Fordmods Logo

BA auto Transmission into E series 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 25 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: BA auto Transmission into E series
Posted: Thu Jan 24, 2008 9:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

I have got a BA 4 speed Auto box from a turbo XR6 UTE which I am planning to install into my EF to bring it back from Manual to Auto. My research leads me to believe that it is going to bolt up to my AU motor and also my EF Tailshaft. Being a UTE box I am also led to believe it has provision for the speedo sender. I am seeking reasurance from the E series BA motor conversion people on the tailshaft and box length.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1001

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 19 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Power: 132 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

get a tape measure out and see.
probably will bolt up fine but you might have electrical issues.

then again I was told an EA manual pedal box and gearbox wouldnt fit an ef so anythings possible mate.

 

_________________

175.7hp 15.5 @ 374,000km
Team I have two E-Series AND all my teeth.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

samftr wrote:
get a tape measure out and see.
probably will bolt up fine but you might have electrical issues.

then again I was told an EA manual pedal box and gearbox wouldnt fit an ef so anythings possible mate.
Don't have the box here at the moment I am looking for a courier to get it here from SA.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1001

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 19 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Power: 132 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

did you chuck the VCT in your beast too did ya, that would have been fun. Well the BA Manual transmission vs the ba auto transmission one is longer than the other.
I had two different tailshafts for the car, I only got the auto one left at the moment.
I could measure up the EL box so you got some Idea, were also pulling out the 5 speed from the BA on the weekend so might be able to get some measurements tomorrow man.
:)

 

_________________

175.7hp 15.5 @ 374,000km
Team I have two E-Series AND all my teeth.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 24, 2008 11:42 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 239

Joined: 20th Jan 2007

Ride: Custom Bedford, 79 Firebird

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

the BA manual box is approx 100mm longer than the auto.. I had to get my tailshaft cut to suit the gearbox because the conversion came from a ute..

Does the radiator in your car have provisions for the transmission cooler pipes? If not you may need a BA radiator, unless yu plan to bypass the radiator with an external trans cooler..

Also I'm pretty sure (can't be bothered looking it up at this stage) the XR6T auto has different ratios to the I6/XR6s just like the manuals.. Eg. you will have very little acceleration in first(unless you have a turbo) and the second,3rd,4th will be similar to the I6..

Good luck!

Happy Motoring

 

_________________

Wrecking BA lots of parts available Pictures and prices here
3 Decks with stackers PRICE DROP

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 6:49 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

samftr wrote:
did you chuck the VCT in your beast too did ya, that would have been fun. Well the BA Manual transmission vs the ba auto transmission one is longer than the other.
I had two different tailshafts for the car, I only got the auto one left at the moment.
I could measure up the EL box so you got some Idea, were also pulling out the 5 speed from the BA on the weekend so might be able to get some measurements tomorrow man.
:)
If you could measure the EL Auto box bellhousing to extension shaft length that would be great. The VCT conversion is easy just hard to get the parts..

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 6:53 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

MaTTeB wrote:
the BA manual box is approx 100mm longer than the auto.. I had to get my tailshaft cut to suit the gearbox because the conversion came from a ute..

Does the radiator in your car have provisions for the transmission cooler pipes? If not you may need a BA radiator, unless yu plan to bypass the radiator with an external trans cooler..

Also I'm pretty sure (can't be bothered looking it up at this stage) the XR6T auto has different ratios to the I6/XR6s just like the manuals.. Eg. you will have very little acceleration in first(unless you have a turbo) and the second,3rd,4th will be similar to the I6..

Good luck!

Happy Motoring
The car has an Auto radiator in it as it was originally an Auto. BA ratios are different in first and second to all before by around 2-5 % lower, is the XR6T different again? If so I had not bargained on that. The ratios I have is First 2.5:1 against 2.39 for E/A series and Second 1.49:1 against 1.45 of E/A series Third and Top the same.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 5:37 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 239

Joined: 20th Jan 2007

Ride: Custom Bedford, 79 Firebird

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I'll look up the ratios for you when I get home..

Do the cooler lines hook up to the right hand side(drivers side) on the radiator you have, I would guess they'll be similar, but haven't messed around with an E series for quite a while now.. My knowledge on them is starting to be overshadowed by the B series..

I'll get back to you soon..

 

_________________

Wrecking BA lots of parts available Pictures and prices here
3 Decks with stackers PRICE DROP

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 10:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

MaTTeB wrote:
I'll look up the ratios for you when I get home..

Do the cooler lines hook up to the right hand side(drivers side) on the radiator you have, I would guess they'll be similar, but haven't messed around with an E series for quite a while now.. My knowledge on them is starting to be overshadowed by the B series..

I'll get back to you soon..
Thanks for that, yes the lines do connect on the RHS.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 10:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1001

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 19 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Power: 132 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

i can get a vct complete setup for 1grand :) is that a good price?

I had to buy a yard basher today and do some mowing ;)
so this weekend sometime Ill get you those measurements mate.

hows it go with teh manual the vct setup

 

_________________

175.7hp 15.5 @ 374,000km
Team I have two E-Series AND all my teeth.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 10:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

samftr wrote:
i can get a vct complete setup for 1grand :) is that a good price?

I had to buy a yard basher today and do some mowing ;)
so this weekend sometime Ill get you those measurements mate.

hows it go with teh manual the vct setup
I have a complete conversion if you are interested. The manual is fantastic with the VCT but the wife says it has to go....

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 10:44 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

umm the ba XR6T box wont have the speedo sensor output in it, as its only XL/XLS utes that dont have ABS
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 10:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1001

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 19 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Power: 132 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

just change the extention housing ;)
first check if there is provision for the drive in the spline but
how much for teh vct setup k's etc

 

_________________

175.7hp 15.5 @ 374,000km
Team I have two E-Series AND all my teeth.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 10:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

xpression wrote:
umm the ba XR6T box wont have the speedo sensor output in it, as its only XL/XLS utes that dont have ABS
Thanks for that, that now means I need to remove the extension housing and mount the bits and drill out the casing , not a biggie.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 25, 2008 10:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

samftr wrote:
just change the extention housing ;)
first check if there is provision for the drive in the spline but
how much for teh vct setup k's etc
PM on the way

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 1:20 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names