Fordmods Logo

Converting 3speed Auto to 5speed manual. 

 

Page 1 of 3 [ 36 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: Converting 3speed Auto to 5speed manual.
Posted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 8:52 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 43

Posts: 62

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: AU Falcon

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

I have a EA 89 3.9 multi point with a 3 speed auto and I would like some info on what I will need to do to convert to a 5speed manul gear box.

Can I use a 5speed from an EF/EL falcon ?
Will I need a new computer ?
What a rough cost to do a conversion ?

Cheers
Alex.

 

_________________

I'll Drive A Ford Till The Day I Die.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 9:32 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

yes u can use any falcon t5 gearbox.
computer im unsure of being a 3 speed car
and rough cost depends greatly on price of parts and if u do it yaself or pay someone drive in drive out
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 9:49 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 43

Posts: 62

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: AU Falcon

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

well the 3speed gearbox has no computer but not sure if I would need one for a 5speed manual or if I would need the change the ECU itself.

 

_________________

I'll Drive A Ford Till The Day I Die.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 11:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

You should be fine without the computer.

nigel
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 12:26 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 43

Posts: 62

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: AU Falcon

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

Quote:
You should be fine without the computer.


So what are you saying that the 5speed manuals also use a seperate computer like the 4speed autos do inconjustion with the ECU ?

 

_________________

I'll Drive A Ford Till The Day I Die.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 12:45 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2833

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Lincoln LS, MKII Escort, ED

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

Nope, the 4 spd autos are electronic and controlled by the ECU (or in V8's EA's by a standalone unit) so in the case of the ones with an integrated trans controller the ECU will flip out if it doesnt detect the transmission.

in the case of the 3spd autos they are hydraulicly controlled, so the ECU shouldnt flip out if its not there (maybe a little bit) but if it does its probably the same as tricking a 4spd ECU ( a few resitors and such).

 

_________________

Because i can.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 2:06 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 43

Posts: 62

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: AU Falcon

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

Quote:
Nope, the 4 spd autos are electronic and controlled by the ECU (or in V8's EA's by a standalone unit) so in the case of the ones with an integrated trans controller the ECU will flip out if it doesnt detect the transmission.

in the case of the 3spd autos they are hydraulicly controlled, so the ECU shouldnt flip out if its not there (maybe a little bit) but if it does its probably the same as tricking a 4spd ECU ( a few resitors and such).


So other words repplace the ECU to suit a 3.9 multi-point 5speed manual so it runs 100% :wink:

 

_________________

I'll Drive A Ford Till The Day I Die.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 4:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2833

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Lincoln LS, MKII Escort, ED

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

the 3spd multipoint ECU may work quite fine with the 5spd manual,
or it may requre to be tricked, a lot of people do it this way (with 4spd ECU's)
Or get a 5spd ECU and then you know it will definitly work properly.

 

_________________

Because i can.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 11:35 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 72

Joined: 28th Dec 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

My EA Fairmont Ghia drove fine on three speed ECU after converting 5 Speed. I stumbled on a 5 speed ECU. There only real difference between 2 ECU's is proper 5 speed ECU holds rev's up a second or 2 long when putting foot on clutch it allows for smoother gear changes at lower revs.

 

_________________

Factory Specifications are Optional

1988 EA Fairmont Ghia Retired after 11yrs
1999 AU Fairmont Written off :(
2003 BA XR6 Written off :(
2001 AU Falcon - Run around
2005 SY Territory Ghia

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 12:44 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 319

Joined: 23rd Jan 2005

Ride: AU I forte

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

would you say its a worth while mod?

 

_________________

PH 4480 racing extractors
lukey 2.5" sports exhaust
Chopper 19"x245 mags
pioneer deck, 6"x1.5" Splits (F) and 6" 3-way speakers (R)
Precision response 4x 100w amp and 1000w mono 10" sub
Got so much more to go!
tint, breaks and spoiler next!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 1:40 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 43

Posts: 62

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: AU Falcon

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

Moran what was the cost's for you to convert to the 5 speed manual gearbox ?

 

_________________

I'll Drive A Ford Till The Day I Die.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 5:32 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 88

Joined: 28th Jun 2005

Ride: EF XR6

Location: Wodonga
VIC, Australia

I still have the 3spd ECU in my Fairmont Ghia, its ok, i just put the switch ontop of the clutch that come off my old spak and yeah it works well

its about $350 for a t5, then you will have to get clutch pedal, cable.

You might want to get a new pedal box, as i just welded a bolt through, and put the clutch on, but now my cruise control unit just sorta sits there, if u change the pedal box which apperntly is easy to do, u just move the dash back a little bit to undo it.


I changed engine and motor at the same time, as it was all connected, but i think you will prolly want to put a new clutch in and get the flywheel machined before you put it all back together.

But yeah I hope u understand that
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 7:57 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 43

Posts: 62

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: AU Falcon

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

The dash part I don't like the sound of.

I got a qutoe today for a conversion kit including a T5 gearbox 5speed at $650 plus labour if I want them to do it for me.

Whats the model falcon beside the EA i can use a T5 gearbox from I know the EF/EL I can use what about the AU ?

 

_________________

I'll Drive A Ford Till The Day I Die.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 8:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2833

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Lincoln LS, MKII Escort, ED

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

the AU box should be exactly the same, the pedal box doesnt look terribly difficult to change (i was in my footwell today fiddling with the fuse box).

 

_________________

Because i can.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 9:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 728

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: ba falcon

Location: perth
WA, Australia

JOSE wrote:
Nope, the 4 spd autos are electronic and controlled by the ECU (or in V8's EA's by a standalone unit) so in the case of the ones with an integrated trans controller the ECU will flip out if it doesnt detect the transmission.

in the case of the 3spd autos they are hydraulicly controlled, so the ECU shouldnt flip out if its not there (maybe a little bit) but if it does its probably the same as tricking a 4spd ECU ( a few resitors and such).


there are no v8 eas
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 3  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 10:11 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names