Fordmods Logo

EF Fairmont I6 not selecting gears properally 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: EF Fairmont I6 not selecting gears properally
Posted: Fri Nov 15, 2013 12:55 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 21

Posts: 39

Joined: 11th Nov 2013

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hey all,

The automatic transmission seems to be having a hard time selecting gears in my 1995 EF Faimont. The car seems to spend too long in netural between shifts.

The oil looks brownish, so I'm thinking this is probably the cause but I just wanted to see what you guys think. Also, where's the best place to get enough TQ95 when I service and flush the transmission? Supercheap has a 4 litre bottle for $39.99, which means (if my workshop manual is correct), I need 3 bottles ($120 :roll:) to meet the required 10 litres.

Thanks,
Callum
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Fairmont I6 not selecting gears properally
Posted: Fri Nov 15, 2013 6:02 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

Trans needs a service. The price is about right $10.00 per litre. If you just drop the pan and change the filter you will only use 4 - 5 litres. 10litres is a full refill. When you drop the pan the Convertor stays full as well as the cooler lines and trans cooler if fitted. Better to get a full flush done, will take around 20 litres.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Fairmont I6 not selecting gears properally
Posted: Sat Nov 16, 2013 1:28 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

As SWC said, to do a flush will take the best part of 20 litres.....about $250 worth....thereabouts.

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Fairmont I6 not selecting gears properally
Posted: Sat Nov 16, 2013 11:10 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 21

Posts: 39

Joined: 11th Nov 2013

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

That's gonna put a hole in the pocket, thanks for the help
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Fairmont I6 not selecting gears properally
Posted: Sat Nov 16, 2013 3:48 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

f**k gearbox will leave you with a bigger hole in your pocket.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Fairmont I6 not selecting gears properally
Posted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 1:54 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 21

Posts: 39

Joined: 11th Nov 2013

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Image
Another fun day at the office
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Fairmont I6 not selecting gears properally
Posted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 3:26 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 21

Posts: 39

Joined: 11th Nov 2013

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

So I'm mid service and I've noticed that there is only one magnet on the pan, there looks like there is provisioning for another two, is this going to be an issue? Also where is the best place to put to only magnet? (I took it off to clean it)

Last edited by CallumSmith on Sun Nov 17, 2013 7:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Fairmont I6 not selecting gears properally
Posted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 3:47 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

It won't hurt having one.

Just put it back where you found it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Fairmont I6 not selecting gears properally
Posted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 3:48 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 21

Posts: 39

Joined: 11th Nov 2013

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

SWC wrote:
It won't hurt having one.

Just put it back where you found it.


I forgot where I found it :oops:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Fairmont I6 not selecting gears properally
Posted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 3:49 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

Just fit it back in one of the indentations in the pan.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Fairmont I6 not selecting gears properally
Posted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 7:55 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 21

Posts: 39

Joined: 11th Nov 2013

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Took a couple of photos while I was at it that might assist someone

Image
Old filter, engine is to the left

Image
New filter, engine is to the top-right. 9 x 10mm bolts in total.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Fairmont I6 not selecting gears properally
Posted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 9:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

Did you make sure the old filter seal came out too ?????
The first EA 4sp autos had 3 magnets....EF and later had just 1.....cut backs of sorts I suppose.... :|
Did you have a good look in the pan at the debris....if it had any....?????

 

 

Attachments:
101_5425_resize.JPG
101_5425_resize.JPG [ 96.08 KiB | Viewed 40 times ]
4sp auto service_resize.JPG
4sp auto service_resize.JPG [ 119.09 KiB | Viewed 37 times ]

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Fairmont I6 not selecting gears properally
Posted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 9:22 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 21

Posts: 39

Joined: 11th Nov 2013

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

cjh wrote:
Did you make sure the old filter seal came out too ?????
The first EA 4sp autos had 3 magnets....EF and later had just 1.....cut backs of sorts I suppose.... :|
Did you have a good look in the pan at the debris....if it had any....?????


Oh ok, haha yeah probably. Yeah gave it a good clean out, was surprised that I didn't find any.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Fairmont I6 not selecting gears properally
Posted: Mon Nov 18, 2013 6:11 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 596

Joined: 4th May 2007

Ride: 1992 EBII Fairmont

Location: Aga
VIC, Australia

I've found a shop locally who've quoted only $220 for a full flush. But having a hard time believing that as that's the price of fluid alone. Sounds too good to be true. I might chase them up on that as my gearbox has been cactus for a while.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Fairmont I6 not selecting gears properally
Posted: Mon Nov 18, 2013 8:14 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 21

Posts: 39

Joined: 11th Nov 2013

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

ILLaViTaR wrote:
I've found a shop locally who've quoted only $220 for a full flush. But having a hard time believing that as that's the price of fluid alone. Sounds too good to be true. I might chase them up on that as my gearbox has been cactus for a while.


Hmm $220 was how much I ended up spending. They might be able to source the oil for cheap?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 15 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 11:53 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names