Fordmods Logo

4 Speed Auto into EA 


Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

 Post subject: 4 Speed Auto into EA
Posted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 8:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
User avatar

Age: 26

Posts: 2983

Joined: 15th Apr 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Aberfoyle Park
SA, Australia

I might be getting a EA with a T5. I will put the T5 into my car and put the 4 speed auto out of my EF into the EA.

How wouldi go doing this. To my understanding the EF box will bolt to the EA motor but what about computers and shifter linkages and such?

I will then be selling the EA..




HOLDENS go like rockets. They fall apart in stages!!!

Posted: Fri Feb 23, 2007 5:15 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

Age: 28

Posts: 9

Joined: 17th Jul 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Location: loganholme
QLD, Australia

gday mate, ive got an eb2 and just recently had a el box fitted cuz my old one f**k itself lol. but the gearbox fellas just pulled old one out, and bolted new one straight in, no new ecu's or anything as far as i know, and it works like a dream.



ride hard, stay strong

Posted: Fri Feb 23, 2007 10:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1807

Joined: 6th Feb 2006

Location: CENTRAL
VIC, Australia

what the?? stomper you must surely know you will need a TCU to run a 4sp auto in a EA that runs a 5sp manual, it was stated in the SHIFT KITS thread that you started. LOL

Last edited by fastleno on Sun Feb 25, 2007 6:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

Posted: Fri Feb 23, 2007 11:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Age: 29

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images


Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

Its way more work fitting an auto into a manual car. Shifter linkages will be the same. Lots of f**k around with wires and the hole in the transmission tunnel is a different shape as well I think



^^^ What He Said

<a href="" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Posted: Fri Feb 23, 2007 11:26 pm 
Oompa Loompa
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 34

Joined: 29th Apr 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Fairmont Ghia

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

My EA that ran a 4sp auto had it's own computer (sep from the ECU) Track one down - should be worth next to nothing now. I gave mine away and I'm sure others might have one lying around.

(I don't know if the mpfi has a specific computer for auto or manual however)



EF Fairmont Ghia
EA II spac with EF driveline & Interior
Now with head work and wade 1636 cam

Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum



It is currently Sun Oct 23, 2016 2:46 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours



(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names