Fordmods Logo

BA Gearbox Mount 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: BA Gearbox Mount
Posted: Sun Oct 13, 2013 4:51 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 324

Joined: 23rd Apr 2006

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: EF II TickMont, BA XR6T

Location: Adelaide - Whyalla
SA, Australia

hey all,

I am getting a shudder / vibration at idle in my ba xr6t and it says to me in the max ellerys book that check the flexi plate bolts and rear gearbox mount

bolts are torqued up to correct tension but im a little suspicious on the rear mount
with my prybar I can easily move the the gearbox up and down side to side,
there is no cracks in the rubber, ive had the car for over 3 years and lived on dirt roads so its possibly made the rubber soft from constant flexing

anyone able to give me some insight into if these rubbers are supposed to be pretty firm??

cheers for your time

 

_________________

Current Ride - Phantom BA XR6 Turbo
EF II Fairmont Tickford Optioned, J3 Chip, Converted To 5 Speed
R.I.P. Nelly .... My NL V8 Fairlane..... Totaled by a kombivan

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Gearbox Mount
Posted: Sun Oct 13, 2013 4:58 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

Should be some play but still should not be "easy" to move around.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Gearbox Mount
Posted: Sun Oct 13, 2013 5:13 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2752

Joined: 22nd Jan 2009

Ride: '91 EB Wagoon

Location: Geeelong
VIC, Australia

SWC wrote:
Should be some play but still should not be "easy" to move around.



+1

maybe actually remove said mount so ya canna see if it still is one piece ?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Gearbox Mount
Posted: Sun Oct 13, 2013 5:32 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

Mad2 wrote:
SWC wrote:
Should be some play but still should not be "easy" to move around.



+1

maybe actually remove said mount so ya canna see if it still is one piece ?


+1

Had a mount on the wagon that was spongy but looked OK, when we dropped it out, that is exactly what happened, :D , 2 pieces.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Gearbox Mount
Posted: Sun Oct 13, 2013 5:34 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 324

Joined: 23rd Apr 2006

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: EF II TickMont, BA XR6T

Location: Adelaide - Whyalla
SA, Australia

the mount is in once piece, just seemed odd to me being so loose with no splits
just seeking advice on if it is supposed to be pretty firm
I can move the box with my bare hands about the same as with the pry bar with little force needed

 

_________________

Current Ride - Phantom BA XR6 Turbo
EF II Fairmont Tickford Optioned, J3 Chip, Converted To 5 Speed
R.I.P. Nelly .... My NL V8 Fairlane..... Totaled by a kombivan

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Gearbox Mount
Posted: Sun Oct 13, 2013 5:41 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2752

Joined: 22nd Jan 2009

Ride: '91 EB Wagoon

Location: Geeelong
VIC, Australia

i dunno about the 'newer' cars ... but in the 'olds' if it was as loose as ya say - it's F**k
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Gearbox Mount
Posted: Sun Oct 13, 2013 5:48 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 324

Joined: 23rd Apr 2006

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: EF II TickMont, BA XR6T

Location: Adelaide - Whyalla
SA, Australia

thanks for the advice, it just doesn't seem right

ill order one in the morning and hopefully that's it

 

_________________

Current Ride - Phantom BA XR6 Turbo
EF II Fairmont Tickford Optioned, J3 Chip, Converted To 5 Speed
R.I.P. Nelly .... My NL V8 Fairlane..... Totaled by a kombivan

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Gearbox Mount
Posted: Sun Oct 13, 2013 7:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

Those mounts are soft...silicone oil filled....absorb NVH.
Check the engine mounts.....a mate had a Territory doing the same thing....replaced engine mounts, all fixed.
Just a thought.

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 2:34 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names