Fordmods Logo

EF Gearbox into EFII 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: EF Gearbox into EFII
Posted: Mon Apr 02, 2007 8:03 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 3

Joined: 28th Mar 2007

Location: Auckland
New Zealand

Hi guys I'm new to the forum (and fords for that matter!). I recently had the opportunity to buy a 96 EFII with a blown head gasket for $400. An opportunity I couldn't pass up. Anyway the new head gasket is in and the engine is purring like a kitten but now I've come up against another problem. The auto gearbox!

The problem is it seems to be going into limp mode (3rd gear) and staying there till I turn the ignition off. I've checked the TPS and cleaned all the connectors. I've run the diagnostics and it gives the all clear. I've also checked all the fuses and they are fine. Does anyone know any other reasons why the ecu would put the gearbox into limp mode but then not report an error in diagnostics?

Now, given that this gearbox has done some 300,000km and the previous owner admitted it has done a lot of driving in limp mode I have my eyes on a gearbox from a EF which I can get for a good price. The next question is - is the EF auto identical to the EFII?

Any help would be much appreciated! :)

Wes
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 02, 2007 8:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

The boxes are interchangeable.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 02, 2007 8:22 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3083

Joined: 22nd Sep 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

yup theydd swap over fine.

have you checked the oil in the box?

 

_________________

Image
latest mod: A Service
MY BUILD THREAD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 02, 2007 8:36 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 3

Joined: 28th Mar 2007

Location: Auckland
New Zealand

Excellent! that just made my day :) And yup will try topping up the fluid before I drop the old box.

Thanks for your help!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 02, 2007 9:17 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 3

Joined: 28th Mar 2007

Location: Auckland
New Zealand

Um actually one further question.. which models have the same gearbox as the EFs? I just spotted a LTD gearbox. Would this work also?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 02, 2007 9:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Any e-series 4 speed will fit. There are internal differences but they all work and fit the same

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 4:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 1966

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Ride: 2000 Au wagon

Location: some where in nsw
NSW, Australia

stockstandard wrote:
Any e-series 4 speed will fit. There are internal differences but they all work and fit the same


they most certainly do, i have an el box in the ea,,bolted straight up and works fine.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 7:29 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names