Fordmods Logo

can i remove turbo engine with 4 speed box in one go ? 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 23 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: can i remove turbo engine with 4 speed box in one go ?
Posted: Sat Feb 01, 2014 11:10 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 47

Posts: 291

Joined: 16th Jul 2012

Ride: BA Ford Falcon V8 Ute

Location: Caloundra
QLD, Australia

i have a ba turbo engine and four speed box i have to remove .just unable to get the last 4 bolts out :roll:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: can i remove turbo engine with 4 speed box in one go ?
Posted: Sun Feb 02, 2014 7:06 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 47

Posts: 291

Joined: 16th Jul 2012

Ride: BA Ford Falcon V8 Ute

Location: Caloundra
QLD, Australia

no one ever removed a engine before ? must be someone
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: can i remove turbo engine with 4 speed box in one go ?
Posted: Sun Feb 02, 2014 7:36 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2752

Joined: 22nd Jan 2009

Ride: '91 EB Wagoon

Location: Geeelong
VIC, Australia

if ya taken motor outa the wrecked car yes you can take it out in one piece by making it easier & removing the radiator support brackets AND putting something in the back of the gearbox so ya dont drop fluid every where
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: can i remove turbo engine with 4 speed box in one go ?
Posted: Sun Feb 02, 2014 8:05 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 47

Posts: 291

Joined: 16th Jul 2012

Ride: BA Ford Falcon V8 Ute

Location: Caloundra
QLD, Australia

thanks for that .going to start soon
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: can i remove turbo engine with 4 speed box in one go ?
Posted: Sun Feb 02, 2014 8:10 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2752

Joined: 22nd Jan 2009

Ride: '91 EB Wagoon

Location: Geeelong
VIC, Australia

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: can i remove turbo engine with 4 speed box in one go ?
Posted: Sun Feb 02, 2014 8:22 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 47

Posts: 291

Joined: 16th Jul 2012

Ride: BA Ford Falcon V8 Ute

Location: Caloundra
QLD, Australia

wont need it thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: can i remove turbo engine with 4 speed box in one go ?
Posted: Sun Feb 02, 2014 1:14 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

gunna wrote:
i have a ba turbo engine and four speed box i have to remove .just unable to get the last 4 bolts out :roll:


what 4 bolts?

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: can i remove turbo engine with 4 speed box in one go ?
Posted: Sun Feb 02, 2014 3:59 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 47

Posts: 291

Joined: 16th Jul 2012

Ride: BA Ford Falcon V8 Ute

Location: Caloundra
QLD, Australia

the two top bolts that join the engine and gearbox together due to the fire wall is pushed over on one side i am unable to get to them
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: can i remove turbo engine with 4 speed box in one go ?
Posted: Sun Feb 02, 2014 5:28 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

gunna wrote:
the two top bolts that join the engine and gearbox together due to the fire wall is pushed over on one side i am unable to get to them


usually people use a damn long extension... from the rear of the gearbox and angle it upwards

but why not just pull the box out with the engine its much easier
considering you are doing an engine swap

pull the rad out, and the bonnet off should give you heaps of room!

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: can i remove turbo engine with 4 speed box in one go ?
Posted: Sun Feb 02, 2014 6:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 22

Posts: 3347

Joined: 19th Dec 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: el fairmont ghia

Location: Farleigh
QLD, Australia

undo the gearbox mount and exhaust it should swing enough to get the bolts, i know it does in my car

 

_________________

Muts EL Fairmont Ghia
Image
did someone call 9 1 HOLY s**t?

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: can i remove turbo engine with 4 speed box in one go ?
Posted: Sun Feb 02, 2014 7:28 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 47

Posts: 291

Joined: 16th Jul 2012

Ride: BA Ford Falcon V8 Ute

Location: Caloundra
QLD, Australia

mitchell g wrote:
undo the gearbox mount and exhaust it should swing enough to get the bolts, i know it does in my car

thanks all little bits help. i am doing this all by my self .the usual all me mates are to busy but when they want something i jump .no more last time i help them
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: can i remove turbo engine with 4 speed box in one go ?
Posted: Sun Feb 02, 2014 7:31 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 47

Posts: 291

Joined: 16th Jul 2012

Ride: BA Ford Falcon V8 Ute

Location: Caloundra
QLD, Australia

Disco Frank wrote:
gunna wrote:
the two top bolts that join the engine and gearbox together due to the fire wall is pushed over on one side i am unable to get to them


usually people use a damn long extension... from the rear of the gearbox and angle it upwards

but why not just pull the box out with the engine its much easier
considering you are doing an engine swap

pull the rad out, and the bonnet off should give you heaps of room!

i am all alone doing this. at the moment
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: can i remove turbo engine with 4 speed box in one go ?
Posted: Sun Feb 02, 2014 7:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 22

Posts: 3347

Joined: 19th Dec 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: el fairmont ghia

Location: Farleigh
QLD, Australia

gunna wrote:
mitchell g wrote:
undo the gearbox mount and exhaust it should swing enough to get the bolts, i know it does in my car

thanks all little bits help. i am doing this all by my self .the usual all me mates are to busy but when they want something i jump .no more last time i help them

just throw a couple of lower bolts on so when you get them out the box doesn't come down ontop of you

 

_________________

Muts EL Fairmont Ghia
Image
did someone call 9 1 HOLY s**t?

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: can i remove turbo engine with 4 speed box in one go ?
Posted: Sun Feb 02, 2014 7:52 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 47

Posts: 291

Joined: 16th Jul 2012

Ride: BA Ford Falcon V8 Ute

Location: Caloundra
QLD, Australia

mitchell g wrote:
gunna wrote:
mitchell g wrote:
undo the gearbox mount and exhaust it should swing enough to get the bolts, i know it does in my car

thanks all little bits help. i am doing this all by my self .the usual all me mates are to busy but when they want something i jump .no more last time i help them

just throw a couple of lower bolts on so when you get them out the box doesn't come down ontop of you

i will do that
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: can i remove turbo engine with 4 speed box in one go ?
Posted: Sun Feb 02, 2014 8:14 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2752

Joined: 22nd Jan 2009

Ride: '91 EB Wagoon

Location: Geeelong
VIC, Australia

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 5:07 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names