Fordmods Logo

BTR into EA 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: BTR into EA
Posted: Fri Dec 25, 2015 6:03 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 9

Joined: 26th Oct 2015

Ride: Ford G6

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Im just wondering

Is it possible to run a EF -AU BTR 4 speed in a EA with a 3.9L which came with the Borg warner 3 speed ?

Which torque converter and "fly wheel" will i need
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BTR into EA
Posted: Fri Dec 25, 2015 6:23 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2705

Joined: 22nd Jan 2009

Ride: '91 EB Wagoon

Location: Geeelong
VIC, Australia

not 100% sure ... but you will need the EA2 4sp wiring loom for the trans controller [was seperate unit] trans controller, ECU [?]. will most likely need the EA2 converter [?] & flexplate/flywheel unless hole in back of crank same size?? ... had a EB gearbox fitted to a AU so 'shouldn't' be a major problem. don't know if original gearbox mount will work or not. thought about going manual??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BTR into EA
Posted: Fri Dec 25, 2015 6:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 842

Joined: 12th Aug 2007

Gallery: 22 images

Ride: AU2 XR8 ute & 91 EA bitsa

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

The EA Series 2 came out with a BTR 4 speed. You need to change the ECU. If you use and EL Auto ECU, you wont need a separate Transmission Control Module used in the EA-ED models.

Not sure about the torque converter, but I'd buy both items as a 'package' if possible.

 

_________________

AU2 XR8 with Raptor VL, ported Yella Terra GT40P heads, Scorpion 1.6 RRs, XE264HR-14 Comp Cam, ceramic coated Hurricane Headers, 60lb injectors, Walbro 255, 200cfi cats, 3" exhaust & Snow Performance water methanol injection

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BTR into EA
Posted: Fri Dec 25, 2015 6:58 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 9

Joined: 26th Oct 2015

Ride: Ford G6

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Ive got a complete EF here for parts

I just want to get use out of the current EA 3sp . before using the BTR as i know from what i have read a rear gear box mount "mod" is needed

Will be running a EF ECU with a J3 ,so not sure if the Trans control module is needed ?

I am just concerned on if the 3 speed will bolt on behind the EA-AU blocks , due to if they fit the EA-AU engines then it shall hopefully defiantly fit onto the back of the BA donk i have waiting here

P.s i am an easy driver so it shall last me with 200ish rwkw
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BTR into EA
Posted: Fri Dec 25, 2015 7:02 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

If you are using the 3.9l with dizzy, you won't be able to use the EF ECU. It is set up for coil pack, not dizzy.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BTR into EA
Posted: Sun Jan 10, 2016 12:26 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 9

Joined: 26th Oct 2015

Ride: Ford G6

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

SWC wrote:
If you are using the 3.9l with dizzy, you won't be able to use the EF ECU. It is set up for coil pack, not dizzy.


That is ok i have a EF parts car here dont mind converting to EF coil pack
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 8:30 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names