Fordmods Logo

Auto kick down mod?? 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 24 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
Posted: Sun Sep 11, 2005 11:23 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Oh, if you want to test this, pull the 'INST-BATT' fuse.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 11, 2005 11:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1960

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 22 images

Power: 315 rwkw

Location: Under the flight path of incoming packpackers
NSW, Australia

I'll give it a go... the speedo stops working too?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 11, 2005 11:50 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

if you take the fus eout yeah, the whole cluster dies. But it's just for testing, if you're happy with the result. Next step is to find the speedo signal wire to the ECU, then add a switch to it so you can turn it off/on at will.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 12, 2005 12:01 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1960

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 22 images

Power: 315 rwkw

Location: Under the flight path of incoming packpackers
NSW, Australia

Is there a way to get speed signal to the instruments and not to the ecu?

I'll have to noodle this one
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 12, 2005 12:12 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3184

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

i know on the EF, assuming simialr for EB/D, that the speedo sender cable runs from gear box --> cluster as a pulse, then from cluster --> ECU as a data signal

dont quote me one hundred percent, i think i found that in the docos section

 

_________________

Nicco's M112 Blown, T-56 equipped EF
forums/viewtopic.php?t=68319

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 12, 2005 1:46 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 695

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: 2008 WQ Fiesta XR4

Location: Adelaide.
SA, Australia

Does your Wolf ECU use the TPS signal? If not, you could try fiddling with that as the trans gets its WOT signal from it.

 

_________________

2008 WQ Fiesta XR4
2007 LS Focus CL

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 12, 2005 2:51 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

since you're running a wolf, what runs your trans? the wolf or the stock ECU? If it's the stock ECU, you could just install the switch in the data line between cluster and stock ECU. Does the wolf need a speed signal too? If so you could keep it as long as the trans is being run by the stock EEC.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 12, 2005 3:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

I assume wolf i susing TPS for throttle enrichment settings??

Seeing as EEC doesnt control engine now, i'd try putting a switch in the VSS signal line. I've got on on mine which interupts the VSS signal going to the TCM. With the signal cut, the box doesnt change up or down without moving the selector. However it also locks out overdrive for some reason. So with no VSS going to the TCM, i have manual control over 1 2 and 3... but no 4.

Might be worth a try??

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 12, 2005 3:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1960

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 22 images

Power: 315 rwkw

Location: Under the flight path of incoming packpackers
NSW, Australia

Sounds exactly what Im after... just want to hold it in 2nd or 3rd on hard runs so no 4th needed.

Wolf is running MAP sensor only, stock ecu is there for auto ( and as a decoy :wink: )

Thanks guys, I'll do this in a few days
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 12:53 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names