Fordmods Logo

drain plug 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 3 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: drain plug
Posted: Tue May 30, 2017 6:20 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 46

Posts: 1

Joined: 30th May 2017

Ride: fairlane 1998

Location: townsville1
QLD, Australia

hi guys im stumped g/f has a 1998 fairlane with trany probs. It has no filler pipe ive worked out how to put fluid in though top oil line. My problem is i can not find a drain plug is there another way to check fluid. Problem is it will not come out of 1st gear after we had put fluid in thinking it is over full. Thank u
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: drain plug
Posted: Tue May 30, 2017 6:37 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 301

Joined: 24th Jun 2014

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Location: Jamestown
SA, Australia

stino71 wrote:
hi guys im stumped g/f has a 1998 fairlane with trany probs. It has no filler pipe ive worked out how to put fluid in though top oil line. My problem is i can not find a drain plug is there another way to check fluid. Problem is it will not come out of 1st gear after we had put fluid in thinking it is over full. Thank u


Ford done away with the filler/dipstick around 95/96 sometime
the filler plug hole is located on the RHS of the car towards the back of the trans about half way up from memory.

Full level is where it trickles back out the filler hole when the car is on flat level ground.

There is no drain plug at all to drain you undo (Loosen) the bolts of the sump break the gasket seal and let it run out until the sump is the only thing holding oil remove all the bolts and then make a huge mess as you drop the sump

 

_________________

Current Ride
BA XR6 Turbo, P3 Paint, BP Trim, Fully Stock Mods to Come!
1996 EF Falcon furura, White.
BA XR6 , P3 Paint, BG Trim, !
1995 EF XR6 The newest member of my ford family!

BLUE BLOOD
Previous Rides
1997 EL Falcon
1980 Ford Escort

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: drain plug
Posted: Wed May 31, 2017 3:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 861

Joined: 26th Nov 2007

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: XH Ute / AU3 V8 Wagon

Location: Bris-Vegas
QLD, Australia

So you only have 1st gear? If you get the road speed high enough, and back off the throttle, does it pick up 3rd gear? I ask as it sounds like you have broken the 2nd gear band. A very common fault, and the easiest fix is to get another transmission.
If it is overfull, it should puke out of the vent in the top of the trans case.
Good luck.
8-)

 

_________________

Yes, I own a Ute. No, I won't help you move!

EL Wagon Build Thread http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/sooty72-s-ef-futura-wagon-long-term-project-t90025.html
XH Ute Thread http://www.fordmods.com/post1138970.html#p1138970

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 3 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Oct 24, 2017 8:42 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names