to an ECU swap.
I just need the full Engine loom diagrams for both and I can start experimenting. In fact since I have a spare EF car. I have the loom to work on. I might have to get a loom from and AU and just fit that instead?

 

_________________

BF3 Egas XT Wagon
SY Territory Ghia AWD 6spA :))

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2008 10:26 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

Rick's EF Fairmont Wagon wrote:
The AU has true sequential injection not bank fire. this results in a 10% fuel saving.

AFAIK the EF is wired up to suit and the AU having the same coil pack should be very close to an ECU swap.
I just need the full Engine loom diagrams for both and I can start experimenting. In fact since I have a spare EF car. I have the loom to work on. I might have to get a loom from and AU and just fit that instead?
You will at least need the AU MAP sensor as it is different from the E series.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2008 7:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 1061

Joined: 7th Sep 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BF3 Egas wag SY AWD Terry Ghia

Location: Brookfield
VIC, Australia

I kick myself for not removing more parts from the AU I got the ECU from. I got the intake manifold and injectors. I should have got the whole head. I have a suspicion it was VCT? But would a factory taxi have been VCT?

 

_________________

BF3 Egas XT Wagon
SY Territory Ghia AWD 6spA :))

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2008 9:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 1998

Joined: 31st Dec 2007

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: xc wag's, tnklane wag's

Location: Munruben
QLD, Australia

The silver service lanes generally were, but I doubt a standard falcon.
It's pretty easy to pick the difference, one has the big red tickford rocker cover with the cam thing sticking out the front and vct on it, the other looks like a standard rcoker like out of say a eb ed.

 

_________________

Signature removed by moderator.signature must not exceed 120x500 pixles

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2008 9:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

I have a vct ecu that has the part number WR2A-12A650-CD....I removed this from an AU fairmont ghia that had the VCT motor....the final letter (D) has been textered over with the letter E....could this have been a flash revision????

I have queried this ECU part number before and the guy said it wasnt a VCT ecu, could it have been reflashed to become one???? 100% it came from a car with a VCT motor...

I have this for sale if anyone is interested...I also have the loom that goes from the ECU to the engine main plug

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 11, 2008 9:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 1061

Joined: 7th Sep 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BF3 Egas wag SY AWD Terry Ghia

Location: Brookfield
VIC, Australia

Nah,
its was silver like the old ED

 

_________________

BF3 Egas XT Wagon
SY Territory Ghia AWD 6spA :))

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 3 of 4  [ 56 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 7:04 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names