Fordmods Logo

6cyl T5 into EF V8 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: 6cyl T5 into EF V8
Posted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 9:32 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 37

Joined: 17th Apr 2006

Ride: EF XR8

Location: GoldCoast
QLD, Australia

Hi all, im thinking of doing the man conversion to my ef and have read a few posts where you can fit the t5 6cyl box if you lengthen the input shaft so 1st question is where? (bris, GC) area and How much would this cost? and 2nd question if both boxes are same wouldn't it be easier and stronger to fit the longer v8 input shaft into the 6cyl box? if at all possible. cheers

 

_________________

Quit complaining cause no one listens

Last edited by EF XR8 on Fri Aug 22, 2008 10:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 9:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 49

Posts: 763

Joined: 5th Nov 2005

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: oberon
NSW, Australia

Not 100% sure but I think the V8 shaft is longer than the 6 shaft any way so same thing.

 

_________________

ef fairmont ghia 5.0L
classy cruiser

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 10:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

revhead wrote:
Not 100% sure but I think the V8 shaft is longer than the 6 shaft any way so same thing.
I thinks thats correct, if so the cheapest way is to get it shortened. The alternative is replacing the input shaft and counter gear which makes it dearer than just buying a I6 T5 to start with. The V8 is no stronger but does have different first gear ratio.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 10:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 49

Posts: 763

Joined: 5th Nov 2005

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: oberon
NSW, Australia

I think he wants to put the I6 box behind the 8 so shaft needs to be longer not shorter.

 

_________________

ef fairmont ghia 5.0L
classy cruiser

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 10:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

revhead wrote:
I think he wants to put the I6 box behind the 8 so shaft needs to be longer not shorter.
Should learn to read the first post fully. That makes it uneconomic in my opinion unless the input shaft is easily lengthened.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 10:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 1160

Joined: 25th Apr 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

see this thread for information about using i6 5 speed behind a V8 http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopi ... highlight=
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 11:11 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 37

Joined: 17th Apr 2006

Ride: EF XR8

Location: GoldCoast
QLD, Australia

thanks for the link damo if i can find someone on the goldcoast/bris to elongate the input shaft at right price has to be an option, heaps more 6cyl boxes laying around than 5ltr ones and cheaper too. will still keep looking for a 5ltr box tho. shame dellows in sydney

 

_________________

Quit complaining cause no one listens

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:27 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names