Fordmods Logo

Conversion - T5 for a 4 Speed 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Conversion - T5 for a 4 Speed
Posted: Mon Oct 07, 2013 12:27 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 36

Joined: 3rd Mar 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I need to lose my 4 sp and replace with a T5 (T56).
Is there anyone willing to recommend a 'drive in - drive out' conversion place in Brisbane/Ipswich preferably on the South side. I can look in the Yellow Pages, but then I am asking for a 'pig in a poke'. I would rather go somewhere where someone else has been and is happy.

 

 

Attachments:
Magical Snap - 2013.09.23 16.01 - 001.jpg
Magical Snap - 2013.09.23 16.01 - 001.jpg [ 361.32 KiB | Viewed 62 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Conversion - T5 for a 4 Speed
Posted: Mon Oct 07, 2013 1:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 41

Posts: 4629

Joined: 23rd Nov 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: 5.0 AU's and 5.0 Maverick

Power: 139 rwkw

Location: Sydney West
NSW, Australia

What 4 speed are you currently running?
Depending on whats currently in it you can do the conversion yourself and just farm out a little bit of machine work.

 

_________________

xr6turnip wrote:
More people paid for a ride in a VT commodore then an AU Falcon so the VT is superior.
Based on that fact my Mum is the best around!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Conversion - T5 for a 4 Speed
Posted: Mon Oct 07, 2013 2:40 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 36

Joined: 3rd Mar 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Single rail.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Conversion - T5 for a 4 Speed
Posted: Mon Oct 07, 2013 3:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 41

Posts: 4629

Joined: 23rd Nov 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: 5.0 AU's and 5.0 Maverick

Power: 139 rwkw

Location: Sydney West
NSW, Australia

Top_Cat wrote:
Single rail.



Easily done then.
Get yourself an E series 6 cylinder T5.
Machine the input bearing retainer down to suit the single rail bellhousing. Its about 3-4mm from memory.
Drill and tap new mounting holes in the bellhousing and front gearbox ribs to bolt box up. One bolt lines up from memory.
Bolt it all back together and enjoy.
Clutch is the same , tailshaft is the same etc.

 

_________________

xr6turnip wrote:
More people paid for a ride in a VT commodore then an AU Falcon so the VT is superior.
Based on that fact my Mum is the best around!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Conversion - T5 for a 4 Speed
Posted: Mon Oct 07, 2013 3:40 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 36

Joined: 3rd Mar 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

And what about the cross-member and the hole in the floor for the shifter?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Conversion - T5 for a 4 Speed
Posted: Mon Oct 07, 2013 3:40 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 36

Joined: 3rd Mar 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

And what about the cross-member and the hole in the floor for the shifter?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Conversion - T5 for a 4 Speed
Posted: Mon Oct 07, 2013 3:55 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 36

Joined: 3rd Mar 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Just read that the i6 input shaft is 167mm and the V8 input shaft is 193mm.
Is that going to cause a problem?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Conversion - T5 for a 4 Speed
Posted: Mon Oct 07, 2013 4:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 41

Posts: 4629

Joined: 23rd Nov 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: 5.0 AU's and 5.0 Maverick

Power: 139 rwkw

Location: Sydney West
NSW, Australia

Crossmember from memory is the same.
Shifter hole might need a little tweeking but nothing hard.
Its only on the E series stuff where the V8 and 6 input shaft length is different. On the early stuff it was the same which is E series 6 length.
I know someone personally who fitted an EA T5 in place of the single rail that was behind his Windsor.
There was no major issues.

 

_________________

xr6turnip wrote:
More people paid for a ride in a VT commodore then an AU Falcon so the VT is superior.
Based on that fact my Mum is the best around!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Conversion - T5 for a 4 Speed
Posted: Mon Oct 07, 2013 4:40 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 36

Joined: 3rd Mar 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

What can I say Matt.
THANKS HEAPS!
I am disabled so I cannot do this work, but with what you have told me I might be able to get the brother-in-law to do it and save me from getting 'ripped-off' again - (I had a 'top-loader' until I took the car to a clutch and brake place and left with a not-so-good single rail).
I am off to look for a good 'E' series 6 T5.
Thanks again.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Conversion - T5 for a 4 Speed
Posted: Mon Oct 07, 2013 5:48 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 36

Joined: 3rd Mar 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Before I go Matt, I have re-read all of the posts, and I would like to make sure that you know that the T5 is to go behind the 289 cu in (and not a 200 cu in)?
In other words, even though I am putting it behind a V8 I should still look for the i6 T5 and the input shaft will suit?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Conversion - T5 for a 4 Speed
Posted: Mon Oct 07, 2013 5:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 41

Posts: 4629

Joined: 23rd Nov 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: 5.0 AU's and 5.0 Maverick

Power: 139 rwkw

Location: Sydney West
NSW, Australia

Top_Cat wrote:
Before I go Matt, I have re-read all of the posts, and I would like to make sure that you know that the T5 is to go behind the 289 cu in (and not a 200 cu in)?
In other words, even though I am putting it behind a V8 I should still look for the i6 T5 and the input shaft will suit?



Yep. If the single rail fits the I6 T5 with the few mods described above done will fit.

 

_________________

xr6turnip wrote:
More people paid for a ride in a VT commodore then an AU Falcon so the VT is superior.
Based on that fact my Mum is the best around!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Conversion - T5 for a 4 Speed
Posted: Mon Oct 07, 2013 6:02 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 36

Joined: 3rd Mar 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Cheers Matt. I will let you know how things work out.
(If you have any more inf. you can PM me with it.)
Thanks.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Conversion - T5 for a 4 Speed
Posted: Sun Dec 22, 2013 7:09 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 36

Joined: 3rd Mar 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Thanks, Matt.

We bought an 'E' Series i6 T5 and pulled out the 'Single Rail'. The first thing that we noticed was that the input shaft length was CORRECT. Then the housing to be turned down was already too small to be a 'neat' fit, and therefore the stud holes of the g'box to the bellhousing didn't (and never would) line up. We tried the fellow at Warwick and also Delow (most helpful) and eBay, but none had 289 to T5 bellhousing (drilled and ready to go). We could get a 302/350 bellhousing drilled for 'Single Rail' or a 'Top-loader' and they had enough 'meat' to be drilled but lining them up is a problem. From the US the starter is on the wrong side and would require a new flywheel.)
The cross-member is in the wrong place and has to be moved back, or if you replaced the back of the Ford T5 g'box housing with a Commodore one then the cross member is in the right place. The hoop over the cross member has to be modified to suit the T5 or the cross member has to be 'dropped'. If it is dropped' the tailshaft 'straightens' and vibrates. (It needs to be offset for the unis to work properly.) I am NOT an engineer, and I know nothing about all of this, but this is what we found, or what we were told. In any event, the cost of all of this is NEVER going to be returned in fuel savings with the highway gear (overdrive) because the 65 Mustang is still a 'brick' being pushed through the air, and additional acceleration would be required, (Also the V8 'note' from the exhaust at the lower revs is not as good a sound.)
Consequently I am having my 'single-rail' re-built, and it will go back in after Xmas.

But thanks, anyway. I tried.
Regards
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 2:35 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names