Fordmods Logo

Best option for upgrading/updating EF V8 auto?? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Best option for upgrading/updating EF V8 auto??
Posted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 8:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 504

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EFII Ghia 5Ltr

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

As above... The old slush box in my modded 5.0L is starting to show signs that it wasn't designed to handle a little extra grunt so I'm looking to update or upgrade... Taking into account that I don't won't a manual (dodgy left knee), what is my best option?

6 spd auto from BF? (severe wiring issues? cost?)
Other auto from other model/brand? (wiring, cost)
Upgrade existing box with better internals? (reputable shop? cost?)

 

_________________

Have YOU driven a monster truck lately??

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 9:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 425

Joined: 1st Dec 2004

Location: Noble Park
VIC, Australia

whats wrong with your box? mines handling the power pretty well i think, changed the fluid a few months ago. although it does jump into 2nd pretty harsh sometimes with the shift kit off.
does anyone know wat the btr boxes can handle power wise?
are we able to put some of the ba turbo box parts into the btr? i woulda thought the turbo autos would be stronger.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 1:24 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1037

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: V8 T5 Fairmont & BA XR6T

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

with your box jumping hard in to 2nd, try recalibrating your TPS as your ECU references this when it changes and varies your ramps according to TP.

 

_________________

Dima, Mitch & Jay's RPD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 1:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 504

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EFII Ghia 5Ltr

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

It's just starting to feel "slushy". Gear changes are no longer crisp and it really bangs into 2nd. What's the procedure for recalibrating the TPS?

 

_________________

Have YOU driven a monster truck lately??

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 2:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 425

Joined: 1st Dec 2004

Location: Noble Park
VIC, Australia

yeh, how do u recalibrate ur tps? i dont really wana muck around with anything as my car is running sweet now.
i reakon u should stick with the ur auto box and just look at replacing the weak parts in it - bands etc, maybe cheaper & easier to do unless u are planning on more power?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 2:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 3763

Joined: 25th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EFII 5.8 NOS TerroristGhia

Power: 274 rwkw

Location: Sydney Australia
NSW, Australia

Call Joe at Crescent,(02 96006229) he built my auto. Pity you are in Vic, as he was pretty good with the price. I would probably look at a larger cooler for the auto, and repair/replace any necessary parts on the stocker box

 

_________________

The Terrorist ED Retired due to RUST.
The TerrosistGhia, EF Ghia 351 EFI 5 Speed.
Millennium Falcon, Sleeper EL DOHC 6 Speed Manual EFI LPG
Member#1131
I didn't Vote for Multiculturalism, DID YOU!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 10:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 504

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EFII Ghia 5Ltr

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Pretty sure that'll be the road I go down, it's the logical one after all, but it would still be really nice to just bolt up a BF 6 speed and drive off sideways into the sunset...

 

_________________

Have YOU driven a monster truck lately??

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 17, 2006 9:08 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 132

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF Fairmont 5.0

Location: Adelaide, SA
SA, Australia

BTR's can handle heaps of power, I haven't seen many break due to excessive power, they still last behind worked XR6T's. The problem is maitanence and cooling. Fitting a big cooler (at least A4 size) will help them survive. With a rebuild and a re-calibrated TCU they would be a great box, but Ford's programming (if you can call it that) and (to a lesser extent) BTRE's QA inconsistancies let it down.

DTM Race Transmissions in Geelong know a bit about BTR's, and will do a rebuild capable of handling 600+ BHP for under $3000.

Unfortunately a ZF 6HP26 won't fit in an E-Series without a bigger trans tunnel. You'd also need to make a TCU and program it to work the ZF, which would be a bit of work.

To calibrate the TPS, get a multimeter, and with the ignition turned on, probe the 2 outside wires (I think, theres 3 all up) and check the idle voltage is under 1v. If not, loosen the TPS's and move them around until it is, you might need to bore the holes out on the 2 TPS's to get the voltage right.

Also, doing an ECU diagnostic test may tell you if there is a problem with the trans.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 12:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3184

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

I thought to re calibrate the TPS you had to:

Have engine running
Turn off air con
Leave car in drive
Sit with no throttle for 1 minute
Turn car off to ACC
Leave car in drive still
Sit with full throttle for 1 minute.
Turn car right off.

I was always under the impression that this just helped the ECU by showing it no throttle and WOT.

 

_________________

Nicco's M112 Blown, T-56 equipped EF
forums/viewtopic.php?t=68319

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 12:44 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 291

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EL GT - T2 TS50

Location: Cairns
QLD, Australia

nicco wrote:
Sit with full throttle for 1 minute.


how the hell would you do that?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 7:09 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 132

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF Fairmont 5.0

Location: Adelaide, SA
SA, Australia

Quote:
I thought to re calibrate the TPS you had to:

Have engine running
Turn off air con
Leave car in drive
Sit with no throttle for 1 minute
Turn car off to ACC
Leave car in drive still
Sit with full throttle for 1 minute.
Turn car right off.

I was always under the impression that this just helped the ECU by showing it no throttle and WOT.


That will only work if the TPS is reading under 1v at idle, the ECU will read anything above 1v as cruising speed, rather than idle. What you described is close, but not quite the correct procedure. The following is from BTR's factory tech bulletins.

First, to clear the old setting, KOEO (Key On Engine Off)

1) Select Normal/Power mode - 100% Throttle
2) Select Economy mode - keep 100% throttle
3) 0% throttle.

To teach the ECU where WOT is;

1) Get the car to operating temp, then idle for 60 seconds without touching the throttle.
2) KOEO - Hold the throttle at 100% for 60 seconds.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 11:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3184

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

sorry to do a bit of relative thread mining.

jeffb wrote:
how the hell would you do that?


read two lines above. "turn motor off" :lol:

and aaron,

so if the TPS is working properly, then you do that to teach the ECU where WOT is?

(lol, look at all the fancy acronyms!! :lol:)

 

_________________

Nicco's M112 Blown, T-56 equipped EF
forums/viewtopic.php?t=68319

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 12 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 12:57 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names