Fordmods Logo

EF Fairmont Ghia Gearbox Diagnostics 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: EF Fairmont Ghia Gearbox Diagnostics
Posted: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:38 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 39

Joined: 25th Apr 2009

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: NL Fairlane Ghia 5Speed

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Hi guys
ive got an old 96 EF Faiemont Ghia V8
Now the problem with the gearbox is its obviously set up for the ghia settings,it slips from first to second gear and if under extreme acceleration when it changes to 3rd gear it slams it in and chirps the rear wheel.

Now theres a computer under the dash bolted to the pedal box,its a computer for the ghia gearboxes,and ive been told theres a diagnostic setup to reset the gear changing to standard settings?
the last guy that owned it flogged it so i basically service it all the time and its made no difference at all,if theres anyway some one could help me it wud save me buying a new auto which aint cheap

cheers guys!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Fairmont Ghia Gearbox Diagnostics
Posted: Fri Jul 23, 2010 10:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 971

Joined: 18th Dec 2008

Ride: BA Futura

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

I'm not very knowledgeable on automatic transmissions, but it may need the band adjusting.

In the service did it get a full flush with fresh fluid?


Also, there is not 'ghia' gearbox. All the automatic boxes are the same BTR from late 1989/90 to 2003, even in the BA they were basically the same box with a couple of minor differences.

I'm not sure about the later E series (EF/EL), but the early E series V8's and EAII/EBI had a separate TCM (transmission control module). But I'm fairly sure the EF and EL do too, so that box would be a TCM computer.


Have a quick look in the tech docos, I reckon there will be some diagnostic information related to your EF in there.

 

_________________

Image
DCII LTD V8 - leather - low k's
1978 XC '1/2' 500 project 302C
BA Futura wagon
P38 Range Rover HSE

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Fairmont Ghia Gearbox Diagnostics
Posted: Sun Jul 25, 2010 7:35 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 39

Joined: 25th Apr 2009

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: NL Fairlane Ghia 5Speed

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Not sure il have to check that out hey
have serviced it when i bought it but didnt change the filter or anything,just the fluid
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Fairmont Ghia Gearbox Diagnostics
Posted: Sun Jul 25, 2010 7:37 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

Sounds like the fluid is a little low. I'd start there before moving on.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Fairmont Ghia Gearbox Diagnostics
Posted: Sun Jul 25, 2010 7:44 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 39

Joined: 25th Apr 2009

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: NL Fairlane Ghia 5Speed

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Ive already topped it up but its still slipping and slams into 3rd gear

i have a mate whos got a diagnostic program,apparently you can reset ur gearbox to factory settings thru the trip computer,not sure if thats right but thats what hes explained to me
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Fairmont Ghia Gearbox Diagnostics
Posted: Sun Jul 25, 2010 10:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 971

Joined: 18th Dec 2008

Ride: BA Futura

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

~Robbo~ wrote:
Ive already topped it up but its still slipping and slams into 3rd gear

i have a mate whos got a diagnostic program,apparently you can reset ur gearbox to factory settings thru the trip computer,not sure if thats right but thats what hes explained to me


I've never heard of that before.. I don't think it's possible sorry mate.

Your best options are to take it to a transmission specialist and make sure they'll give you a free or cheap quote and some details on the problem.

Or just buy a new gearbox, which would probably work out cheap, easier and quicker than getting the problem rectified.


Personally I would just be chucking in a new gearbox, most people will give them away for very little or sometimes nothing :D

 

_________________

Image
DCII LTD V8 - leather - low k's
1978 XC '1/2' 500 project 302C
BA Futura wagon
P38 Range Rover HSE

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Fairmont Ghia Gearbox Diagnostics
Posted: Mon Jul 26, 2010 10:36 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

If the fluid is definitely full and its been checked properly, I've seen similar problems caused by sensors.

Namely the TPS and Speed sensor. TPS may not be giving the right voltage at the right point. And I've seen speedo gears with missing teeth confuse the computers as well.

Would be another place to check.

But like lukey, I've never heard of software like your mate has. For us mere mortals, we just unplug the battery for 30 mins to reset everything.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Fairmont Ghia Gearbox Diagnostics
Posted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 12:14 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 39

Joined: 25th Apr 2009

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: NL Fairlane Ghia 5Speed

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

ahk,simple but affective.havint found a V8 auto cheap around here anywhere tho,if anything im thinking of saving up and going manual,the other question is would a 5speed AU 5.0L ECU suit an EF Fairmont Ghia ?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Fairmont Ghia Gearbox Diagnostics
Posted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 12:25 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

You'd prob have more chance of finding a V8 auto. V8 manuals are rare as, and friggin pricey.

And I don't think the ECU would work. Pretty sure all AU's use coilpacks not dizzys.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Fairmont Ghia Gearbox Diagnostics
Posted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 12:30 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 39

Joined: 25th Apr 2009

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: NL Fairlane Ghia 5Speed

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

yeah ive seen a 5speed for around $800 to $1200 which isnt to bad but could do away with the auto as i originally had my heart set on the manual conversion

and yeah didnt think they would work
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Fairmont Ghia Gearbox Diagnostics
Posted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 12:43 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

Make sure its a V8 conversion, not a I6. Cos thats strangely cheap. I know they are getting old, but they generally are closer to the $2k mark. That price is more in the range for an I6.

Either the seller is a twitt or its not the right conversion. If it is a V8 one, snap it up kick smart.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Fairmont Ghia Gearbox Diagnostics
Posted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 12:55 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 39

Joined: 25th Apr 2009

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: NL Fairlane Ghia 5Speed

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

ahk,no worries cheers!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Fairmont Ghia Gearbox Diagnostics
Posted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 10:44 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 100

Joined: 7th Feb 2009

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

Mate all it will be is your s5 solenoid inside auto, it sounds like its shifting gears like a shift kit has been fitted. Just get your ecu scanned by automatic repairer save the guess work
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Fairmont Ghia Gearbox Diagnostics
Posted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 10:51 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

An ECU diagnostic may not help. It will only say if the S5 is shorted in some way or not there. It cant tell you if its no "shifting" properly.

It will probably end up being that, but its safe to check everything possible first.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Fairmont Ghia Gearbox Diagnostics
Posted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 11:03 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 100

Joined: 7th Feb 2009

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

Any decent transmission shop will always scan ecu before they start replacing solenoids, it my not be 100% accurate but gives a very good idea whats going on
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 12:21 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names