Fordmods Logo

Failed TCM?? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Failed TCM??
Posted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 8:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 546

Joined: 5th Jun 2010

Ride: BA XT, NCII V8

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Have a NC with all NF looms,ecu etc etc,

the other day i noticed i had no Shift indicator on the cluster, also thermo fans running non stop, no temp guage, no economy light and gearbox shifts really hard, checked all looms with multi metre and everything seems ok to the ECU, i unplugged the TCM and it let me start the car still, wondering if the TCM has failed or is there a fuse for it or anything that i can look into with out paying lots of coin for another TCM
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Failed TCM??
Posted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 8:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1320

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

not sure it would be the tcm, based on the temperature gauge not working, the temp gauge is controlled by the engine ecu, not the tcm.
You could have a fault with either the 5v reference voltage which is affecting all the sensors, or the data output link from the ecu.
Have you tried running the diagnostic codes from the engine ECU?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Failed TCM??
Posted: Thu Mar 14, 2013 9:40 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 546

Joined: 5th Jun 2010

Ride: BA XT, NCII V8

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

how do i check the 5v reference, also i cant work out how to do a diag.

the 5v sounds right tho as even the oil pressure is not working correctly it says its going all the way to 7 witch it never did before
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Failed TCM??
Posted: Thu Mar 14, 2013 9:56 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1320

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

easiest way to check 5v ref is to backprobe the orange wires on the throttle position sensor/s and ensure there is 5v present.
In regards to the oil pressure gauge reading incorrectly this is a seperate circuit from the ECU as well, are you sure you dont have a bad earth somewhere?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Failed TCM??
Posted: Thu Mar 14, 2013 7:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 546

Joined: 5th Jun 2010

Ride: BA XT, NCII V8

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

thinking bad earth could be something. i have 5v at the tps and at the ecu pin 90 so that seem ok.

will check all the earth points later
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 3:27 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names