Fordmods Logo

Diff Ratio.. whats the go.. im a noob 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

Post subject: Diff Ratio.. whats the go.. im a noob
Posted: Mon Sep 25, 2006 10:49 pm 
Parts Gopher

NSW, Australia

hey every 1
im posting just to gather some knowledge bout changing the diff on my car in order to get pis$ off the tall first gear. i have no idea about this so i thought id ask here first instead of getting ripped by a dodgy mechanic.

pretty much

1. is this a matter of getting a different ratio diff and replacing and thats it
2. is there any other things needed to be done like computer change or whateva
3. rough price and can i get the parts from like a wreckers or sumthin

oh and by the way i have a 1996 EF II Falcon Gli Automatic

thanks alot
any input whould be appreciated

Posted: Tue Sep 26, 2006 12:45 pm 
Tyre Shredder

Ride: EB V8

NSW, Australia

1. A ratio change need only involve the crown wheel & pinion (ie the cogs themselves) & pinion bearings. Many people have an LSD centre fitted or reconditioned at the same time though which adds to the cost.
2. changing the ratio will throw out the speedo reading (see here for calculations http://www.fordmods.com/forums/documents.php?doc=30 )
3. Yes, but it depends on what ratio you want, whether you want it to be quiet, if you have an LSD centre already or if you want one? Cheap & nasty way is to fit 3.7 or 3.89 crown wheel & pinion out of an R31 skyline but, you will be lucky to get the gears to engage quietly. they had a bad whine problem to start with, it can be horrendous in a Falcon housing. You only get what you pay for.

As for what ratio, depends on how much of a comprominse you want. The shorter the gearing (the high the number ) the more acceleration, but also more revs, noise, wear & fuel.

Best compromise IMHO is actually a T5 conversion. 2nd in the T5 is almost equal to 1st in a BTR auto. You will have better acceleration & use less fuel. Also more driver involvement, more control & more fun.