Fordmods Logo

4 speed auto problems 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: 4 speed auto problems
Posted: Fri May 07, 2010 9:26 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 50

Posts: 259

Joined: 21st Aug 2008

Ride: Fairlane Concorde 4.0

Location: wagga
NSW, Australia

The Fairlane has just started doing a few strange things when changing gears.

1. Slow to change from 1st into 2nd when cold (revs hanging) and jerks when changing.

2. The selector doesn't allow down shifting even though the dash showes me selecting 3rd gear.

3. If I downshift into 2nd the car neutralises and then jumps into gear.

4. A couple of times it appears the box is staying locked in overdrive and just about stalls the engine coming up to a corner or roundabout.

All these symptoms happened at exactly the same time.

 

_________________

NF Fairlane: Non Factory Dual Fuel - New coolant tank, New fuel injectors, New fuel pump, New earth cable, ECU capacitors replaced, New O2 sensor, leads and plugs, New Radiator/Condensor cleaned. 483,000kms. AU I6 Powered. Struts, Shockies, Tie rods and ball joints replaced.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: 4 speed auto problems
Posted: Fri May 07, 2010 10:51 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 365

Joined: 22nd Nov 2007

Ride: FG MK2 XR6T

Location: Bexley, Sydney
NSW, Australia

Have you ever given it a "proper" service? i.e. full flush? This would be the first step.

How many K's on the box?

 

_________________

Formerly LV XR5 Turbo, AU Fairmont Ghia V8 & EBII Fairmont I6.

Now......
Feb 2012 FG MK2 XR6 Turbo
- Manual
- Luxury Pack

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: 4 speed auto problems
Posted: Fri May 07, 2010 7:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 1538

Joined: 4th May 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: ef fairmont turbo

Power: 213 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

sound like the tranny is slipping and going into limp home mode, could be that the whore is on its way or a solenoid.
take it mechanics and they will do a diagnostics check and pinpoint what it is

 

_________________

96 EF FAIRMONT
Garrett gt40turbo, iceman plenum, ported head, turbo cam, double valvesprings, 023 fuel pump, 36lb injectors 4' cat, 4' dump, 2.5 exhaust, build bottom end, hypertonic pistons rods & rods, king bearings, j3. c10 3500 stall
232rwkw@4psi

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: 4 speed auto problems
Posted: Sat May 08, 2010 1:54 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 7029

Joined: 18th Apr 2005

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

Trans oil could be low so top it up to eliminate that scenario.

 

_________________

Mind f**k!!! it works on feeble minded ignorant sheeples... there's plenty of em on this site... some are very intelligent but by god they are so thick!!!

Pakrat wrote:
You can buy them seppertly

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: 4 speed auto problems
Posted: Sat May 08, 2010 2:31 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 807

Joined: 28th Oct 2008

Location: melburn
VIC, Australia

yeah id say you have low tranny fluid.
if you havent done a service or dont remember when or if one has been done, now would be a good time.

 

_________________

XG Panelvan
mild engine, EL ECU & J3, HI6 & MSD coil

in the shed - .595" lift cam, GT4202, forged AU engine, ems 4424 ecu, glide & 5500 stall - next-bellhousing

XH ute daily - DOHC BA XR6 engine, T5, AU3 ECU, J3 chip, wideband & logger, ported BBM, 3" intake

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: 4 speed auto problems
Posted: Sun May 09, 2010 10:47 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 50

Posts: 259

Joined: 21st Aug 2008

Ride: Fairlane Concorde 4.0

Location: wagga
NSW, Australia

The trans had a new filter and was serviced 12 months ago. I have since fitted an AUII donk so torque converter completely emptied during bell housing swap. Box filled with new oil. Oil level checked a number of times and is slightly higher than the marks on the stick.

I thought tranny in limp home mode meant it remainded in 3rd gear and wouldn't lockup. Mine changes thru all gears and does lockup (1800rpm at 100kph). Just doesn't downshift manualy (when selected. Something I would do to take pressure of the brake rotors) and is harsh between 1st and 2nd (especially first thing in the morning).

Car has 460,000 kms on it but it appeared that the box was overhauled/repaired prior to me getting the car. I don't have proof of overhaul but found paintpen on the torque converter with the name of the mob that did it.

 

_________________

NF Fairlane: Non Factory Dual Fuel - New coolant tank, New fuel injectors, New fuel pump, New earth cable, ECU capacitors replaced, New O2 sensor, leads and plugs, New Radiator/Condensor cleaned. 483,000kms. AU I6 Powered. Struts, Shockies, Tie rods and ball joints replaced.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: 4 speed auto problems
Posted: Sun May 09, 2010 11:00 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 52

Posts: 253

Joined: 22nd Mar 2008

Ride: BF F6 Typhoon. XP Van.XF Hearse

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

Have you got a spare box? Swap the neutral start switch over.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: 4 speed auto problems
Posted: Tue May 11, 2010 8:26 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 50

Posts: 259

Joined: 21st Aug 2008

Ride: Fairlane Concorde 4.0

Location: wagga
NSW, Australia

Thanks xpvanman. I don't have a spare switch but I might look at swapping the entire box for an AU one with low kms. Easy swap considering I already have the AU engine fitted. Does the switch you are talking about also control the gearchange (1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th) or is it just the neutral switch? I thought the issue maybe the S5 solenoid in the box. Has anyone had similar symptoms with the S5 solenoid?

 

_________________

NF Fairlane: Non Factory Dual Fuel - New coolant tank, New fuel injectors, New fuel pump, New earth cable, ECU capacitors replaced, New O2 sensor, leads and plugs, New Radiator/Condensor cleaned. 483,000kms. AU I6 Powered. Struts, Shockies, Tie rods and ball joints replaced.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: 4 speed auto problems
Posted: Wed May 12, 2010 8:34 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 52

Posts: 253

Joined: 22nd Mar 2008

Ride: BF F6 Typhoon. XP Van.XF Hearse

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

S5's usually only play up when it is hot - They open circuit & go to max line pressure,Causing hard shifting.

The switch is for neutral/park starting, Rev lights & gear range selection.

A quick test for a faulty switch - If it upshifts when the T-Bar is in manual 1'st = faulty switch
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: 4 speed auto problems
Posted: Thu May 13, 2010 8:12 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 50

Posts: 259

Joined: 21st Aug 2008

Ride: Fairlane Concorde 4.0

Location: wagga
NSW, Australia

Thanks xpvanman. I'll try the first gear selection this arvo on the way home.

 

_________________

NF Fairlane: Non Factory Dual Fuel - New coolant tank, New fuel injectors, New fuel pump, New earth cable, ECU capacitors replaced, New O2 sensor, leads and plugs, New Radiator/Condensor cleaned. 483,000kms. AU I6 Powered. Struts, Shockies, Tie rods and ball joints replaced.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 6:30 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names