Fordmods Logo

BA Shifter install costs (for everyone interested) 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 22 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
Posted: Fri May 20, 2005 10:04 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

The shifter is very easy to install with a small amount of trans tunnel cutting needed, the centre console needs to me retrimmed with an add on bit to get everything looking right, the electronics is a straight wire in, the bracket is not hard to make, once I get mine swapped for a better bracket I can give some good diagrams ith dimensions on what is needed.

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 20, 2005 2:24 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 174

Joined: 9th May 2005

Ride: BF Fairmont

Location: Gippsland
VIC, Australia

lol yeah right the bracket isn't hard to make! :lol: (I'm the guy with the EB V8 who has also installed one)

I agree with everything Dellboy says about the fitting of the shifter & wiring up the electrics, all that is pretty easy. I just can't get the damn bracket 100%! Then again I've been inundated with uni + work lately so I haven't touched it...

I'm in the process of compiling a report regarding fitting the shifter up, but am holding off uploading this report until I can ace the bracket part (yes Dellboy, I *will* meet up with you in Melbourne one day! Maybe on the June 12 E-Series I could jack up your car and have a looksee).

Currently the report is 25 pages long (about 15-20 of these are photos & diagrams though)

My shifter setup isn't cosmetically complete, but I am taking a different route to Dellboy and am making a manual-style gearboot to cover up the butchered console face. Mr Hacksaw was used quite a bit (most of it was hidden butchering though, on the underside of the console) :shock:

Also, I'm hoping to fit up a two-stage shift kit this weekend if I get the time. I've got the three resistors required, a project box, and a switch, but I'll need to grab some 10W rated wire (something like that anyhoo) so I can choose where the switch goes. A shift kit (for the V8 Falcons) works perfectly with the BA shifter's electronic mods, as the wires that are tapped into are independent of each other (no wires are shared by both mods)

I'm quite happy with how the BA tiptronic works, and although the actual gear changes are a little slow in tiptronic mode (considerable lag), the shift kit should fix this right up! To give an indication of the lag, I went to the Bairnsdale Drags recently, and when I was shifting at 5200rpm, it would actually change gears at 5800rpm. I hit 6 grand a couple of times (whoops!) on some "late" (5500rpm) shifts, so I'm looking forward to rectifying this.

Cheers

-Dave-

PS Although I said the installation was "easy", I couldn't have done it without Dellboy or Muzza (I'm assuming that's him!), they are true innovators when it comes to modifications!

 

_________________

EB Ghia Leather interior & more - CLICK HERE

Lightning Strike '06 BF Fairmont - powered by ICOM JTG

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 20, 2005 2:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 2215

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 17 images

Ride: Oettinger Golf GTI

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

big warning to all of you guys with electronic shiftkits and solenoid'd ones

You SHOULD and its a definate MUST to have a Transmision Cooler as you are putting through a lot more hardship then it normally goes through and you will kill that box very quickly.

And more of al im sure hardly ANYONE actually gets their gearbox's serviced often enough IF at all.

On the note of the ba shifter, it'd be nicer/classier to get a au tiptronic wheel and connect it to that without having omething "stand out" like a blackman in china!

eg Image
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 20, 2005 2:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Yes it would be nice, but would require steering rack changes, column changes and alot of other things, but otherwise could be good :)

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 20, 2005 3:06 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 174

Joined: 9th May 2005

Ride: BF Fairmont

Location: Gippsland
VIC, Australia

Yep, a tranny cooler is planned in the near future. I'll only be using my shift kit at the lights or at the drags, normal everyday driving in D will have the shift kit switched off. Also, since the kit will be dual stage, I'll have a "soft" setting for driving along windy roads (using a 22 ohm resistor), and a "hard" setting for 1/4 miles (using an 18 ohm resistor).

As for heat issues, I would've thought a shift kit would alleviate some of this heat, due to less time taken between gears, meaning less friction, meaning less heat, meaning less wear.

I'll stick with my standard wheel ;) A little silver knob sticks out less than a steering wheel (although having the gears at your fingertips is a pretty cool idea)

I aim to service my box annually, and had it done 3 months ago. It's 300,000km old and not overhauled, but with the last checkup it was noted that it is in excellent condition 8-)

A small stally (2000-2500rpm?) might be in the woodwork too... But I won't get a stally until I change the diff gears to 3.73 ratio

-Dave-

 

_________________

EB Ghia Leather interior & more - CLICK HERE

Lightning Strike '06 BF Fairmont - powered by ICOM JTG

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 20, 2005 3:07 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5858

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: '95 EF's

Location: Leederville
WA, Australia

just a thought - in regards to having the digital display for what gear you're in - would it be worth looking at fitting a high-series NF/NL cluster? they have the 'P R N D 3 2 1' in between the speedo & rev gauges... its updated from the ECU every half second or so from memory :?

anyways, even though i know jack s**t about this stuff, i thought i'd throw my 2c in!

 

_________________

R.I.P. Scotty

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 20, 2005 3:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I am getting hold of another digi dash and will be adding the gear display between the tacho and the digi speedo.

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: phongus and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 12:07 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names