Fordmods Logo

adjustable shift kit help 

 

Page 2 of 3 [ 36 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

 
Posted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 2:52 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 45

Posts: 48

Joined: 7th Apr 2006

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

RMCprime wrote:
in the diagram are 71 and 81 the pin numbers

also is the ecu found under the kick panel in the passenger footwell.

peyote may i ask how u determined what resistors to and pot yo use

Im gonna do this.


yep 71 & 81 are the pins on the plug that goes to the ECU (behind passanger side kick panel)

my mod
1 resistor 10 watt 18 Ohm
1 pot 15 watt 5 Ohm (goes inbetween pin 81 to variate shift hardness)
on/on switch (standard mode / adjustable shift mode)

the original mod i copyed fromhere
1 resistor 10 watt 18 Ohm
1 resistor 10 watt 5.6 Ohm (goes inbetween pin 81 makes shift harder)
on/on switch (standard mode / adjustable shift mode)

i worked out from reading all the mods on here that the 10watt 5.6 Ohm resistor was what makes it shift harder something to do with a solenoid inside the trans.
and figured if i could get a pot with those spec i'd have an adjustable shift kit
http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopi ... t=shiftkit


fiftyone wrote:
i wasn't 100% sure if that was the way to do it as i thought a higher resistance would give a softer shift. you can turn it on but all the way down right?


yep if i have mine on if i turn it all the way down the shift is as if it was in nornal shift mode


sorry for the late reply
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 5:14 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 43

Joined: 12th Apr 2006

Ride: Ef falcon Gli sedan

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

your version is much more simple

thanx mate
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 5:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

peyote wrote:
i worked out from reading all the mods on here that the 10watt 5.6 Ohm resistor was what makes it shift harder something to do with a solenoid inside the trans.
and figured if i could get a pot with those spec i'd have an adjustable shift kit


Yep. You're changing the power going to the S5 solenoid. Usually, EEC ramps up power just before a shift... this has the effect of reducing line pressure in the box and giving a nice smooth feel.

More power to S5 = lower line pressure = smoother shift.

You're limiting the power EEC can apply to the S5... preventing the line pressure from being reduced.

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 26, 2006 2:56 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 691

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Ride: EFII Sedan

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Isn't the reason for needing 2 resistors so that a) current can be reduced to the solenoid, and b) Current drawn from ecu can be maintained so that it doesn't throw a fault code?

If so, won't adjusting one pot, but not changing the other resistor value cause a code to pop up? Or does everything stay in spec?

 

_________________

EF II Sedan
Ex Chaser, Dual Fuel (Impco LPG)
LSD High, 3.23, Black wheels, other shiny bits.

EB II Sedan <--- R.I.P. (Rest in pieces - gone to the wreckers for $50...... bargain!)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 1:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

ok another question that needs a dam good answer, say i want to use switch as on, off, and LHM. if i have a 3 position switch and put it in the middle to disable the signal, will i need a new gearbox after it explodes or is it safe to use?

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 7:11 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 691

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Ride: EFII Sedan

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I'd recommend against using switches to transfer the main circuit. I would use a switch to turn on a relay that controls the circuit instead. Reason being, switches introduce small timing problems, and its possible that they can be in a neutral position simply by not being switched fully. A relay doesn't have this problem, and switchover time is extremely fast.

The other reason is so you could later put in a controller to turn the relay on based on sudden driving habits. You could have it on gentle shifts as default, then if you floor it and activate, say, a micro connected to the accelerator (or a delta TPS sensor), you could make it switch over to hard shifts automatically.

You could then use a 3 position switch for Off, On, or Auto/Demand :)

Not sure what you're asking about having a neutral position. Why would you want it? I suppose it could act as somewhat of a deterrant for someone who might have just stole your car. Have the immobiliser add another point of immobilisation - If they do manage to hotwire and start it, they have a car that runs like a slug and has bugger all power :P

 

_________________

EF II Sedan
Ex Chaser, Dual Fuel (Impco LPG)
LSD High, 3.23, Black wheels, other shiny bits.

EB II Sedan <--- R.I.P. (Rest in pieces - gone to the wreckers for $50...... bargain!)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 11:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

actually got energetic today and installed mine. had a few teathing problems but works ok. a firmer shift but no tyre squeal like promised.

and i did try the fully off position, sends ecu to LHM and is a pig to drive. other than that it'll deffinately improve 1/4 times

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 30, 2006 7:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 887

Joined: 8th Aug 2006

Ride: Falcon

Location: Central Highlands
QLD, Australia

fiftyone wrote:
actually got energetic today and installed mine. had a few teathing problems but works ok. a firmer shift but no tyre squeal like promised.

and i did try the fully off position, sends ecu to LHM and is a pig to drive. other than that it'll deffinately improve 1/4 times


I will be getting a stage 1 shift kit from shiftkits.com in the next few days. I'll let you know how it goes.

I know these ones don't let the car go in limp home mode. By using a parallel resistor combo or something similar in there little sealed black box. So the ecu doesn't know any different.


Stage 1 was $70 plus $15 postage.


Cheers..........

 

_________________

97 EL Fairmont 4l OHC .Silver.
Exhaust: Pacemaker's, 2.5" exhaust and Hiflow cat
Intake: FRAM AIRHOG , EL GT snorkel
XR6 300kpa fuel reg Stg 2 Auto Shift Kit.6DJA ECU
PM in Qld looking too buy Toyota 4*4 SR5 Dualcab Hilux 91-97 with 2.8l diesel engine/5spd manual

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 30, 2006 8:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

i could make a stage 1 kit for you for $20 no postage. got mine working, i can use LHM for an added security feature, plus mines adjustable for an extra $5. the stage 3 from shiftkits about $150 or something!

crazy

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 30, 2006 9:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 887

Joined: 8th Aug 2006

Ride: Falcon

Location: Central Highlands
QLD, Australia

That limp home mode idea for security is a good one.

A mate of mine had a VC commodore with a completlty f*cked auto box. It got stolen from a shopping centre and the thief must have got the s**t with it because he parked it up the road 1 km away still with half a tank of gas in it.

 

_________________

97 EL Fairmont 4l OHC .Silver.
Exhaust: Pacemaker's, 2.5" exhaust and Hiflow cat
Intake: FRAM AIRHOG , EL GT snorkel
XR6 300kpa fuel reg Stg 2 Auto Shift Kit.6DJA ECU
PM in Qld looking too buy Toyota 4*4 SR5 Dualcab Hilux 91-97 with 2.8l diesel engine/5spd manual

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 30, 2006 9:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

yeah i know, unfortunetly you can still drive it, and if you've stolen a car and it doesn't start. Wouldn't your first reaction be to look for a stall switch?

i have a way around that anyway, take the heating coil out of the lighter and have it click in to compleate the starter motor circut

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: adjustable shift kit help
Posted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 10:28 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 18

Joined: 9th Nov 2008

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

any more specifics on the pot you used for the adjustable shift kit? i went to jaycar today and they didnt have anything 5ohm- 50 ohm, yes but nothing as low as 5 ohm.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: adjustable shift kit help
Posted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 2:52 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 311

Joined: 10th May 2005

Ride: ebxr8

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

el__fairmont how did you go with your shift kit from shiftkit.com any good?


Greg

 

_________________

347, crane cam, Pro topline 180 heads, Edelbrock victor efi intake, 80mm C&L maf, 75mm tb, 30lb injectors and 1/4 horse

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: adjustable shift kit help
Posted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 3:23 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 40

Joined: 30th Oct 2008

Ride: ed futura classic straight gas

Location: sunny carrum downs
VIC, Australia

i went out and got the stage 2 kit from shiftkits.com and its good fun chirps 2nd, it gets turned off in the wet found myself in some tight spots before because of it. all in all i love it when the sequential shifter goes in it should be even better.

 

_________________

gas is not only for BBQ's
ed build in progress
351 stroker 12.5:1 comp straight gas
3.9:1 diff gears and various other mods

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: adjustable shift kit help
Posted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 7:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 807

Joined: 28th Oct 2008

Location: melburn
VIC, Australia

phillis wrote:
any more specifics on the pot you used for the adjustable shift kit? i went to jaycar today and they didnt have anything 5ohm- 50 ohm, yes but nothing as low as 5 ohm.


for those interested

the 5ohm 15watt pot is CAT. NO. RP3975 and is $12.95

 

_________________

XG Panelvan
mild engine, EL ECU & J3, HI6 & MSD coil

in the shed - .595" lift cam, GT4202, forged AU engine, ems 4424 ecu, glide & 5500 stall - next-bellhousing

XH ute daily - DOHC BA XR6 engine, T5, AU3 ECU, J3 chip, wideband & logger, ported BBM, 3" intake

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 3  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 6:08 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names