Fordmods Logo

Have you ever seen this symptom in an EL BTR 4spd box???? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Have you ever seen this symptom in an EL BTR 4spd box????
Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 5:51 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 13

Joined: 13th Sep 2008

Ride: EL Fairmont

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

My EL's gearbox has been starting to slip every now again, mainly from 4th it just lets go.
I checked the fluid and it was black as, so I changed it along with the filter.

It got a little better but still slips every now and again.

Now here is an interesting symptom that I've just discovered thanks to the instrument cluster diagnosis mode.

When in the diagnosis mode, in mode 8 (gear selector position), while driving in D, the diagnosis screen would suddenly show '0' and stay there for ages, and wouldn't shift down to 3, 2, or 1 when I selected them manually.
Obviously it should never show '0' as the gear position. So that's problem no.1.

Or when I shifted up to neutral or reverse the screen still showed D or P along with other strange reactions.

Then I witnessed the most important fault which is causing me all the grief. I saw what the diagnosis screen reads when the gearbox slips. It actually showed 'N' for that split second that I thought it was slipping, so looks like it's not slipping at all but in fact an electronic issue of some sort is causing it to think its in neutral.


Has anyone seen this issue before???
What/where are the electronic components associated with the BTR box?
Is there a separate transmission control module??

ANY advise or suggestion would be much appreciated, thanks!!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 6:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 436

Joined: 20th Jun 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Gli

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

I'm having virtually the same problem with my LTD. It will show the wrong gear selection on the instrument cluster. For example if i'm in D it will show N etc, etc. Also when selecting gears manually sometimes it won't do it at all or if I do shift menually it will sometimes fall out of whatever gear I have selected. Unfiortunately I don't knwo what the problem is either but would love to so I can fix it, bloody annoying.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 6:27 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 13

Joined: 13th Sep 2008

Ride: EL Fairmont

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

ELXR6lookalike wrote:
I'm having virtually the same problem with my LTD. It will show the wrong gear selection on the instrument cluster. For example if i'm in D it will show N etc, etc. Also when selecting gears manually sometimes it won't do it at all or if I do shift menually it will sometimes fall out of whatever gear I have selected. Unfiortunately I don't knwo what the problem is either but would love to so I can fix it, bloody annoying.


Personally I'm suspecting the inhibitor switch on the side of the box.
I'm gonna pull it out and try giving it a good clean, then seeing if it makes any difference. If not, I'll just go get a new one for around $100, next cheapest alternative.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 6:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 66

Posts: 2548

Joined: 18th Mar 2006

Ride: EF-XR8chaser

Location: wollongong
NSW, Australia

m_tt wrote:
ELXR6lookalike wrote:
I'm having virtually the same problem with my LTD. It will show the wrong gear selection on the instrument cluster. For example if i'm in D it will show N etc, etc. Also when selecting gears manually sometimes it won't do it at all or if I do shift menually it will sometimes fall out of whatever gear I have selected. Unfiortunately I don't knwo what the problem is either but would love to so I can fix it, bloody annoying.


Personally I'm suspecting the inhibitor switch on the side of the box.
I'm gonna pull it out and try giving it a good clean, then seeing if it makes any difference. If not, I'll just go get a new one for around $100, next cheapest alternative.
that is no1,see auto guy and run codes,thats all these guys do,i have known my guy for years,he drives them-runs codes and has a very good idea whats wrong,he has specialists to build the boxes-ford,gm,jap.,does 4-8 cars a day and we can talk about anything.

 

_________________

R.I.P HANS HARTMAN

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 22, 2008 12:02 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 13

Joined: 13th Sep 2008

Ride: EL Fairmont

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

UPDATE:

Well I got the chance to jack up the car and remove the inhibitor switch & give all its contacts a good clean inside and out, as well as the terminals of both plugs going to it.

Since then I have driven a few hundred km's without any issues at all, and the instrument cluster diagnostic mode shows 'D' the whole time rather than having a mind of its own like it used to.

Very happy with the result so far and best of all didn't cost me anything :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 11:44 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 436

Joined: 20th Jun 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Gli

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

which side of the box is the inhibitor switch on? and what does it look like?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 1:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 1953

Joined: 1st Feb 2006

Gallery: 25 images

Ride: BA on gas. EL on gas. XF on gas.

Location: Greenacres/Adelaide
SA, Australia

Looks like this... Passenger side of the trans.

 

 

Attachments:
trans.jpg
trans.jpg [ 39.87 KiB | Viewed 794 times ]

 

_________________

Member Number 8804
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 10:41 pm 
Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 4653

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Drives Like Fun

Power: 318 rwkw

Location: Melbourne Interior: Cappucino Exterior: Sparkling Burgundy
VIC, Australia

FYI V8s have a sep auto controller - the 6cyl autos are controlled by the ECU.

I would also recommend checking your TPS - can muck around with your auto if it is not mounted correctly.

How many kms has your auto done ?

 

_________________

Vic Cruises & Events

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 05, 2008 4:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 436

Joined: 20th Jun 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Gli

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Yer TPS is all good, box has done 210,000k's. Shifts pretty well but when selecting gears manually sometimes it will and sometimes it won't. Also if selecting manually it will fall back into D when it wants to.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 05, 2008 6:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

Another thing to check is the Slip yoke bush. They are notorious for wearing out.
Did you flush the auto tranny out???? Will take about 20lts to do that.

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 1:29 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names