Fordmods Logo

fly wheel machining 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: fly wheel machining
Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 6:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 22

Posts: 3347

Joined: 19th Dec 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: el fairmont ghia

Location: Farleigh
QLD, Australia

hey guys, we pulled a t5 out of an ea the other week and it's going into a el this weekend, there is a slight lipp on the fly wheel, maybe 0.08 but it's able to be felt with your finger, would this need machning out of would it be fine to leave it as is?

 

_________________

Muts EL Fairmont Ghia
Image
did someone call 9 1 HOLY s**t?

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: fly wheel machining
Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 7:06 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

mitchell g wrote:
hey guys, we pulled a t5 out of an ea the other week and it's going into a el this weekend, there is a slight lipp on the fly wheel, maybe 0.08 but it's able to be felt with your finger, would this need machning out of would it be fine to leave it as is?


Best to machine it and if possible balance. If you plan on putting a new clutch on it, you either need to get a 3 bolt clutch kit or you can get a 6 bolt clutch kit and drill/tap 3 more mounting bolts. Not sure how well it would be balanced after it is drilled though.

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: fly wheel machining
Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 7:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 22

Posts: 3347

Joined: 19th Dec 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: el fairmont ghia

Location: Farleigh
QLD, Australia

yeah, my brother had to run a 6 bolt clutch but the company wouldn't drill and tap holes for it :?

is machining able to be done on a lathe?

 

_________________

Muts EL Fairmont Ghia
Image
did someone call 9 1 HOLY s**t?

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: fly wheel machining
Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 7:20 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

the problem is the 6 bolt clutch is 1/2 larger in diameter and if you redrill a 3 bolt flywheel the 6 bolt clutch plate might run on the edge of the old holes
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: fly wheel machining
Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 7:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 22

Posts: 3347

Joined: 19th Dec 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: el fairmont ghia

Location: Farleigh
QLD, Australia

they said they wouldn't be able to balance it afterwards :?

i think they ended up just drilling to match the 3 bolts of the clutch

 

_________________

Muts EL Fairmont Ghia
Image
did someone call 9 1 HOLY s**t?

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: fly wheel machining
Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 7:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

It is possible to drill & tap 3 more holes using the EA 3 bolt clutch....I have done it.....and works good, no slipping and no vibes either.
The holes around the outside are factory original, from an '88 EA, don't know why,..... they are not threaded.
It is best to have the flywheel "ground", rather than "machined".....coz even special tip tools can "jump" over the hard spots.

 

 

Attachments:
IMGP3545.JPG
IMGP3545.JPG [ 378.74 KiB | Viewed 39 times ]

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: fly wheel machining
Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 8:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 22

Posts: 3347

Joined: 19th Dec 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: el fairmont ghia

Location: Farleigh
QLD, Australia

oh i see thanks for that cjh, but wouldn't a cnc be able to machining due to the tool spindal being hydralic drivin instead of being manually driven?

 

_________________

Muts EL Fairmont Ghia
Image
did someone call 9 1 HOLY s**t?

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: fly wheel machining
Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2011 4:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

mitchell g wrote:
oh i see thanks for that cjh, but wouldn't a cnc be able to machining due to the tool spindal being hydralic drivin instead of being manually driven?


The flywheel grinder has way more surface area, and does not jump over the hard spots, and gives a more desireable finish for the clutch to work
A mob here in Rocky has a flwheel grinder.....Hillman Motors.....it's a proper tool, too......I'm not sure if other machine shops around here have one or not.....I know they do, coz I seen it with my own eyes......I used to work there...... about 10 years ago.

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: fly wheel machining
Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2011 7:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 22

Posts: 3347

Joined: 19th Dec 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: el fairmont ghia

Location: Farleigh
QLD, Australia

yeah, we're sending it to a break mob that do clutch parts,

milling machines would work like the grinders do?

 

_________________

Muts EL Fairmont Ghia
Image
did someone call 9 1 HOLY s**t?

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: fly wheel machining
Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 8:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

mitchell g wrote:
yeah, we're sending it to a break mob that do clutch parts,

milling machines would work like the grinders do?


Only if the have the " Grinding Head " for it, I suppose.

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: fly wheel machining
Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 8:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 22

Posts: 3347

Joined: 19th Dec 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: el fairmont ghia

Location: Farleigh
QLD, Australia

it's the head with about 7 teeth on it look s the same as the gridning head i saw, but they have a head shaving machine in the work shop

the head on picture 8 is the one i'm talking about
http://www.wernerengineering.com.au/Mac ... a1299.html

 

_________________

Muts EL Fairmont Ghia
Image
did someone call 9 1 HOLY s**t?

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: fly wheel machining
Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 9:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

OK....i got a link... http://www.hillmanmotors.com.au/workshop.html says " Flywheel Grinding ".

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: fly wheel machining
Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 9:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 22

Posts: 3347

Joined: 19th Dec 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: el fairmont ghia

Location: Farleigh
QLD, Australia

i see,

if i see the head being used at work next week i'll take a picture and upload it to here

 

_________________

Muts EL Fairmont Ghia
Image
did someone call 9 1 HOLY s**t?

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: fly wheel machining
Posted: Sun Oct 30, 2011 11:42 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 258

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: '98 EL XR8

Location: Katherine
NT, Australia

I didnt think you could put an EA T5 into an EL as the box wouldnt be 'Worldclass', although I cant remember why it makes a difference.

The WC T5s only came out in the EBII series from memory.

Can someone verify?

 

_________________

"...we can rebuild him, we have the technology... we just dont want to spend a lot of money."
SIX MILLION PESO FALCON

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: fly wheel machining
Posted: Sun Oct 30, 2011 12:40 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

Why can't you use an EA T5? Didn't seem to worry Troyman and his was bolted up behind an AU motor on Boost.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 9:43 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names