Fordmods Logo

Ba 4 Speed Auto to Zf 6 Speed box 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Ba 4 Speed Auto to Zf 6 Speed box
Posted: Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:07 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 84

Joined: 30th Dec 2010

Ride: BA Xr6

Location: Emerald
QLD, Australia

hey guys i am new to fordmods and have been browsing through the forums looking for a similar topic to this one with no success so here goes.
Wondering what needs to be done to swap out the old BA 4 speed to the zf 6 speed will the housing fit into a BA? does it need any special sort of computer to run? will the computer recognize 6 gears in cruise control? and any other general problems? love to hear back :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Ba 4 Speed Auto to Zf 6 Speed box
Posted: Sat Jan 01, 2011 10:00 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 36

Joined: 2nd May 2010

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford BA XR6

Location: Penrith Area
NSW, Australia

I am interested in the same conversion. I have read on the forum somewhere that for some reason the conversion is not (a)easy and (b)economical. it was said that if you wanted a manual instead of an auto...then sell the auto and buy a manual. I don't know about you Coreys0, but i don't want to sell a great car just to get a manual one. Needless to say if you here of how the conversion is done please PM me.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Ba 4 Speed Auto to Zf 6 Speed box
Posted: Sat Jan 01, 2011 11:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 26

Posts: 482

Joined: 9th Apr 2010

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 1993 Ford Fairlane

Location: Warrnambool
VIC, Australia

unforgiven wrote:
I am interested in the same conversion. I have read on the forum somewhere that for some reason the conversion is not (a)easy and (b)economical. it was said that if you wanted a manual instead of an auto...then sell the auto and buy a manual. I don't know about you Coreys0, but i don't want to sell a great car just to get a manual one. Needless to say if you here of how the conversion is done please PM me.


he isnt asking about a auto-manual conversion
hes wondering about 4 speed auto to 6 speed auto from a later model

 

_________________

1993 NCII Fairlane
Mods to come:
V8 - SLs - exhaust - DC LTD leather - LTD grill and garnish - LTD wood grain - body colour trim - wheels - tinted windows

1991 NCI Fairlane
Mods to come:
4.0L - lows - exhaust - NCII seats - NCII door trims - LTD grill - body colour trim - wheels - window tint

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Ba 4 Speed Auto to Zf 6 Speed box
Posted: Sun Jan 02, 2011 1:31 am 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

I only know of it being done once.

FTG Salvage in Melb, put a full BF F6 driveline into a BA wagon. Heard it wasn't easy (required trans tunnel changes).

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Ba 4 Speed Auto to Zf 6 Speed box
Posted: Sun Jan 02, 2011 10:38 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 84

Joined: 30th Dec 2010

Ride: BA Xr6

Location: Emerald
QLD, Australia

Yea i had an idea it wouldnt be easy.. Oh well ill start looking around see what prices i could get the bits of the driveline for thanks for your help data
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Ba 4 Speed Auto to Zf 6 Speed box
Posted: Sun Jan 02, 2011 11:11 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 36

Joined: 2nd May 2010

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford BA XR6

Location: Penrith Area
NSW, Australia

unforgiven wrote:
he isnt asking about a auto-manual conversion
hes wondering about 4 speed auto to 6 speed auto from a later model


Whoops - my bad... :oops:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Ba 4 Speed Auto to Zf 6 Speed box
Posted: Sun Jan 02, 2011 11:42 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 450

Joined: 24th Jan 2009

Ride: BF wagon

Location: western sydney
NSW, Australia

if you can get it to fit, will also need the BF's 6 speed ECU , wiring , shifter , tailshaft , diff centre.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Ba 4 Speed Auto to Zf 6 Speed box
Posted: Sun Jan 02, 2011 12:53 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Coreys0 wrote:
Yea i had an idea it wouldnt be easy.. Oh well ill start looking around see what prices i could get the bits of the driveline for thanks for your help data


I reckon it'd probably be cheaper to trade in your BA on a higher model BF.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Ba 4 Speed Auto to Zf 6 Speed box
Posted: Mon Jan 03, 2011 4:03 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 181

Joined: 10th Apr 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: XR6 Turbo, EF 5.0L V8 Turbo

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

a fair few people have done it.. pretty much need the entire electronics out of a bf and then the gbox, tailshaft diff etc etc. Best way to do it would be buy a smashed bf from the auctions, sell all the bits you dont need and do the swap.
i wouldn't mind doing it one day too.

 

_________________

EF V8T 11.54 @118mph

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Ba 4 Speed Auto to Zf 6 Speed box
Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 6:02 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 115

Joined: 20th Jun 2005

Ride: ed xr6 with bf turbo everything

Location: perth
WA, Australia

a very important note to take.
the zf gearbox is linked in a special way to the computer (pcm) it came with.
if you get the box without this it will require someone from ford or someone who knows how to reset the zf and pair it with the new pcm. the problem is that the software that ford uses to do this is updated on a monthly basis and few of the staff actually know what to do when it comes to pairing a zf with a different pcm, because this isnt really taught to many people at ford (not common protocall). but it can be done...
my advice is if you buy a zf 6spd make sure you get the pcm that its paired to aswell, it would definately be the easier option.

i had to find out the hard way :D

hope that helps anyone looking to do this conversion..

cheers Jesse

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Ba 4 Speed Auto to Zf 6 Speed box
Posted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 6:14 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 6

Joined: 9th Nov 2016

Ride: Ford BA Futura

I was told all you would need is a new dash loom and engine loom, according to a seller on eBay. I'm interested to see if that's true.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Ba 4 Speed Auto to Zf 6 Speed box
Posted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 6:15 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 6

Joined: 9th Nov 2016

Ride: Ford BA Futura

I was told all you would need is a new dash loom and engine loom, according to a seller on eBay. I'm interested to see if that's true.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Ba 4 Speed Auto to Zf 6 Speed box
Posted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 4:18 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 322

Joined: 24th Jun 2014

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Location: Jamestown
SA, Australia

CrazyWolf19 wrote:
I was told all you would need is a new dash loom and engine loom, according to a seller on eBay. I'm interested to see if that's true.



You would need to change the dash loom, the H looms under the seats to suit the 6 speed shifter wiring so SSS works, the airbag module would need changing to suit the dash loom as a few of the power pins were different setup. PCM/ECU (whatever you want to call it) will need changing to siut the ZF Box, Engine bay looms would need changing to suit the PCM as a few wires were different locations, the loom on the engine would need changing to add the 2nd knock sensor the BF used and have all the required wires going down to the box ABS unit would need to be changed to suit the BF pcm some of the Brake lines would need changing or Massaging to make fit exhaust would need the 2nd O2 sensor added.
I may have missed something that needs changing been awhile since i investigated the idea of doing this.
The only original modules left in your car would be the ICC and BCM. Even the Cluster needs changing to suit the rest of the BF gear because of a firmware change

Then as stated above you would need the tailshaft to suit the ZF, you would need the BA style center bearing put onto it as BF had a narrower tunnel, so the bearing mount was smaller.

Lots of work
Seller on Ebay is wrong you need to change just about every loom in the car the only originals you would be left with is the looms in the Roof doors and boot.

 

_________________

Current Ride
BA XR6 Turbo, P3 Paint, BP Trim, Fully Stock Mods to Come!
1996 EF Falcon furura, White.
BA XR6 , P3 Paint, BG Trim, !
1995 EF XR6 The newest member of my ford family!

BLUE BLOOD
Previous Rides
1997 EL Falcon
1980 Ford Escort

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Ba 4 Speed Auto to Zf 6 Speed box
Posted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 1:05 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 6

Joined: 9th Nov 2016

Ride: Ford BA Futura

Robert_au wrote:
CrazyWolf19 wrote:
I was told all you would need is a new dash loom and engine loom, according to a seller on eBay. I'm interested to see if that's true.



You would need to change the dash loom, the H looms under the seats to suit the 6 speed shifter wiring so SSS works, the airbag module would need changing to suit the dash loom as a few of the power pins were different setup. PCM/ECU (whatever you want to call it) will need changing to siut the ZF Box, Engine bay looms would need changing to suit the PCM as a few wires were different locations, the loom on the engine would need changing to add the 2nd knock sensor the BF used and have all the required wires going down to the box ABS unit would need to be changed to suit the BF pcm some of the Brake lines would need changing or Massaging to make fit exhaust would need the 2nd O2 sensor added.
I may have missed something that needs changing been awhile since i investigated the idea of doing this.
The only original modules left in your car would be the ICC and BCM. Even the Cluster needs changing to suit the rest of the BF gear because of a firmware change

Then as stated above you would need the tailshaft to suit the ZF, you would need the BA style center bearing put onto it as BF had a narrower tunnel, so the bearing mount was smaller.

Lots of work
Seller on Ebay is wrong you need to change just about every loom in the car the only originals you would be left with is the looms in the Roof doors and boot.



F**k...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Ba 4 Speed Auto to Zf 6 Speed box
Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 1:24 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 72

Joined: 28th Dec 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

CrazyWolf19 wrote:
Robert_au wrote:
CrazyWolf19 wrote:
I was told all you would need is a new dash loom and engine loom, according to a seller on eBay. I'm interested to see if that's true.



You would need to change the dash loom, the H looms under the seats to suit the 6 speed shifter wiring so SSS works, the airbag module would need changing to suit the dash loom as a few of the power pins were different setup. PCM/ECU (whatever you want to call it) will need changing to siut the ZF Box, Engine bay looms would need changing to suit the PCM as a few wires were different locations, the loom on the engine would need changing to add the 2nd knock sensor the BF used and have all the required wires going down to the box ABS unit would need to be changed to suit the BF pcm some of the Brake lines would need changing or Massaging to make fit exhaust would need the 2nd O2 sensor added.
I may have missed something that needs changing been awhile since i investigated the idea of doing this.
The only original modules left in your car would be the ICC and BCM. Even the Cluster needs changing to suit the rest of the BF gear because of a firmware change

Then as stated above you would need the tailshaft to suit the ZF, you would need the BA style center bearing put onto it as BF had a narrower tunnel, so the bearing mount was smaller.

Lots of work
Seller on Ebay is wrong you need to change just about every loom in the car the only originals you would be left with is the looms in the Roof doors and boot.



F**k...

The 4 speed H loom can be modified for the 6 speed shifter my brother had a BF XR8 with a ZF 6 speed there was a fire under the car (idiot left car running parked on a pile of leaves) the H loom needed to be swapped out they used a BA Fairmont loom for a donor re using 6 speeds original connector. one thing to watch the power feed is taken from the power window power feed (As original in BF) there are two of these running thru H loom so be careful to use the one feeding the passenger door and not the rear doors as the isolation shift will cut power to T - Bar as well as rear windows.

The ZF transmissions controller is located in the transmission I am not sure how much of the engine bay loom you will need. The hand thing with BA/BF you should be able to replace the engine loom with out gutting the entire wiring loom. This was a pain in earlier models.

 

_________________

Factory Specifications are Optional

1988 EA Fairmont Ghia Retired after 11yrs
1999 AU Fairmont Written off :(
2003 BA XR6 Written off :(
2001 AU Falcon - Run around
2005 SY Territory Ghia

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 15 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 9:31 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names